Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the book
Shirky is very much the techno optimist in the digital media debate. I used this book for PR and Activism essay and found it useful. If your talking about digital media you have to reference Shirky. The book is very fun to read though lots of relevant interesting case studies.
Published 21 months ago by crazy lady

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TITLE. DULL BOOK.
Amazing how quickly the wizzo new thing dates, isn't it? Does anyone refer to weblogs any more? Copyrighted 2008, so this book was probably pitched to the publisher in say 2006/7. Hollywood style: It's The Tippng Point, with added internet! And so a book was created in the time honoured fashion: publicist, publisher, stuff on paper.

Not so new either is...
Published on 19 Jan 2011 by James-philip Harries


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TITLE. DULL BOOK., 19 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
Amazing how quickly the wizzo new thing dates, isn't it? Does anyone refer to weblogs any more? Copyrighted 2008, so this book was probably pitched to the publisher in say 2006/7. Hollywood style: It's The Tippng Point, with added internet! And so a book was created in the time honoured fashion: publicist, publisher, stuff on paper.

Not so new either is Shirkey's central insight. Knowledge is power, more knowledge is more power or at least more democracy. He pads this out with a lot of anecdotes, some you'll have heard before and others that are just boring.

By now (2011) we can see what Shirley missed: the spammers, trolls, single-issue fanatics, conspiracy theorists, scammers, fraudsters, phishers and above all the tendency (surprise, surprise) to make exclusive communities on the net. Just because information travels faster doesn't make it better.

I think I'm going to "defriend" any other books on the sociology of the web in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love the book, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
Shirky is very much the techno optimist in the digital media debate. I used this book for PR and Activism essay and found it useful. If your talking about digital media you have to reference Shirky. The book is very fun to read though lots of relevant interesting case studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but starting to date already?, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Dave C (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
Some interesting case studies of how technology / connectivity is changing the world. There are no great insights, but lots of observations tied together into a coherent book. And a suspenseful narrative style that is annoying if you remember the case study from contemporary reports. I feel he could have covered all his ideas in half as many words.

Like many original works, it might have been ground breaking when first released, but releasing its central idea into the public domain killed its own originality. The paperback was 2 years old when I read it, and the Internet moves so fast that it might be approaching its shelf-life already.

Still, a good light read for anyone interested in dotcoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting insight, 23 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
How is accessible, affordable, and now ubiquitous, information technology changing the way we communicate with each other? I thought I new, this book made me realise there's far more to how we are changing how we relate to each other. There's no high tech or high brow stuff in here, a simple, readable, lay-mans introduction with some suggestions of why and how things like email and chat rooms are changing the world. At first I saw a threat, but now I see opportunity. Are we in at the beginning of a far reaching and unstoppable paradigm shift?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shirky, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Ross Burns "T-Rod" (Carlisle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
This book begins with a brilliant little story which goes on to illustate the books contents perfectly. If you like what technological communications can presently can do, in a beautifully written hand, then quickly buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Online collaberation How to guide, 28 Jun 2010
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
Excellent book, the world is changing and this gives a flavour of the potential we can all jointly fulfill!

Chapter about stolen phone a bit slow but good for moral compass! The rest excellent and a really enjpoyable read!

I started my first wiki after reading this and now follow the auther on twitter to see what's new!

Very good highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An academic but still awe-inspiring, 22 Dec 2009
By 
Michael Downes (Kenilworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
For me, Clay Shirky delivers some great case studies to prove his points and backs up with useful references. I keep thinking...bell curve v long tail v power law distribution - and of course the Mermaid Parades. Change hits us all - read this and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book taking you from novice to infomed, 19 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
This is a really great book for anyone trying to understand exactly what social technology is doing to the world and how to become a part of it. It goes beyond hype and buzzwords and really describes the social effects of how the web is being used. The description of how significant lowering in transaction costs has re-defined what is possible was a key learning for me. By the end of this book you are likely to have your own informed opinion and you should be well placed to critique the opinions of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing really new, 6 Nov 2009
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
I read this a while back, after having read Grown Up Digital, and have to say it was a dissappointment. Nothing really to take away from the book, all fairly anecdotal and a bit of a re-hash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here REALLY Comes Everybody, 9 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. J. S. Robinson (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together (Paperback)
A well written revelation for all to see how everybody is now placing their personal views (unedited) for the whole world to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Here Comes Everybody: How Change Happens when People Come Together
£8.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews