Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The pleasure of finding things out
Interesting but you need to have some understanding of physics to actually get what the guys on about. It clears things up if you are confused but can be quite tough going in places.
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by Mrs. C. A. Randell

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars scraping the bottom of the feynmaniana barrel
This book is yet another posthumous compilation of Feynman's musings. With each successive book - starting from the wonderful transcriptions of Leighton, Surely You're Joking Mr. Feynman - they have been declining in quality for years. Well, this is a hodgepodge of paper scraps and even raw oral interviews that have been thrown together to exploit just about the last drop...
Published on 3 Jun 2011 by rob crawford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars scraping the bottom of the feynmaniana barrel, 3 Jun 2011
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This book is yet another posthumous compilation of Feynman's musings. With each successive book - starting from the wonderful transcriptions of Leighton, Surely You're Joking Mr. Feynman - they have been declining in quality for years. Well, this is a hodgepodge of paper scraps and even raw oral interviews that have been thrown together to exploit just about the last drop of these kinds of things, and I can say that I don't think the process should continue.

There are some amusing things in this book and some interesting details, but there really isn't anything special except for the fact that Feynman enjoys the personality cult associated with a zany physics genius. He was an original character and, in physics, a truly great thinker. But that doesn't make every last little thing that he ever said or scribbled down interesting, except to uncritical devotees who live with the fantasy that everything he said was better than worthwhile. Indeed, if you know about something in great depth he writes (well talks) about, his views appear as superficial as the rest of non-specialists on the subjects. Where he is truly interesting in on physics, mathematics, and science - and the overwhelming majority of what he produced on those subjects is already available.

I would not recommend this book, except as a source of Feynman trivia if that is your bag. Indeed, I had heard most of these things before - either in films about the man or from his earlier writings. As such, that makes this book the crassest attempt to commercially exploit the legacy of this great man yet again. If such a thing were possible, the editor should be ashamed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Paperback)
I was a little disapointed with the content & found it rarther heavey going. Its not quite what I had envisaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The pleasure of finding things out, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. C. A. Randell (Keynsham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Paperback)
Interesting but you need to have some understanding of physics to actually get what the guys on about. It clears things up if you are confused but can be quite tough going in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Feynman, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Paperback)
Everything that Feynman wrote is worth reading. He has definite ideas and describes then clearly. A breath of fresh air in our world of hypocrisy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it- it's magic, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Paperback)
What can I say its Richard Faynman- its like having a casual chat in a bar over a drink and he really makes it simple and understandable. Magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable scientist, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Paperback)
This book is a selection of good informative and readable essays from a remarkable, if underrated, scientist and human being. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Paperback)
I bought this book because I saw a film about the author. What a man! This is a good book to dip in and out of. Will definitely buy his other books. it arrived very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Paperback)
There's not much more you can say about one of the greatest physicists of the twentieth century. Classic read, incredible insight into a brilliant mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Paperback)
This man is a genius, in the true sense of the word! Don't worry if you haven't got a physics background (as I haven't). Feynman doesn't use much maths and complicated terms to explain things. He was a teacher so can explain things to 'laymen' with great ease!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reprint of 1999 book, 1 May 2012
This review is from: The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Paperback)
The book was originally published in 1999, it's title being taken from a BBC Horizon programme of the same name originally broadcast in 1981. It contains a transcript of that programme plus other writings and lectures. I have a 1999 copy and, to my knowledge, it was the first time the transcript of the 1981 Horizon programme had been published between the covers of a book. I recommend anyone who hasn't read it to actually do so.

Rob Crawford comments as if this book is a new publication when in fact it is a 2007 reprint. His description of the book is therefore inaccurate and misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pleasure of Finding Things Out
The Pleasure of Finding Things Out by Richard P Feynman (Paperback - 6 Sep 2007)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews