Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very welcome return to Gino And Magozzi
I received my copy from Michael Joseph through Nudge and rated it 4.5 stars.

Grace MacBride is on an extended sailing trip with retired FBI agent John Smith when he is attacked in the middle of the night while they are in the Florida Keys. And this isn't a random attack; the two men Grace is forced to shoot and kill had a photo of John on them. Meanwhile in...
Published 19 months ago by Marleen

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...
As a big PJ Tracy fan, I have to say that this book was a let down compared to the other books in the series.

The book felt incredibly short with no real twists or turns but a very simple plot that was obvious from a mile away. Two Evils lacked the suspense and tension that was clearly evident in the earlier books and in the end it felt like a half-hearted...
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very welcome return to Gino And Magozzi, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Marleen (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Two Evils (Hardcover)
I received my copy from Michael Joseph through Nudge and rated it 4.5 stars.

Grace MacBride is on an extended sailing trip with retired FBI agent John Smith when he is attacked in the middle of the night while they are in the Florida Keys. And this isn't a random attack; the two men Grace is forced to shoot and kill had a photo of John on them. Meanwhile in Minneapolis a missing Native American teenage girl is found with her throat slashed in a parking lot. The four young girls who went missing with her are found, alive, when the police stumble on the bodies of two Somali men during a house to house investigation. And while the reader knows who shot those men, the investigators have no idea. Just as they have no idea why a young man, in the later stages of cancer, would have ended up in a fatal gunfight with two other Somali men. And when they find a room full of heavy duty weapons and explosives in the house in front of which the three men died, the questions only increase, as does the sense of panic. Something big is about to go down in just a few days time but what it might be is just as unclear as how it is connected to further incidents.

This is a book with a lot of apparently unconnected story-lines, and for a long time it is hard to figure out what exactly is going on. In fact, there is so much happening and so many characters and locations are involved that this is a thriller with a very long build-up. This doesn't mean this book has a boring or slow start though; the action kicks off on the very first page and doesn't let up until the last one. What is unclear though is how everything that is taking place is connected. Any reader of thrillers will realise from the start that all the, apparently random, scenes have to fit together in some way but they will have to be patient if they want to know exactly how or why. Having said that, there were one or two developments I figured out before the investigators in the story came to the same conclusion, but only by a few pages and with the benefit of the multiple perspectives this story is told from.

The plot in this book is, as stated above, convoluted. It is also original and scarily plausible. I can't say more about it without having to resort to spoilers, but I will say that if authors can come up with ideas like this than others can as well, and that is a frightening thought.

This is the sixth book in a series and although it can easily be read as a stand-alone story I think readers would benefit from having read the previous titles first, especially when it comes to fully understanding and appreciating the various returning characters. Personally I was delighted to have the opportunity to spend some time with Gino, Magozzi and the Monkeywrench crew again; it had been too long.

The mother-daughter team that is P.J. Tracy writes good mystery-thrillers with story-lines that are intelligent and scary as well as quirky characters that the reader will become attached to. The writing is tight yet smooth. The balance between tension, action and clever - and at times funny - dialogue is just right. Yes, the story is fast-paced but this doesn't come at the expense of character development or back-ground information. The reader is, at all times, given all the information they need in order to be truly involved in the story and that makes for a more rewarding reading experience. And I always love a book that has one last revelation just when the reader thinks the story is over and all the questions have been answered.

This is a well-plotted and intricate thriller with a chilling story-line and interesting characters; a must read for all fans of intelligent page-turners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want To Read?, 18 Jan 2013
This review is from: Two Evils (Hardcover)
TWO EVILS - P.J.TRACY

I'm no stranger to P.J.Tracy, Grace MacBride and the Monkeywrench crew so I kind of knew what to expect with this and I wasn't disappointed. The book gets off to a rollicking start, two dead bodies already by page 6 and that's just for starters.
It's an easy read in many respects, undemanding and a paradoxical predictability for you don't know what's going to happen as the plot unfolds but you know the direction its going to take. There will be a big part played by computers, Grace and the gang will be placed in situations of extreme danger and the cops and the FBI will try and sort things out. It's a bit like the Famous Five for grown ups but the lashings aren't ginger beer........
I think that one of the dangers of two people writing the same book is you get double the plot complexity and characterisations so you have to stay on top of this to keep hold of the unravelling of exactly what's going on. I don't want this to be a spoiler so I'll say no more.
It's an easy, absorbing read; it doesn't matter if you're unfamiliar with this series of books. Whilst the characters have quirks aplenty they lack the depth of say a Tony Hill or a Harry Hole but if you enjoy a good ole crime yarn then you'll enjoy this.
If you're looking for more hen go elsewhere, there's the occasional attempt at social commentary but for me it never quite works. And there's no need for it to this is a story that works and is simply a book to be enjoyed. End of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly straightforward, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Evils (Kindle Edition)
At the end of the previous book in this series Grace MacBride sailed away with ex-FBI agent John Smith. Three months later she is relaxed and recovered, with a significant reduction in her paranoia, until their boat is boarded at night by two men who intend to kill John. Meanwhile, Gino and Magozzi and the rest of the Monkeewrench team are involved in the aftermath of two killings in the city and their possible connection with John Smith.

This is a book about the American War on Terror and domestic terrorism. It isn't very sophisticated in its politics and the bad guys (all Muslims) are not personified in any way - the action and the characterisation lies solely with those who oppose them, in whatever way. This made me, and might make a British reader who also doesn't share the admiration for the American military that it is shown in this book, a little uncomfortable. The moral dilemma that is present here is about whether it is acceptable to use unlawful methods to oppose terrorists and not in any way about the aims, objectives or feelings of the terrorists themselves.

The characterisation of the law enforcement officers and the Monkeewrench team is beautifully done. New characters are added and existing characters develop. The Grace/Magozzi relationship becomes even more complicated, Gino displays a range of interesting phobias, more hints are given about a possible future for Harley and Annie, and some new Native American characters and ex-soldiers become part of the story. You don't have to have read earlier books about the same characters but if you have it adds depth to your reading and enjoyment.

I found the narrative of this book very straightforward and I was looking for a twist which never came (the revelation in the epilogue was very well signposted and shouldn't have come as a surprise to any reader). It was a bit short on the tension which has been a great part of the author(s)' previous books - especially Dead Run which I think has been the most gripping to date. The best part of the book by far is the characterisation and the interaction between people, and also the writing style which is engaging. I did laugh a bit and I did cry at one point too.

This is an engaging suspense novel which is enjoyable to read. It doesn't examine its subject in too much depth and the themes portrayed are not very nuanced. It is, however, written well and has lots of interesting characters and situations. I look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Evils (Kindle Edition)
As a big PJ Tracy fan, I have to say that this book was a let down compared to the other books in the series.

The book felt incredibly short with no real twists or turns but a very simple plot that was obvious from a mile away. Two Evils lacked the suspense and tension that was clearly evident in the earlier books and in the end it felt like a half-hearted effort.

All of the main characters were involved but there was no real character development but rather a rehash of the information a reader would already know if they read any of the previous novels. Whilst I can appreciate that introducing a character to a new reader is necessary to provide some sort of back story, it quickly became frustrating.

As much as I was looking forward to this entry into the series, the only word that can describe it is disappointing. I was annoyed to find out that it was released in mid-2012 in the US and for whatever reason, took an extra six months to be released in the UK.

Without going into a lot of depth about the plot (this is covered pretty well in other reviews), I would recommend that anyone reading a PJ Tracy book for the first time go look for one of the earlier entries in the series (Play to Kill is a great book). For others that have read the other books in the series, don't expect a great out of this entry. It feels like the authors just called this one in...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars two evols by p j tracy, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Evils (Hardcover)
this must rate as one of the best books i've read, kept me on edge the whole story, roll on the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars all the faourites, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Evils (Kindle Edition)
all my favourite characters turned up - clever twisted plot but ending felt odd- rushed as if they ran out of time or ran out of ideas. still enjoyed it - funny clever thought provoking at times although often stereo typed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Evils - PJ Tracy, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Evils (Kindle Edition)
Too long to wait for each new book - but never a disappointment when they arrive. Hurry the next one along please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Evils, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Evils (Kindle Edition)
Two Evils - great book - really enjoyed it.Two Evils is one of the best books I've read for a while. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loli, 2 Feb 2013
This review is from: Two Evils (Kindle Edition)
Loved it. Enjoyed all the grace mcbride series. Couldn't wait to pick it up at night and have a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading..., 31 Jan 2013
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Two Evils (Hardcover)
In Two Evils, when Native American girls are kidnapped from the reservation on which they live, there seems to be no correlation between them and Grace McBride, a maverick computer analyst, and John Smith a retired FBI agent, who are on board a small boat in the Florida Keys, but with great skill the authors, successfully merge all the various strands of this crime story into a believable and tense narrative. Gino and Magozzi, are the two Minneapolis homicide detectives who feature strongly in the Monkeewrench series, and it is clear that their relationship is a big part of the story and their interaction with each other is one of brotherhood forged by adversity. When they are faced with a series of unexplained execution like killings in an area known as `Little Mogadishu', they discover that a complicated and malevolent conspiracy is in progress.
Despite Two Evils being the sixth book in the progressive series of crime thrillers known as `Monkeewrench', it is remarkably easy to follow, although I guess that some of the finer points of the continuing story are missed, if like me you are a newcomer to this mother and daughter writing combination. Without giving away any elements of the plot which is rich and varied, there is a degree of spirituality from the Native American characters which I found interesting, as was the scenic background around Elbow Lake where some of the later action takes place. If I have any criticism of the book it is that the show down finale, when it came seemed more of a damp squib, rather that the trumpet blast I had been expecting, but overall, I thought that the book was well worth reading, and I am now inspired to start at the beginning of the series to see where Monkeewrench began and how it has evolved over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Evils
Two Evils by P. J. Tracy (Paperback - 1 Aug 2013)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews