Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Start for Sherlock & Watson, 3 Jun. 2010
By 
Simon Savidge Reads "Simon" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you are like me and like to read a series from the start then with Sherlock Holmes you have to start with `A Study in Scarlet'. It is actually the book in which Dr Watson, just back from the army after being injured, becomes introduced to the mysterious and slightly odd Sherlock Holmes via a mutual acquaintance as they are both looking for shared digs. You guessed it; this is of course the now infamous address 221B Baker Street.

As the two slowly get to learn more about each others habits Dr Watson soon discovers that Sherlock Holmes is indeed an amateur detective, though only in terms that it is not under an official capacity as the police come to him for help. It is then little time before Watson ends up on the trail with Sherlock for a murderer in on of the most baffling mysteries London has seen in some time. That of the unscathed dead man, found in a derelict house in Brixton, who is surrounded by blood that is not his own and the word `Rache' written in blood on the wall!
Naturally being a Sherlock Holmes mystery you can expect the unexpected and an impossible sounding case that by the end Sherlock Holmes will have made seem easier than playing chess against a five year old. You can also expect horse cab chases, a sight into the Victorian underbelly, dead ends and twists through the London streets. If you love a good mystery or a great Victorian book then this is definitely for you. I still think there is yet to be a detective or a series that betters Sherlock Holmes.

The one thing I had forgotten about `A Study in Scarlet' since reading it many, many moons ago was that it's a book of two halves. The first is working out who the murderer is, the second takes us to foreign shores and looks at how the case ended up where it did and the aftermath. This half has a very different tone, the first being told by Watson and has the gloom of London, the second being set in sunnier climates told like an adventure story (which Conan Doyle was also very famous for) involving love that cannot be and the Latter Day Saints. (That is all I will say on the plot.) Initially I was a little cross as I wanted more Holmes and he features little in the second half, but then as a whole book it has more impact, you only realise just how much cleverer Sherlock is than you could even think. I thoroughly enjoyed this and read it in two sittings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Origin of the species, 3 Mar. 2012
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
Sherlock Holmes has always just been there, an instantaneously recognisable character such as, for example, is James Bond. Any yet, I had no idea of his origins before reading this, the first book in the series. In "A Study In Scarlet" we learn of how Dr Watson (recently invalided out of the army after being injured in Afghanistan), links up with Holmes (carrying out experiments in a University laboratory but apparently not a full time student), in their mutual search for low cost but respectable lodgings. Holmes is already training himself to be a master detective, and is already known to the police as a useful source to be consulted, but as yet has won no public fame. Watson, initially skeptical about Holmes's powers of deduction (but fascinated by his somewhat eccentric character), is quickly won over as the police bring him in to assist with the baffling murder of an American gentleman in an empty London house; a murder with no apparent reason or cause. A significant part of the book thereafter is taken up with the history leading up to the murder, something which, to my surprise, takes us back to Salt Lake City and the Mormon religion. The result of this is that the book reads like an adventure story and a detective story, rolled in to one. Once Holmes solves the murder he then explains to Watson why, although on the surface this was a difficult case to crack, it was easy for him. And so the book ends with Holmes providing the reader with a clear explanation of his techniques of detection; techniques that will ultimately bring fame to both he and his creator, Conan Doyle. An excellent start to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something you'll enjoy, 7 Feb. 2010
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
A 'Study In Scarlet' introduces the reader to a few of the best characters of all time. The first of the Sherlock Holmes tales sets the foundations for many stories to come, and you will love it.
'Study In Scarlet' has a simplistic, yet warm charm within it's words. One part told through the humble and likeable Dr Watson as he introduces the reader to the enigma that is Sherlock Holmes. With Watson, the reader can stand alongside and see how Holmes works his way through the case whilst noting his quirks and habits that make his refreshing personality. To clear and understand the plot, there is a second part of the novel which is told through a different narrative, which helps clear up any confusion the reader may have and provides a new outlook on the story.
The pace of the book is perfect, matching up with Holmes' tempo yet providing a fulfilling story for the reader to figure out and bite their teeth into. The reader will enjoy Watson's attempts to figure out the character that is Holmes and try to work it out for themselves.
In all, a great start to an amazing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elementary., 5 Aug. 2010
By 
Duluoz Lautrec (Dewsbury, Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
I liked this book but I thought the few chapters in the middle which weren't narrated by Watson slowed the pace down way too much.
These Penguin Red editions with cover designs by Despotica really are some of the most striking looking Sherlock Holmes editions available and at a particularly reasonable price.
If you are going to read Holmes then this is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Study In Scarlet - Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, 19 July 2008
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
A rare thing for most readers - finding a book that is everything you want. This one, and i am utterly convinced when i say this, is absolutley it.

Perfect in length, pace, composition, and not to mention the fact that its an absolutley superb read! This is the first of Sherlock Holmes' adventures along with his companion, the easily shakable Dr Watson, and the tale of a shocking, unexplained death of an American in the gloomy streets of Victorian London.

The atmosphere created is a joy to experience and its no surprise that 120 years after first being published, this brilliant story of Baker Street's super sleuth is still being published.

I would urge anyone who loves a great, simple, unfussy amazing read picks this one up! Dont be surprised if you polish off the whole thing in one go, but be warned...the compulsion to want to tell everyone about how amazing this book is comes along with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 July 2010
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second Holmes book that I have read. the first was the Hound of the Baskervilles. you are introduced to the super sleuth's assisstant and companion Watson at the beginning of the story, and the story is relates to the reader by Watson throughout. I do not know how Doyle did it, but this book grips you from(to use an old cliche) from the first page. It carries you along at a good pace but at one which still leaves room for enough descriptive writing. When I came to the end I was dissappointed that it could not have been a bit longer; it was so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 31 Dec. 2010
I got the Sherlock Holmes collection for Christmas and had finished A Study In Scarlet within two nights. Sherlock Holmes is a cool character and no one can fail to marvel at his pure brilliance! As for Watson he manages to balance the book out well. I like the other section of the book that speaks of the people involved in the case which Holmes unravells. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A totally captivating book. I couldn't put it down., 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Part 1 of the book details the crime and it's solution by Holmes. It's descriptive and fast paced so no chance e of losing interest. The second part came as a surprise and seems to be a totally different story but equally as fascinating and gripping. All becomes apparent in the conclusion. Altogether an amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb start to the classic detective series!, 17 Sept. 2011
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
I decided it was time to start reading the classic crime stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and I am glad I did. This story is superb, I was captivated from start to finish. This is an easy read, and very compelling and gripping. I would highly recommend this to any crime fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 23 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love Sherlock Holmes anyway, but after watching Sherlock - Series 1 [DVD] I wanted to read the books, I'm completely glad I did, I don't regret buying it at all and I think I've read it about 4 times in the last month XD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics)
A Study in Scarlet (Penguin Classics) by Arthur Conan Doyle (Mass Market Paperback - 6 Mar. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews