Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witty and insightful
Grossman very carefully avoids parody or mockery of the superhero genre itself, or of its central tropes. This is a good thing. Instead he gives us a psychoanalasys of the stock characters. What drives a man to turn his genius to evil?

The story's two lead characters, Doctor Impossible (Villain) and Fatale (Heroine) are wonderfully self-aware and often second...
Published on 16 July 2008 by matthew_panton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a new idea, but not a bad effort
Soon I will be Invincible is the story of a a supervillain Doctor Impossible and his ongoing quest to become well, invincible. Actually his quest is to win out over his various nemeses and enemies - trouble is, he's the kind of guy that not only needs to win, everyone else has to lose.

The story is actually split being the evil genius himself and Fatale the...
Published on 13 Feb 2012 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've read this at least five times - an all time great, 11 July 2012
As at least one of the reviews here has noted, the intro alone is spectacular. The first few pages are completely gripping, and the whole story unfolds at just the right speed.

What's great about this is the level of detail in the interwoven strands, and the way the whole thing pulls together beautifully at the end, following some great twists.

It's a hugely enjoyable read, and nothing would please me more than another book of this quality from this author.

I'd put this in my top 5 books of all time, with the others being Stranger in a Strange Land and then probably three Bruce Sterlings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best superhero books, written from a villains viewpoint, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The books starts off great. A super villain, Doctor Impossible, is in a high security prison, is thinking of his life, and what it takes to survive. The book then alternates from the view points of him, and a superheroine Fatale who has been just asked to join an elite group of superheroes.

The most powerful superhero (a Superman like figure) has vanished, and people suspect he may have been killed, which is scaring a lot of people, as he should have been invincible. Doctor Impossible , the main suspect, escapes from prison, and restarts his plan to take over the world.

Fatale, on the other hand, isn't sure who created her, or who she is, or if she is good enough. But she forced to fight Dr Impossible, and find out who killed superman.

Throughout the book, my sympathies were with Doctor Impossible, and I kept hoping he would win in the end. Alas, he doesn't, but it shows what a great job the writer did of creating great characters. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun, 8 April 2012
I loved this book, it's what got me interested into the whole superhero genre.

Characters - 5/5 Soon I Will Be Invincible has a killer cast of characters. The main two are Fatale, the next generation of warfare and a cybord superhero who is very likeable with an interesting origin story, a likeable personality and pretty cool powers. The second is Doctor Impossible who is a great villain. He's arrogant, egotistical yet remains likeable and interesting throughout. I found that I couldn't help but support him. The rest of the cast are interesting enough, there is a nice band of colourful superheroes and supervillains who appear throughout the book. Although some aren't too developed, they still remain likeable and interesting enough.

Plot - 4/5 The disappearence of the world's most powerful superhero, the escape of the world's deadliest supervillain. The plot is great, following Fatale and the rest of the heroes as they attempt to defeat Doctor Impossible and, Doctor Impossible's own plans for power. It is a lot of fun and a real page turner.

Writing - 4/5 Austin Grossman is a very talented writer. The characters are all unique and stand out, the descriptions are really good and action scenes are very well written. I was definitely a fan.

Cover - 3/5 Wasn't a fan of the cover to be honest.

Overall -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run, don't walk, to the nearest book shop to buy this..., 6 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you haven't read this book as yet, and you are a fan of comic books/superhero ripping yarns, then run, don't walk, but run to your nearest purveyor of quality books because you do not want to miss this one.

Set in a world which is oddly not dissimilar to our own and yet quite naturally populated with a breed of superheroes and super villains who are out to save/destroy us according to their own particular whims, this is a witty and very comic (in more than one sense of the word!) novel. Told from the differing perspectives of Dr Impossible, ("Evil Genius, Mad Scientist, Diabolical Time Traveller and World Dominator in waiting") and Fatale, an insecure Cyborg (will her new superhero costume make her look fat?)this is a tale of superhero do-gooders (and do-badders) who are also strangely humanistic and possessing very recognisable worries about life. From the moment when we encounter Dr Impossible, in prison for the twelfth time, worrying about whether he's used his intelligence to the best possible use in becoming an evil genius, to the final page when Fatale finally accepts herself for the heroine she has become, I found this book utterly impossible to put down.

The story itself is brilliantly told with a really witty turn of phrase from the author and lots and lots of dry humour. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, one of my favourite books, 7 Feb 2008
I bought this book because I'm a fan of comic books and wanted to see how the concept could be done in novelisation form, I've read Batman No Man's Land, the novel as well as the series, and was pleasantly suprised there but wasn't too sure how a comic book concept could be written entirely as a novel. I certainly wasn't disappointed. Soon I Will be Invincible is cleverly written and well fleshed out, all the stereotypee are here but they are shown as real human beings (or clones, or robots etc...) and the story works exceptionately well from the p.o.v. of both Fatale and the villain Doctor Impossible whom I felt some sympathy and I must admit an inkling of admiration for. Although comic book like, the writing and story is both intelligent and humourous and the stereotypes are clever and well placed. I sincerely hope Grossman writes many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The geek shall conquer the Earth, 19 Mar 2009
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soon I Will be Invincible (Paperback)
Writing about superheroes is a difficult proposition. They are so suited to the visual medium, that conveying the sense of wonder that goes with the genre in prose is a great trick if you can pull it off.

Grossman does it in spades. He gives the story just the right veneer of scientific detail, lends just the right amount of plausible real world difficulties to being a cyborg or an alien hybrid that it makes the book feel genuine.

Two narrative threads run through the book. The first is Dr Impossible's tale of escaping prison again to put together his latest scheme to rule the world. The second is Fatale's step into the superhero big leagues when Corefire disappears and she is invited to join the New Champions.

The first is the often humorous internal monologue of a disaffected geek who seeks to rule the world as a way to get back at people for not inviting him to parties as a boy. The second is about a woman searching for herself as she tries to figure out her past and future.

As I mentioned earlier, the level of detail in the world Grossman has created is fantastic. It feels as if he has thought through the physics of superheroics to a fine level, enough to convince the majority of its truth. If it falls down a little it's in the obviousness of the inspirations for some of the heroes. Everyone and their dog seems to want to do their own versions of Superman, Batman and Wonder Woman and Grossman is no different. To be fair, Corefire, Blackwolf and Damsel are all a lot of fun so it's only a small issue.

This is a grand book, and certainly the best superhero novel I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superheroes with lives, 25 Sep 2007
This is superb read. From the very start you feel like you are reading a comic. You meet Dr Impossible (the bad guy) and Fatale (the good girl), you find out their origin and why they do what they do.
Unique heroes, not linked to DC or Marvel, off doing daring do and saving the world. Along with this two main characters are divorced, the heroes get it wrong, there are problems with costumes.
As odd as it sound, it feels right, like this is how it happens.
No comic book convention is over looked, from the secret evil base, to alien attack, to alternate realities. It's ever comic geek's dream.

The only bad thing I can say about this is the cover.
True it's done by Brian Hitch, one of the best comic artist on the go at the moment.
But the problem is that it's too good.
I found myself flitting between the book at the cover, seeing which chatacter he was writing about. It was, in my opinion, distracting but the novel itslef was astounding, fingers crossed for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'Wearing a cape doesn't do much for your social life', 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story of a nerd. Chops around with the time sequence like You, his far superior follow-up, which does not play it for laughs. This doesn't live up to the insecure bravado of its title, but I had to have it in two editions when I saw the paperback cover (mysteriously, the cover of my Michael Joseph English first is not as illustrated). And why did I get the hardback in the first place? Because the follow-up, You, is my Novel of the Year. Yes folks, I have elected a Novel of the Year near as dammit in its year of publication, a personal best (my runner-up, Christopher Priest's The Islanders*, dates from 2011 - not bad either); now I want you - that's right, YOU! - to experience You for yourselves

* reviewed last year, only finished reading this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On time, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soon I Will be Invincible (Paperback)
The penguin's edition is nice, the cover mimic's a comic book and the edtion was in a good shape, the book arrived just in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyable book, I stumbled across it by accident and am now really glad I did, fun to read, the perfect break from the heavier stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soon I Will be Invincible
Soon I Will be Invincible by Austin Grossman (Paperback - 5 Jun 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews