Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Warming up for the 100 years...
This is a collection of 12 stories written by Nobel Prize winner Gabriel Garcia Marquez. His most famous works are One Hundred Years of Solitude, The Autumn of the Patriarch and Love in the Time of Cholera (Vintage International). I've read them all, and like so many others, have been enthralled with his style and his sometimes whimsical insights into the human condition...
Published on 7 April 2011 by John P. Jones III

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that great
I have read 7 or 8 of Marquez's books and this is by far the worst I have read. Some of the stories I just could not finish as for want of a better word, they were complete 'gibberish'. Maybe it is the translations or the fact that some were written over 50 years ago but I get a feeling that he is sometimes being too clever and the meaning gets completely lost.
Published on 8 April 2009 by Mr. S. F. Lyon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Warming up for the 100 years..., 7 April 2011
By 
John P. Jones III (Albuquerque, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Innocent Erendira and Other Stories (Paperback)
This is a collection of 12 stories written by Nobel Prize winner Gabriel Garcia Marquez. His most famous works are One Hundred Years of Solitude, The Autumn of the Patriarch and Love in the Time of Cholera (Vintage International). I've read them all, and like so many others, have been enthralled with his style and his sometimes whimsical insights into the human condition. This book is an odd assortment that the publisher yoked together. The last 11 short stories were written when Marquez was between 25 and 30, in the early `50's. One Hundred Years of Solitude was first published in the late `60's. Only the title story, the length of a novella, was written after his classic work, in the early `70's.

Concerning the 11 stories I call a "warm-up," well, they are just that. Certainly there is evidence of the themes and style that would be honed and polished into his major works. Overall though, they are rough, and two in particular, "Eyes of the Blue Dog" and "Night of the Curlews" should have been "left on the cutting room floor" as they say in the movies. Concerning these, and the others, there are times when the style he is famous for introducing, "magical realism," flips into outright hallucinations, worthy (or more appropriately, unworthy) of William Burroughs. Marquez's sardonic view of the "democratic process," revealed in the electioneering and philandering of Senator Onesimo Sanchez will resonate with many a modern American reader. Death is a theme that is laced through many of these stories, and in particular, dominates "The Third Resignation," which appears to draw inspiration from Kafka's The Metamorphosis (Dover Thrift). Also in several of his stories, particularly in "Dialogue with the Mirror," he plays with the theme of a person's doppelganger - that eerie "other" who may accompany us. In "Eva is Inside her Cat," as the title might suggest, the author plays with the themes of the surrealistic painters, with insects under the skin causing a woman's beauty, which proves to be an immense burden. The reincarnation of choice is being a cat, but the dying mouse in one's mouth seems to spoil that fantasy. "The Woman who Came at 6'o'clock" involves the classic theme which has also become a cliché, the bartender who falls in love with a woman working in the world's oldest profession.

The title novella is clearly the best, and involves a ruthless grandmother pimping her granddaughter to obtain reparations for the grandmother's house that was burned down due to the carelessness of the granddaughter. Lots of sexual titillation, the proverbial "knight in shining armor," a dash of religion, and a much more refined dose of "magical realism."

Overall though, this book is probably only for hard-core Marquez fans, who have already read his major works. I'll round up to 4-stars, certainly in honor of the 100 years.

(Note: Review first published at Amazon, USA, on September 15, 2010)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent way to start on Garcia Marquez and Macondo, 4 Jan. 1998
By A Customer
A wonderfull collection of stories with the best of Garcia Marquez' magical realism, which introduces the reader to life in Macondo and the author's writting style. I recommend you read this book before trying 100 years of solitude because the short stories are much simpler but just as amusing. Once you start reading it you won't be able to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some stories better than others, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Innocent Erendira and Other Stories (Paperback)
Innocent Erendira is a adult fairy tale that lifts you out of the every day. The other stories are pre-occupied with death to the point of being bizzarre and are not so much a story as an exercise in ones ability to assimilate and understand the content. The women that came in at 6 o'clock is a good read, as is the sea of lost time and death constant beyond love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that great, 8 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Innocent Erendira and Other Stories (Paperback)
I have read 7 or 8 of Marquez's books and this is by far the worst I have read. Some of the stories I just could not finish as for want of a better word, they were complete 'gibberish'. Maybe it is the translations or the fact that some were written over 50 years ago but I get a feeling that he is sometimes being too clever and the meaning gets completely lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Innocent Erendira and Other Stories
Innocent Erendira and Other Stories by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Paperback - 7 Feb. 2008)
Used & New from: £1.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews