Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars92
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2015
still reading the book , what a good read
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
The story and way it is put over is very good. I have knocked a star of because there is a little too much waffle for my liking. There again some may like the pages of description but I found it slow and not realy relevant.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
An excellent read, one of a series of 6 books charting the exploits of Ballista, a Roman general and his trusty associates. if you likes Gladiator the movie then you will love this series of well written gripping books.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
I enjoyed the first two episodes of the Ballista saga and am now waiting eagerly for the next. The battle scenes are very well done and one can almost smell the heat and dust of the exotic locations. A brilliant series.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
I got into this series of books due to a positive review of the first volume, so I think it's only fair to return the favour. This is now the only series of books that I await, and buy the next volume immediately on release. I love these books for a number of reasons. Firstly, the author is a professor of history and clearly knows his stuff about the ancient Roman army. Secondly, it's set during an interesting period of history, when the empire is on the way down (rather than many other books of this type, which tend to deal with the end of the republic and the start of the empire). Thirdly, it's generally set outside of Italy / Gaul, which is again a bit different fromt the norm. However, none of this would count for anything if the story wasn't exciting and the characters sympathetic - and these books are real page-turners. If you like Valerio Manfredi's novels or Wilbur Smith's ancient Egyptian titles (River God / Warlock etc) then buy the Warrior of Rome series, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
Another enjoyable and tense read which opens up the need to look at, and to investigate, the period of history Sidebottom writes about. But that said, I await the next book!!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
This was a fantastic start to the Warrior of Rome series. Really connects you to the characters within the book. I found myself up in the middle of the night reading this.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Avid reader of Harry Sidebottom novels really enjoyed this one, History tied into a story and the historical chapter at the end puts it all into perspective.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Harry Sidebottom's Rome series about the life and antics of Ballista were very good indeed, keeping me looking forward to each book as it came along.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
spectacular as usual,h.sidebottom really knows his stuff.he brings the warrior caste to your mind with great detail and passion.
well done sir.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.