Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique man
The Autobiography of Malcolm X.

I truly believe that Malcolm X was the only person who has walked the earth, who could have changed the world, and would have wanted to change it - based purely on the desire to see all people be treated equally (with fairness, equal opportunity, and without random or inherited hatred for other races).

Malcolm's...
Published on 27 Jan. 2008 by Craig Mansfield

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Condition of Received book
The book was very poor condition looked very old had a pen mark inside the page looked a very dirty yellow colour took to long to arrive and the front cover was different to the original order cover so for that reason i don't rate the condition but the book itself is a good book to read.
Published 13 months ago by karen sinclair


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Malcolm X Book review, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very pleased with my product and it arrived in good time. It was well packaged and in good condition as described by the seller.

The Autobiography of Malcolm X has to be one of the best books I have read to date. It offers a real insight into the lives of black people during early 19th century America and their struggle for basic civil rights. The level of detail in this book is brilliant.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in human rights and the civil rights movement of 1960s. This is a book about a man who went from prison to peace, and it has left me with a great feeling of hope in humanity. The film is not as good as this book so you will gain a great deal more from reading it than you would think.

One for my books of all time collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 12 July 2009
This is by far one of my most favourite books, I read this book within a few days! I found it hard to put the book down, his life was fascinating.

With it being an autobiography, you learn more about him, understand his views better; taking into consideration the circumstances he was in. It also helps you to understand the situation of black people in general, in America. This book is an eye opener, it definately changed the way I see things.

Many parts of this book were very sad, and you can understand why he joined the racist "N.O.I" (this was for a while; he later converted to Orthodox Islam and changed his views, and believed that all people were equal. )
For example, when he was a boy at school he was asked by his teacher what career he would like to pursue, after telling him that he would like to become a lawyer, the teacher replied, "A lawyer - that's no realistic goal for a nigger."

That is just one incident, Malcolm X and ofcourse black people in America suffered a great deal racially. Sadly, some people are very ignorant and only remember him for a small and dark period of his life when he held racist views. They dont know that he did realise the error of his ways and showed much regret!
Malcolm X was a great man who fought against oppression. He is one my heroes and im sure he is to many other people!

This is an important book, and very educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, Impassioned, Intelligent, 23 Oct. 2011
The change in Malcolm from his drug dealing, devil may care hoodlum to a devout somewhat blinkered member of the Nation of Islam to a Post-Hajj introspective thoughtful impassioned Muslim man was a beautifully written eye opener. Malcolm was not kind in descriptions about his previous incarnations, but it was effective; the need for human beings to change, grow and learn the truth for themselves. I was moved by the description of his Hajj to Mecca and his constant humility in the presence of his fellow man- Kings, Presidents and men on the street- being treated as one- irrespective of skin colour. I have since wondered what would have become of brother Malcolm if he wasn't taken from us- what a damn loss. Please read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly life and perception altering book! PLEASE READ AND SHARE!, 11 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Autobiography of Malcolm X (Paperback)
Being the first serious non-fiction book I ever read, at the age of 17, this literally changed the way I thought. Now 19, I have read this book at least 5 times (or more) and feel refreshed and intrigued each time I read it. What amazed me most of all about this his life, and still does, was the transfromation Malcolm X underwent while in prison and then under the wing of Ellijah Muhammad. The example Malcolm uses in the very last paragraph of chapter 15, Icarus, articulates this transformation beautifully; while giving a speech at the Harvard Law school, he glances through a window to see an apartment that used to be his burglary gang's hideout, and explains that seeing it "rocked me like a tidal wave". It just shows how even in the most unfair, insuperable circumstances, one can change their life around with the right motivations, influences and convictions.

The second most valuable lesson I took from this book was the simple message; read, read and read! It was reading that began and encouraged Malcolms transformation whilst he was inprisoned, and reading that taught him so much, besides how to understand things. Before reading this, I scoffed at people who "wasted" time reading, now, two years on, I have a miniture library in my bedroom, and dedicate myself to serious, academic reading (when Im not reading Hermann Hesse, or Ayn Rand!).

Conclusively, I would IMPLORE everybody, especially younger people, to spend time reading, and unstanding the life and personality of the brilliant and compassionate Malcom Little (X), who dedicated his life to the advancement and improvement of the black race, and died a for a cause he so firmly believed in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 27 Sept. 2009
By 
C. Want "East Clintwood" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Quite simply, this is the greatest book I have ever read. I am a WASP and I still found the message incredibly strong. This book will change your life (your mind set anyway) unless you are ignorant. I kept thinking about so many things in this book over and over...

In my ignorant youth, I dismissed him as an angry black guy unable to get over the past. How ignorant could I be???? Very.

He was angry about the present at the time. He was also very reasonable. I think that every white man (including me) would also have been at least as angry as him, probably more, had we been through what he had. Adding to that, his Dad was murdered by white racists. White people, be honest with yourself here, how many people do you know who are put off a race over one minor expierience? Imagine knowing this, along with what was happening in society. Anyone with any sense of reason can understand his anger.

Also, rememeber, when he talks of the white man, as he says himself, he's not saying all whites are bad, but he's referring to the collective guilt of the white man which really cannot be disputed.

Basically, most people who read this book are black and white people from English speaking countries but if you take away all the 'black' and 'white' words, this is simply one mans struggle to deal with and over come an oppressive regime. Like Ghandi minus the PR. Had Malcolm been born into different circumstances I have no doubt whatsoever that he would have been one of the great philosophers.

One thing that really amazed me in this book was how much he educated himself simply by reading as much as humanely possible. He went into prison as a street hoodlum (ok, a smart one but still...) but read everything he possibly could in the libary, including memorizing the dictionary. He came out an academic who gave speaches at Oxford university and the like. This alone is enough to be inspired by, let alone the thousands of other things he did.

And the change of heart at the end, when he goes to Mecca, should rekindle your faith in the human spirit.

Please remember though that the NOI has nothing whatsoever to do with mainstream Islam, they simply both believe in Muhammed. I'm sure mainstream Muslims don't believe that stuff about Jacob and all that evil scientist stuff but given the circumstances which they were raised in, it is no suprise that a religion was created in which they demonize (the 'blonde haired, blue eyed devils') the white man. However, after finding how horrified mainstream Muslims were at this ideal (hating anyone, regardless of the provocation) he changed from the NOI to mainstream Islam.

After reading this I tried the film and as they say, it's never anywhere near as good. So much was missed out, some stuff made up (well contradicts this book anyway) and you cannot fit all he did into a 2 hour film, although the film was still decent. Just please don't confuse this book with the film.

Again, this is an absolute must read, you will not regret it, regardless of what race you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A light of CHANGE & GUIDANCE for humanity, 27 Dec. 2008
I have read this book, owned and given away several copies ! This is an amazing book about the amazing life stages of a man whom worldwide showed the true understanding of the amazing 3 - true knowledge of self, cultural heritage & respect - true knowledge of spiritually - true knowledge of knowledge !
This book should be an educational book for all 11 yrs + group to be able to have a true in depth understanding of the stages in life that many in society have traveled however only the few have managed to complete the journey and present this to the world such as Malcolm X - El Hajj Malik El Shabbazz - May his story live on and be respected worldwide as he respected all others worldwide !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tragic, brutally honest picture of an important man.., 20 Sept. 2012
This book is honest, painfully so at times (as is life). The chapter where he documents the Nation of Islam's repeated attempts to kill him and his family after his having devoted his entire life to them, is heart breaking, you almost want to reach through the pages and yell at the people, at the injustice of it all but you can't help but marvel at his patient and almost eerily calm approach to his own imminent death.

Malcolm X mentions at the end how things might've been different if he hadn't been born who he was and in the racial climate that he grew up in, how he could've been a lawyer and it was heart breaking to realise that he could just as easily have been an amazing writer. His is a life that proves the lasting effect that one determined voice can have. A must read for anyone studying the Civil Rights movement but also for people in general, this book is one of "those" books where the tale haunts you long after you've finished and changes the way you view things.

:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important historical record, 18 Oct. 2011
This book is an important read for all people in the West, both black and white. It catalogues America's dark period of racism, which still has some relevance today (Hurricane Katrina???)

Also documents Malcolm's rise from street criminal, to Islamic Minister, his personal/spiritual development, and his demise (by the hands of his own people)

Also check out Huey P Newton, and maybe Che Guvara as other 'leaders' killed in their prime...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must read this book, 4 Feb. 2011
Malcolm X made an honest reflection of his life and the decisions he made. At the same time he allows the reader a glimpse into the intense passion and spirituality that this man sought. The end of the book still makes my hair tingle and his prophetic words of his own death are all the more chilling as you know that the man who wrote them was to die soon afterwards. You must read this book once in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are Malcolm X, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography of Malcolm X (Paperback)
A life changing book that is brutally honest and redemptive. You find a man who is somehow willing to speak the truth, willing to re-invent himself and change his views but instead of lending an air of confusion to the man this only heightens his towering strength as a person wanting to provide human rights for his people and realising that there are no races, only human beings. This book is on biblical terms and way ahead of its time. We are only blind if we think the situation for the so-called minorities really has improved. Everyday we hear of a so-called minority persecuted somewhere, be it in China or Myanmar or with the miners in South Africa. This book doesn't shy away from the human frailties we all live with but are either too ignorant to want to deal with them or are so afraid to confront them that we just suppress and bury them deep into the rabbit hole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Autobiography of Malcolm X
Autobiography of Malcolm X by X Malcolm (Paperback - 28 Jun. 2007)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews