Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Godin
This is another excellent book from marketing thinker Seth Godin. The book is actually a compilation drawn from Seth's blog, books and e-books written over the past few years. It is none the worse for that.

Its purpose (which it achieves admirably) is to kick start the reader into doing something to move with the enormous changes sweeping the business...
Published on 25 Aug 2006 by Phil Gott

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Generic Ideas
The book is a collection of Seth’s thoughts regarding business and marketing. The book presents a lot of marketing theories and the key is to make extraordinary things.

Delivering extraordinary products and services is not a new idea and it is easier said than done.

So you can get the book or start making awesome products and services.
Published 9 months ago by Dan Ionescu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Godin, 25 Aug 2006
This is another excellent book from marketing thinker Seth Godin. The book is actually a compilation drawn from Seth's blog, books and e-books written over the past few years. It is none the worse for that.

Its purpose (which it achieves admirably) is to kick start the reader into doing something to move with the enormous changes sweeping the business world.

There is no logical thread to the book. It consists of almost 200 short pithy chapters loosely organised in alphabetical order. This makes it easy to read at numerous short sittings which I found to be an advantage.

A few of these chapters frankly did nothing for me. The majority were interesting and an enjoyable read. A few others were deeply thought-provoking (and obviously these were the most valuable for me). I don't know but I suspect that other readers will have a similar experience but that each of us will gain from different chapters.

Don't be put off by the title of the book "Small is the new big". This is not just another small is beautiful manifesto. It covers loads of topics that should matter to just about any individual or organisation trying to build a career or a business.

All in all it is a book well worth reading, as are Seth's earlier books (particularly Permission Marketing, Unleashing the Idea Virus, Purple Cow, Survival is Not Enough and All Marketers are Liars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tidbits and insights from best-selling author Seth Godin, 16 Mar 2009
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
These collected entries that best-selling marketing author Seth Godin gleaned from his blog offer a variety of world-of-work musings, from the reasons benchmarking can boost employee performance to the nature of hard work and the challenge of change. Godin himself warns that this is not a dense, researched report, but a compilation of bright ideas, inspirations and tales from the work of business. His fairly random assortment of observations includes some that are interesting, clever and useful, though perhaps not independently book-worthy (or they would be books), and others that are a bit breezy and insubstantial. He suggests reading a few pages until you find a juicy segment and coming back another day for a new sip. getAbstract thinks that's just the right recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An abundance of "acorns" and "mustard seeds", 2 Jun 2007
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Those who now struggle to create or increase demand for whatever they offer (products, services, or a combination of both) must be able to answer three basic questions. All are important but the first two are much less important than is the third:

1. Who are you?
2. What do you do?
3. Why should I care?

As my reviews of Seth Godin's earlier published works indicate, I think he is one of the most thought-provoking business authors whose insights (especially those provided in Small Is the New Big) can provide substantial assistance to answering the aforementioned questions.

Whenever I read or re-read any of Godin's books, I view his insights as "acorns" or "mustard seeds," any of which - with proper nourishment - can be developed into substantial results such as increased recognition and a higher level of awareness, a better understanding of a given market segment, a clearer sense of how to position and then promote one's offering more effectively, or perhaps overcoming what James O'Toole has aptly characterized (in Leading Change) as "the ideology of comfort and the tyranny of custom."

Godin encourages those who read Small Is the New Big not to read it all at once. "It took eight years to write, and if you read it in one sitting, it'll give you a headache." Contrary to my normal approach, that is what I did, after checking out the table of contents. I skimmed through the first 276 pages and as I did so, ideas seemed to "fly off the page" and demand my attention. I immediately highlighted them for future reference and then continued on until arriving at "Special Bonus!! $243 Worth of Free E-Books, Reprinted Here at No Extra Charge to You, My Faithful Reader." I then carefully read each word until the narrative's conclusion on Page 310. One man's opinion, the "Special Bonus!" section provides the most valuable material in the book as Godin shares his thoughts about Web site design, generating traffic, the importance of "telling a story," the three components of "your best audience," why a home page is unnecessary (indeed counter-productive), three questions that must be answered when building each Web site page, how to overcome clutter, and three basic "truths" and four "laws" that defy conventional wisdom.

With regard to "acorns" and "mustard seeds," here are a few representative examples:

"If your target audience isn't listening, it's not their fault, it's yours." (Page 14)

"What makes you remarkable is being amazing, outstanding, surprising, elegant and noteworthy. (Page 112)

People who think like a pigeon "assume a cause-and-effect relationship that doesn't really exist. That's what a superstition is: "a compulsion to take an action that has no actual influence on the desired outcome." (Page 163)

"No one `gets' an idea unless: the first impression demands further investigation, they already understand the foundation ideas necessary to get the new idea, [and] they trust and respect the sender enough to invest the time." (Pages 249-250)

"In a world where things are viral, you're more likely to succeed with passive networking (strangers recommending you) than the old-school, active kind. In other words, make great stuff, do your homework, build your audience, and when you've got something worth talking about, people will talk about it." (Page 263)

Seth Godin constantly generates ideas of his own and has an insatiable curiosity about breakthrough ideas from others, all of whom he duly acknowledges as their source. As he would be the first to point out, however, it would be a fool's errand to attempt to take direct action on all of the insights in any of his books, especially this one. "I guarantee you'll find something that won't work for you. But I'm certain you're smart enough to recognize the stuff you've always wanted to do buried deep inside one of these riffs. And I'm betting that once you're inspired you'll actually make something happen."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Break Out of Your Stalled Thinking with Godin's Challenging Ideas!, 24 Sep 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Small is the New Big: And 183 Other Riffs, Rants and Remarkable Business Ideas (Paperback)
Small Is the New BIG is Seth Godin's attempt to translate blogging and brief magazine essays into a book without losing the immediacy of the original contexts. Unlike most books that bore you would pages of uninterrupted type that say very little, this book is broken up into 184 brief segments that challenge the world as it is . . . to become like the world as it should be: Full of respect, common sense, helpfulness, thinking responses, and meaningful work. Unlike a blog which is in reverse chronological order, these materials are alphabetical by subject -- But drat . . . I would have liked to read in reverse chronological order.

The writing is at its best in pointing out today's nonsense in word pictures, much as Scott Adams does with cartoons. Less often does Mr. Godin move onto suggesting what to do . . . other than to suggest you DO SOMETHING DIFFERENT! I was most impressed with his thoughts that making experiments and changes should have the presumption of going forward, rather than the status quo.

I'm not sure everyone is going to be persuaded that being a free agent is going to be a better life . . . until they learn how to prosper in that unaccustomed role.

For those who are less familiar with the Internet, his suggestions about which Web sites he uses . . . and for what . . . will be welcome. You cannot help but dig deeper into the blogger world after reading his enthusiasm for blogging's potential to spread ideas and make connections as a conversation.

If you're already a free agent, are prospering, and can navigate your way around the Internet, blogs and obnoxious service providers, you'll get chuckles . . . but not much practical advice.

This book is for those who are nameless cogs in large organizations and haven't broken out yet. Be Free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it’s a collection of the best of the best of his manifold blog posts, 16 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Small is the New Big: And 183 Other Riffs, Rants and Remarkable Business Ideas (Paperback)
Small is the New Big is something of an anomaly, as it’s one of the few Seth Godin books which doesn’t focus on a single topic – instead, it’s a collection of the best of the best of his manifold blog posts, and the topics are as varied as the lengths of the posts, some of which are only a paragraph long.

Godin himself warns you not to read this from cover to cover because that’s now how he imagined you reading it, but there’s no reason why you couldn’t if you had a long flight and had nothing better to do – the subject matter is riveting, but there’s still a lot to take in and so you might not manage it all in one go. There’s no reason why you shouldn’t try, though – as always, Godin’s advice is sound and easy to apply to your own business, and the great thing about his converted blog articles is that they’re often written on location when a particular brand or product has inspired him.

Take the manufacturers of marshmallow fluff’s idea of creating a recipe for fluffernutters, for example – for those of you who live in the UK like myself, who might not be familiar with the concept, it’s simply a sandwich made with a mixture of marshmallow fluff and peanut butter, which is apparently delicious. Godin explains that the creation of this recipe gave people a valid reason for always keeping marshmallow fluff in their cupboards, increasing sales in the process.

Perhaps I’m biased because I first read this when I was in the waiting room of the BBC studios in London, getting ready to make my TV debut on Pointless, the quiz show. I know I shouldn’t be biased by when I first read it, but I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An abundance of "acorns" and "mustard seeds", 21 Sep 2007
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Small is the New Big: And 183 Other Riffs, Rants and Remarkable Business Ideas (Paperback)
Those who now struggle to create or increase demand for whatever they offer (products, services, or a combination of both) must be able to answer three basic questions. All are important but the first two are much less important than is the third:

1. Who are you?
2. What do you do?
3. Why should I care?

As my reviews of Seth Godin's earlier published works indicate, I think he is one of the most thought-provoking business authors whose insights (especially those provided in Small Is the New Big) can provide substantial assistance to answering the aforementioned questions.

Whenever I read or re-read any of Godin's books, I view his insights as "acorns" or "mustard seeds," any of which - with proper nourishment - can be developed into substantial results such as increased recognition and a higher level of awareness, a better understanding of a given market segment, a clearer sense of how to position and then promote one's offering more effectively, or perhaps overcoming what James O'Toole has aptly characterized (in Leading Change) as "the ideology of comfort and the tyranny of custom."

Godin encourages those who read Small Is the New Big not to read it all at once. "It took eight years to write, and if you read it in one sitting, it'll give you a headache." Contrary to my normal approach, that is what I did, after checking out the table of contents. I skimmed through the first 276 pages and as I did so, ideas seemed to "fly off the page" and demand my attention. I immediately highlighted them for future reference and then continued on until arriving at "Special Bonus!! $243 Worth of Free E-Books, Reprinted Here at No Extra Charge to You, My Faithful Reader." I then carefully read each word until the narrative's conclusion on Page 310. One man's opinion, the "Special Bonus!" section provides the most valuable material in the book as Godin shares his thoughts about Web site design, generating traffic, the importance of "telling a story," the three components of "your best audience," why a home page is unnecessary (indeed counter-productive), three questions that must be answered when building each Web site page, how to overcome clutter, and three basic "truths" and four "laws" that defy conventional wisdom.

With regard to "acorns" and "mustard seeds," here are a few representative examples:

"If your target audience isn't listening, it's not their fault, it's yours." (Page 14)

"What makes you remarkable is being amazing, outstanding, surprising, elegant and noteworthy."
(Page 112)

People who think like a pigeon "assume a cause-and-effect relationship that doesn't really exist. That's what a superstition is: a compulsion to take an action that has no actual influence on the desired outcome." (Page 163)

"No one 'gets' an idea unless: the first impression demands further investigation, they already understand the foundation ideas necessary to get the new idea, [and] they trust and respect the sender enough to invest the time." (Pages 249-250)

"In a world where things are viral, you're more likely to succeed with passive networking (strangers recommending you) than the old-school, active kind. In other words, make great stuff, do your homework, build your audience, and when you've got something worth talking about, people will talk about it." (Page 263)

Seth Godin constantly generates ideas of his own and has an insatiable curiosity about breakthrough ideas from others, all of whom he duly acknowledges as their source. As he would be the first to point out, however, it would be a fool's errand to attempt to take direct action on all of the insights in any of his books, especially this one. "I guarantee you'll find something that won't work for you. But I'm certain you're smart enough to recognize the stuff you've always wanted to do buried deep inside one of these riffs. And I'm betting that once you're inspired you'll actually make something happen."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, a MUST for everyone!, 1 Sep 2009
This review is from: Small is the New Big: And 183 Other Riffs, Rants and Remarkable Business Ideas (Paperback)
This is an outstanding, insightful, philosophical-yet-practical, ground breaking book! One of the best from Seth Godin, his special view of the world and constant challenge of the status quo make him a remarkable business thinker. His advice has given me ideas that I have not seen from any European author or business guru.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some Generic Ideas, 26 Mar 2014
The book is a collection of Seth’s thoughts regarding business and marketing. The book presents a lot of marketing theories and the key is to make extraordinary things.

Delivering extraordinary products and services is not a new idea and it is easier said than done.

So you can get the book or start making awesome products and services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational read, 18 May 2010
By 
S. Pashley "Simeon" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small is the New Big: And 183 Other Riffs, Rants and Remarkable Business Ideas (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading through the myriad of short stories in this book and I have learned a lot from it. It has changed me perspective on a lot of aspects of business and truly opened my eyes to how things should be in the 21st century.

The series of short stories make this easily digestible and great for filling the odd moment or too.

A highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sharp writing but ultimately not very revelatory, 15 Feb 2010
This review is from: Small is the New Big: And 183 Other Riffs, Rants and Remarkable Business Ideas (Paperback)
A book that tries to pass comment on recent trends and take a stab at the ways in which the world is moving. Godin writes well and has some good ideas. I must say, howeve,r that I was a little disappointed. The book has many ideas and a few compelling ideas, but not as many as I had expected.

I recommend Daniel H. Pink's A Whole New Mind for a better example of this future-focused writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Small is the New Big: And 183 Other Riffs, Rants and Remarkable Business Ideas
£7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews