Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Novel that will have you Walking around in a Daze
I can never get used to Márquez. More than anyone else he is the master storyteller, the voice of a melancholy raconteur whose aphorisms reverberate in your head and deny you sleep; but you never begrudge him this. He manages to condense the substance of entire novels into a single understated sentence. His words are alive and wriggle under your skin.
Of...
Published on 18 April 2002 by jacr100

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garcia has lost his power to grasp
This book was interesting, in that the author turned a cliched myth into a magical story. But he has lost his power to grasp his readers, like in the Chronicle of a Death Foretold. The imagery are becoming a little excessive in some parts of the book. It was good that it was kept short, as his other novels.
Published on 22 May 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Novel that will have you Walking around in a Daze, 18 April 2002
By 
jacr100 "jacr100" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I can never get used to Márquez. More than anyone else he is the master storyteller, the voice of a melancholy raconteur whose aphorisms reverberate in your head and deny you sleep; but you never begrudge him this. He manages to condense the substance of entire novels into a single understated sentence. His words are alive and wriggle under your skin.
Of Love and Other Demons is one of the twentieth century’s great works. A relation of the events surrounding Sierva María de Todos los Angeles, the daughter of a Marquis raised by black slaves, it captures the miasmatic superstition of the eighteenth-century perfectly, as rabies becomes confused with satanic possession, love with sinful temptation, and rationality with madness. Much like Romeo and Juliet, you quickly forget the age of the lovers at the centre of the novel – Sierva María is twelve; Cayetano Delaura thirty-six. Like Shakespeare’s play there is nothing immoral about this relationship, but it retains the same tragic potential: the virgin daughter of a Marquis possessed by demons in a mutual infatuation with the Bishop’s favourite, an erudite priest soon to take a position in the Vatican. It is doomed from the start, as almost everything in the story is – but much like he did in Chronicle of a Death Foretold, Márquez proceeds to build excitement from inevitability, never needing to throw in a twist to keep the reader entranced, as lesser authors might. In particular he is exceptional at describing a world tinted through the vision of love, making everything richer, more sensuous. He is, for me, the greatest author alive today. Read him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Beautiful, 29 May 2011
This review is from: Of Love and Other Demons (Paperback)
This is one of my favourite books of all time. The master storyteller, Marquez conjures up such a strange, imaginative world that is at once both beautiful and brutal. The images that he creates and the story that he weaves is so romantic - an darkly exquisite tale that speaks to the soul. I live for literature like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, the greatest demon of all, 15 Dec 2008
By 
Trevor Coote "Trevor Coote" (Tahiti, French Polynesia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the days when Colombia, Venezuela and Panama formed the Spanish colony of New Granada, twelve year old Servia María is banished by her father to Santa Clara convent in preparation for exorcism after being bitten by a rabid dog and displaying diabolical symptoms. However, the priest appointed by the Bishop to carry out the exorcism, Cayetano Delaura, does not believe that she is possessed by demons and subsequently falls in love with her. He is sent to a leper colony for discussing the matter with a sceptical doctor but each night leaves and scales the walls of the convent to spend time with Servia María in her cell. Of Love and Other Demons is a love story at once fantastic and bizarre, typical of its author's most passionate work. It was stimulated by an event witnessed by him; the discovery of the skull of a young girl alongside twenty two metres of red hair when the tombs of Santa Clara were being opened up in the 1940s.
For me the fiction of Gabriel Garcia Marquez is as poetic and entertaining as that of any writer alive. But the real triumph of his work is in the compelling portrayal of the sights and sounds, smells and rhythms of the steamy, swampy Caribbean coast of his native Colombia, especially in colonial days. He manages convincingly to recreate a bustling, chaotic world of docks, taverns and brothels peopled by aristocrats, traders, priests, beggars, slaves and prostitutes from jumbled communities of Spaniards, Africans, Amerindians, mestizos and mulattos. Of Love and Other Demons is a tale set in an exotic land where unrestrained behaviour is fomented by a mix of idolatrous religions and superstitious beliefs, all related with Latin verve and panache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marquez Scores Again - I Read It In 2 Hours!!, 13 July 2004
'Of Love...' is only the second of Marquez's book I have read (1st was '100 Years..') and I continue to be impressed and completely engrossed by his work. To illustrate how engrossed I was --THIS BOOK TOOK ME TWO HOURS TO READ. I felt like I was reading a fairytale at bedtime to my daughter, the magic and wonder of Sierva's existence stands second only to Marquez's style of prose. I fell in love with Marquez after '100 years...' and the second visit I've paid him, will only serve to keep me coming back for more. ASTONISHING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story one needs to read in this life., 28 Feb 2001
By A Customer
As ever Marques gives his reader a wonderful story but this time it seems to me that it transends his other novels. This book is so perfectly crafted, so moving in its portrayal of the main protagonists and so vivid in its desciption, that if books were to be chosen rather than music for a Desert Island, this would have to be one of the eight! I believe it to be an unforgettable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly sad, but very well written!, 15 Nov 2010
By 
U. Madsen (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Of Love and Other Demons (Paperback)
Garcia Marquez is one of my favourite writers and he doesn't disappoint with this book. The decriptions of people and their feelings are so detailed that you can easily relate to them. It is a beautiful book about love, but also an incredibly sad book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marquez's gem is a passionate tale of love and destruction, 25 Oct 1999
By A Customer
Examining the spectrum between science and faith, Marquez' masterful characterization depicts the desperate relationship between Cayetano DeLaura and Sierva Maria. Thematically, Marquez examines the dichotomous passions which control man and woman, such as love and lust, good and evil, love and hate, and pragmatism versus romanticism. From the timid Marquis to his grotesque wife Bernarda, the cast of allegorical characters, although distant, are intrigueing and draw constant biblical reference, particularly to the story of Genesis. "Of Love and Other Demons" is rich, fluent, and thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having read this remarkable book I am now compelled to ..., 27 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read this remarkable book I am now compelled to gobble up the rest of Gabriel Garcia Marquez' writings but I shall ration myself . Scenes are created with obliqueness and detail. Don't make any assumptions about human nature because this author may well present you with thought provoking surprises that are nevertheless entirely believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was the first book I read using my new kindle and i managed to finish it within 48 hours!

having read the better known Marquez books (Love in the time of Cholera, 100 years of solitude etc) I presumed I'd read the best of his work, but 'Of love and other demons' was a beautiful book; original, imaginative and wonderfully descriptive. As always his characters were elaborate and the story full of spirits, demons and fantasy (but not in a silly Harry Potter way).

I dont think Marquez's style is for everyone - people who prefer more 'down-to-earth' books would probably find his eccentric story-telling and fantastical quirks a little annoying and far-fetched. but i am definitely a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More captivating writing by the master, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a truly captivating tale, Garcia Marquez is an extraordinary writer. I bought this book for my grandaughter as a present, (I gave her 'A Hundred years of Solitude on her 15th.,birthday and she devoured it) however I started reading before wrapping the gift and ordered myself a copy, which I read over two nights. The first edition is a beautiful copy and arrived promptly and well packaged. She will treasure this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Love and Other Demons
Of Love and Other Demons by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews