Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
David Reynolds has written a fantastic book that is both comprehensive in its coverage and intimate in its biographical details of the major players and defining events in American history. It provides an extraordinatry insight into the dynamics that have shaped America from the dichotomy of an anti-empire founded on the 'will to be free' that offered liberty and freedom...
Published on 14 Feb 2009 by An inspired Reader

versus
67 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Book Of Two Halves
Despite being billed as the best one-volume history of the United States in recent times, "America: Empire of Liberty" is a remarkably uneven book. Reynolds starts off well with a reminder of pre-1492 Native Americans achievements and a caustic look at the Columbus myth. The standard remains pretty high right on through his coverage of the colonial period, the war of...
Published on 20 July 2010 by S Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Book Of Two Halves, 20 July 2010
By 
S Wood (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: America, Empire of Liberty: A New History (Paperback)
Despite being billed as the best one-volume history of the United States in recent times, "America: Empire of Liberty" is a remarkably uneven book. Reynolds starts off well with a reminder of pre-1492 Native Americans achievements and a caustic look at the Columbus myth. The standard remains pretty high right on through his coverage of the colonial period, the war of liberation, the contradictions and correspondences between slavery and liberty, and on right up until the civil war. Up till that point it is a readable, succinct account of the United States history.

Then things start to level off, Reconstruction isn't dealt with particularly well in my opinion, but perhaps I was spoiled by recently reading Eric Foners masterpiece Reconstruction. On to the Spanish-American War; Reynolds rightly acknowledges it was a war with the Spanish then the Cubans and Filipinos, though he seems to portray the conflict in the Philippines as one between equivalents ("atrocities mounted on both sides") despite acknowledging in the text that while 4,000 US troops died the death toll for Filipinos was around a quarter of a million.

On to the twentieth century: Reynolds exhibits satisfaction that the United States was never sullied by a large socialist party, but plays down the level of repression focused on the generality of leftists in America that peaked during the Red Scare after WW1 and reached a crescendo post WW2 with McCarthyism (so-called: in reality it went far deeper than Joseph McCarthy, see Ellen Schreckers The Age of McCarthyism). Neither of these periods is explored to any great depth.

The really great failure in the book is how Reynolds deals with issues of foreign policy during the twentieth century. There are no mentions of the bombing and invasions of Cambodia under Nixon, no mention of Lyndon Johnson's invasion of the Dominican Republic. Despite covering at relative length the Carter era treaty to return the Panama Canal to Panama there is zero coverage of the Bush I's invasion of Panama though ample, and not particularly erudite, coverage of the subsequent years invasion of Kuwait by Iraq and the American led response. On the US depredations in Central America during the Regan era - nothing more than a brief mention in the paragraph that inadequately covers the Iran-Contra affair. The coverage of the Vietnam War is fairly nugatory, other events such as the slaughter in Indonesia of 1965 or the invasion and occupation of East Timor, both of which the US were involved in to varying degrees, are not covered at all. Chile and Allende ("whose reforms had wrecked the [Chilean] economy" - US efforts in that direction obviously don't exist for Reynolds) receive one paragraph. The US's relationship with Israel is barely acknowledged. American support for Islamic fundamentalists in Afghanistan is entirely ignored. There is no attempt on Reynolds part to look into the systematic factors that drove the United States post-WW2 foreign policy with regard to third world countries that make up all of those mentioned above. For someone who is a professional international historian writing a book with the word "Empire" in the title this is beyond a joke.

The book begins as a succinct and reasonable synthesis of US history (pre-"discovery", colonial, independence, civil war) to one that is safe, comfortable and entirely within the cosy consensus of apologetic writing about the United States in the post WW2 world. Those chapters that deal with the twentieth century (with a few exceptions such as Reynolds account of the Civil Rights Movement) are often disingenuous, larded with chatty quotes and asinine details regarding the "great and the good", and totally distort the reality of US foreign policy. For that reason "America: Empire of Liberty" is a book that I heartily recommend avoiding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 14 Feb 2009
David Reynolds has written a fantastic book that is both comprehensive in its coverage and intimate in its biographical details of the major players and defining events in American history. It provides an extraordinatry insight into the dynamics that have shaped America from the dichotomy of an anti-empire founded on the 'will to be free' that offered liberty and freedom on a scale unmatched by Europe, that founded its prosperity on the labour of black slaves, to the debates that shape modern America, as it does what it has always done - defining its identity as its perpetual struggle against all enemies foreign and domestic, real or imagined.

This is a well-written, thoroughly enjoyable book that provides a new insight into the world's self-styled only super-power. If you don't believe me check out the Radio 4 series Reynolds has done based on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new angle on an old history, 24 Jun 2009
David Reynolds History of America is a timely book that takes us from the Founding Fathers right up too Barrack Obama's victory. The book explores this history through the contradictions and complexities of American ideas of Liberty - Empire and Faith , thus creating a fresh perspective to a subject that has been well covered. Reynolds, a professor of American history for over thirty years, displays a masterful control over the wealth of materials and information that his exhaustive research has produced - conveying the facts with such erudtion and style, I found the book hard to put down.
Viewing the history through the prism of Empire - Liberty and Faith, we see a country that has stuggled with these contradictions and wrestled with it's conscience - mainly in regard to slavery, human rights issues and foreign policy - though it has in the main endeavoured to the right thing, with varying degrees of success. In the end we are left with a picture of an Empire staring over the precipice - two costly wars and an economy reeling from the Sub-Prime mortgage disaster has left America in a very vulnerable position, and left a population wary of the future. Reynold's New History is compelling told with a story tellers skill and an historians eye for detail. Superb.History of the American PeopleMade in AmericaThe Right Nation: Why America is DifferentThe First Salute: View of the American RevolutionThe World We're inThe Eagle's Shadow: Why America Fascinates and Infuriates the WorldDivine Magnetic Lands: A Journey in America
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN IMPRESSIVE READ, 20 May 2009
By 
GRAHAM EVANS (Bromley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had hear excerpts from David Reynold's "Empire of Liberty" read on BBC Radio 4 - who serialised this book. I had encountered David Reynolds on BBC TV - for example his excellent series on world summit meetings.
I have always been interested in the history of the USA too but mainly through watching TV documentaries. In about 600 pages - David takes you through the last 400 or so years of american history at quite a pace. Key characters are fleshed out well. He has an eye for a telling quotation from those there at the time. Though quite a long book the pace is quick - the second world war only lasted less that 4 years for the USA so in a few pages we are into the cold war. Some may not like the considerable space devoted to social history as against political or economic history - but that comes down to personal interests of the reader. But no this is the Bizz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent history of America, one of the best..., 11 Jan 2010
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: America, Empire of Liberty: A New History (Paperback)
This is one of the best single-volume histories of America I've ever read. Whilst it does have to sometimes skim over certain topics or eras in the interests of brevity, it doesn't leave out anything important, and the relative shortness of the text gives the benefit of a broad overview, particularly in terms of the persistent characteristic of having an enemy to fight and draw the country together - first it was the British, then the Native Americans, then the Spanish in Mexico, Nazi Germany, the Cold War and now Islamic fundamentalists.

Reynolds draws on three major themes that have defined America over the years - empire, liberty and faith - and shows how these have intertwined over the years to make America the country it is. These themes highlight more than any other the contradictions at the heart of America - "the empire forged by anti-imperialists, the land of liberty than rested on slavery, the secular state energized by godly ambition".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!!, 1 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America, Empire of Liberty: A New History (Paperback)
I was never interested in American history (felt how much of there is to read about?) but somehow was prompted to read more about the build-up/background of American thought and actions (expecially post the Gulf of Mexico oil spill).

Reading the book, it is quite evident that the author has a deep understanding of American past.

The material presented is also constructed in a very interesting way, showcasing historical events against interesting themes.

Overall an excellent purchase.

Highly recommended. Helped me to some extent in understanding the 'why' aspect of American behavior in the 20th and 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent History, 19 Dec 2009
By 
M. J. Hopkins (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thus far this book seems to has been well received and justifiably so. I'll just highlight a couple of distinguishing features which make this a truly excellent book.

Firstly it's scale and pace. The narrative of the American story which David Reynolds unfolds manages to confidently weave the big political and economic events together with the human stories of presidents, slaves, industrialists, activists and labourers. With centuries to survey, not everything is explored with the same depth, but the tapestry which Reynolds weaves genuinely works - he draws together the connections between peoples, events and places and demonstrates their historical consequences.

Secondly it's not over-moralised. Reynolds fully recognises the tensions and complexities of the American story and it's great paradoxes between liberty, slavery and empire. Indeed the whole book is based around these (and other) tensions. The story unfolds as a tale of continuing triumphs and defeats and not as a great moral judgement of American virtue or vice. It is restrained, balanced but above all engaging, fresh, dynamic, readable and thoroughly recommended by this reviewer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well written, 23 April 2011
This review is from: America, Empire of Liberty: A New History (Paperback)
This is an extremely satisfying and pleasurable book to read. Reynolds writes well, keeping the pace up while fitting in sometimes a great amount of detail. For me, coming from a place of knowing very little about American history other than there was a civil war at some point, it was the perfect thing to start filling in the gaps. Few books have kept me so interested all the way through, especially when the page count is encroaching on 600, but this was a breeze and Reynolds' anecdotal and informative style kept me going all the way through. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 6 Jun 2010
By 
What a fantastic read! I was looking for a book on the history of the USA and this more than did the job. David Reynolds has an engaging and easy-to-read style of writing. His insights into the great contradictions of empire versus liberty ring true, and provide a useful understanding of why so many of us have a love-hate relationship with the USA. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 4 May 2010
By 
Neil Holliday (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: America, Empire of Liberty: A New History (Paperback)
I found this one of the most enthralling history books I've ever read. In part down to the material, but very much also down to the author. It covers the whole of modern American history, and would no doubt have gone back further were it not that the American Indians left little or no recorded history and as such that part of the book is very much guess work. The rest is a fascinating overview of the United States right up to Obama. The only reservation for me was that it was too short, I could have read on forever, but it whet my apetite to read more about the Civil War, the Civil rights movement, Reagan (and I would never have believed I woulkd want to hear any more about him!), Nixon, Prohibition, and for that the author has my huge thanks, and I'll be checking out further books by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

America, Empire of Liberty: A New History
America, Empire of Liberty: A New History by David Reynolds (Paperback - 7 Jan 2010)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews