Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More facinating tidbits from Feynman
The anecdotes from Feynman are, as usual, witty and amusing. However, the second half of the book is taken with his involvement in the Challenger enquiry, and it is gripping stuff.
I highly recommend it, to scientists and laymen alike.
Published on 21 Jun 2000

versus
14 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feynman protects some NASA careers
This book is pretty funny. Although NASA knew exactly what had caused the Challenger disaster, they found it convenient to lay a trail for Feynman, enabling him to rediscover what they had known all along. To what purpose? you might ask. Simple: so they could then say, "My God! So it was the O-rings then! Thank-you for enlightening us, O Great One!" and thereby protect a...
Published on 29 May 2005 by Dr. C. G. Oakley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting collection of anecdotes, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'What Do You Care What Other People Think?': Further Adventures of a Curious Character (Paperback)
This is a follow on from Feynman's first book "Surely you are joking Mr Feynman". It sort of picks up from where the other left off, but about half of the book is devoted to his activities as part of the panel investigating the Challenger Shuttle disaster.

What I did find odd was that he seemed surprised at the behaviour and reaction of the others on the same panel; many of his comments indicate a level of bewilderment at the way that things were done and how the process was carried out. From his previous book, I would have expected him to be a lot more savvy towards the nature of those that work much more in the public sector. I wonder if he was in fact playing a double game; knowing exactly what he faced, but then pretending a level of frustration to indicate that he was not part of the same set-up. Of course, we will never know, but it is interesting to speculate.

Both parts of the book are well worth reading, and this book is one that will probably require more than one viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cant go wrong, 24 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. J. Lodge (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 'What Do You Care What Other People Think?': Further Adventures of a Curious Character (Paperback)
This is the second book I have read on Richard Feynman, I would recommend reading surely your joking mr feynman (which is also a better book) first. But this is definitely worth a read if you have any interest in the legend that is Richard Feynman, and for the price you cant go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wonderful science and the touching personal history, 29 Mar 2000
We all learnt from Richard Feynman, even it was just to disrespect authority.
Forget quarks, muons, ups and downs and the rest for the moment, and get to know the greatest teacher in the history of teaching.
This is NOT a text book, but there are great human lessons here for us all.
The bulk of the book is taken up with an incredibly fascinating account of his pivotal role in the Challenger Space Shuttle disaster (those damn O-rings).
Those chapters speak volumes to anyone considering science as a career; science means nothing to politicians, the only way to combat it is simple common sense.
Unless you're Richard Feynman, then it comes naturally.
If you ever wonder what in hell you're doing being a scientist, or studying to be one, read this book.
But read 'Surely You're Joking, Mr Feynman' first (that's just plain funny).
Truly inspiring.
Ta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must-read one, 23 Dec 2007
By 
Peter Soltes (Kosice, Slovakia) - See all my reviews
This is one of my favourite books.

Interesting life of one intelligent person with atypical sense of humour with interesting style of thinking.

Long part about physics may be boring for some kinds of people, but it still also contain a lot of interesting to read. Either way if you are absolutely out of physics you will maybe close this book on first sites of the second part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Messages from a great mind, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting but possibly too one-sided account about how Feynman operated during Shuttle disaster inquiry. Lets the reader appreciate how complex - technically, politically, managerially, time-wise and in terms of relationships. very well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'What Do You Care What Other People Think?': Further Adventures of a Curious Character (Paperback)
A Great book both moving and funny; thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Book arrived appropriately packaged and was within the time frame stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Physics and story of Richard Feynman., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'What Do You Care What Other People Think?': Further Adventures of a Curious Character (Paperback)
Very engaging story. A man who brought physics to life for his students, and wasn't afraid to admit if he didn't know something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good present, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'What Do You Care What Other People Think?': Further Adventures of a Curious Character (Paperback)
Bought as a present for my dad as he had enjoyed a previous one. He is a scientist so I think that helped!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 23 Oct 2013
By 
A. Britt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'What Do You Care What Other People Think?': Further Adventures of a Curious Character (Paperback)
i did not know Richard Feynman as an author, but had heard various people mention his name. When it finally came up for the last time as reference I could ignore it no longer and bought the book!i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would do anything to spend even 5 minutes with Feynman, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'What Do You Care What Other People Think?': Further Adventures of a Curious Character (Paperback)
A truly brilliant man. This book is a fantastic glimpse of what it would have been like knowing and being around Richard Feynman. The stories are all amazing and i often finished stories finding my jaw wide open and sitting on the edge of my seat. The fist hand detail about the Challenger shuttle disaster investigation is astonishing and it just shows you how great he really was.

A wonderful read, i would definitely (and have) recommend this book to anyone remotely interested by Feynman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'What Do You Care What Other People Think?': Further Adventures of a Curious Character
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews