Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Idyllic
This is the last of the Larkin Chronicles and has a real sense of poignancy about it. In a more gentle way it reminds me of Hardy's mourning for the end of an era in his Wessex novels. Here Pop has to deal with an influx of Teddy boys who want to ruin the farm. Although victorious you feel that he knows that it is only a temporary measure and the golden days of summer...
Published on 31 Dec. 2000 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ode to an old vanishing world
Bates uses his fantastic language in this fourth novel about Pop Larkin and his eccentric family in the Kentish countryside. It has it's funny moments thanks to his extraordinary word choices and descriptions of things. But unfortunately the storyline in this fourth book is much weaker than the previous ones.
It's a sentimental ode to an England that is disappearing...
Published on 17 Nov. 2009 by Luthien Arnatuile


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Idyllic, 31 Dec. 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the last of the Larkin Chronicles and has a real sense of poignancy about it. In a more gentle way it reminds me of Hardy's mourning for the end of an era in his Wessex novels. Here Pop has to deal with an influx of Teddy boys who want to ruin the farm. Although victorious you feel that he knows that it is only a temporary measure and the golden days of summer cannot last forever. A sensitive and gently funny book about the end of a dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ode to an old vanishing world, 17 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Oh! to be in England (Paperback)
Bates uses his fantastic language in this fourth novel about Pop Larkin and his eccentric family in the Kentish countryside. It has it's funny moments thanks to his extraordinary word choices and descriptions of things. But unfortunately the storyline in this fourth book is much weaker than the previous ones.
It's a sentimental ode to an England that is disappearing. In a way the book resembles his short story collections more than a novel since he this time does not have a real thread throughout the book and seems to have had lots of different ideas for it. It starts with a story on how Pop decides on humiliating an arrogant Captain. But that story has nothing to do with the rest of the book. Then there is violence in form of modern youths deciding to pick on old-fashioned villagers and customs. One does not want things to really go THAT dark in a Pop Larkin novel where everything is always so wild, funny and cozy. What the book mostly is about though is the christening of Pop's youngest son, Oscar who has turned 3 years old and that of his two month old grandson, Blenheim. All the Larkin children decide to get christened at the same time as "the babies" and a character from book two, Mademoiselle Dupont, shows up in this novel as a godmother. But Bates does not really follow up on her character that well. He concentrates more on the fact that Ma has started to paint nudes, especially of daughter Mariette who has just become a mother, and he also deals a lot with the fact that the now 14-year old Primrose Larkin, tries to seduce the interim priest in the parish.
Can I recommend the book? Yes, because I think that the fifth and final novel will much build on this one and that is how I felt when I read this book: It's a book one must get through to understand and enjoy the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh! To Be In England, 4 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh! to be in England (Hardcover)
If you enjoy watching Darling Buds of May, then have a read of the books. They are brilliant. The books are as funny and as good as the series. At first I thought there was just three books, and quite recently I found there is another two books written. This one Oh! To Be In England is the fourth one in the series. Of course the stories are about Ma and Pop Larkin and what goes on in and around the family and friends. Reading these books is a great way to escape from normal day to day life now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a lovely book, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. James Pilgrim "Jimbo" (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We had a hard copy of this but as it was one of our favourites, we wanted it on our Kindle Paperwhite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good pleased ( i will not write words that I do not want to write even to make it 17 words)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars H. E. Bates, 11 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book easy to read would recomend it a follow on from the Darling Buds of May or one of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars H.E.Bates, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh! to be in England (Paperback)
As in other reviews of H.E.Bates work, love it takes one back to a world where people mattered more than wealth, when manners made man not what was in their bank accounts, Pa Larkin is such a lovable rogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bates, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh! to be in England (Paperback)
A classic - England protrayed in the microcosm of Kent - whether it is made in Kent or Kentish made either way the result is quintessentially English
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of nostalgia an enjoyable read. As with his other books Bates paints a picture in words of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a present for my mum, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oh! to be in England (Hardcover)
she's very happy with this book, it looks good in her bookshelf and it will last a long time too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oh! to be in England
Oh! to be in England by H.E. Bates (Paperback - 30 Nov. 2006)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews