Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Larkin Classic
Another fantastic Larkin tale (this being the last of the "Pop Larkin Chronicles). The whole series of Larkins / Darling Buds stories are a must & this one is no exception. This one differs the most from the TV adaptation but is probably richer for it - Mr Candy the vicar & the blossoming Primrose's relationship is on the rise, under the watchful eye of Ma Larkin...
Published on 1 July 2007 by DavyA

versus
4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars From comedy to soft porn in this final Pop Larkin book
This is the final novel of the Pop Larkin series and to me this book was a great disappointment. I realise that Herbert E Bates was almost 70 years old when he wrote this book. He had seen two World Wars and had fought in the second one of the two. He had seen an old England disappear where the privileged classes had to leave their country homes and sell them to nouveau...
Published on 16 Nov 2009 by Luthien Arnatuile


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Larkin Classic, 1 July 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Another fantastic Larkin tale (this being the last of the "Pop Larkin Chronicles). The whole series of Larkins / Darling Buds stories are a must & this one is no exception. This one differs the most from the TV adaptation but is probably richer for it - Mr Candy the vicar & the blossoming Primrose's relationship is on the rise, under the watchful eye of Ma Larkin.
Although this is, at times, the most sombre of all the Larkin tales (to say why might spoil the read !), it still has all the essential Larkin ingredients - family, friends, bawdy high jinks & a touch of sauce - brilliant in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These tales are ideal for any time you are feeling low they bring a warm smile to ones heart and I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars H.E.Bates, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little of What You Fancy (Paperback)
Good read, rediscovered all the Larkins again after many years away from them, do not disappoint, everyone should read them at least once in their lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The end of an era, 9 Aug 2014
By 
TimM (Stoke-on-Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bates returns to basics, socially inept male seduced by teenage daughter, an interfering Man from The Ministry, but adds a new dimension with Pop laid low by illness. An entertaining and appropriate way to end the Larkin era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't expecting this story line as I have enjoyed the TV series, 17 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wasn't expecting this story line as I have enjoyed the TV series. But as usual a good read and the larkins deal with life in their usal manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless H E Bates., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic Larkin tale. Reading it again was like visiting an old friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good pleased ( i will not write words that I do not want to write even to make it 17 words)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Of What You Fancy, 16 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is the fifth and last book in the series about the Larkins (Darling Buds of May). There is a six or seven year gap from the fourth book. The story is about Pop, he as had an heart attack and is bed ridden for a while. He cannot indulge in his favourite things in life, eating, drinking and of course the thing that goes on between two people. All this effects him, badly. There is a nurse who comes to look after him as Ma is worn out. This nurse is one of the old school, under her control Pop is not allowed to do anything. Ma thinks that food and drink are the things that Pop needs to 'mend'. In the end Ma cannot take this nurse no more and they end up having words, then Pop gets so annoyed with the nurse and he gets angry, which Ma thinks that is what Pop needs, but unfortunately Pop suffers another heart attack. This time after Ma had been talking with Angela Snow, it was Angela who brought in in a young seductive nurse. Of course the new nurse does help Pop to the road of recovery, but he is still suffering from depression. After a while Pop is allowed out of bed and to walk around the bedroom and go to the bathroom on his own. But during all the time that Pop is layed up Edith Pilchester had not been to see him, so Ma gets in touch with her and arranges for a visit. It was during that visit that there is a discussion of the proposed tunnel from England to France. (All this is in the early seventies.) The road to the tunnel is going to go through the Larkins home. That's not on for Ma and Pop, and it's this that gives Pop the 'medicine' to recover. As to what happens, buy the book and the other four, best relaxing read you can get and have a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darling Buds, 19 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: A Little of What You Fancy (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book very much even though i was expecting it to be slightly different from the TV series and it wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars From comedy to soft porn in this final Pop Larkin book, 16 Nov 2009
This review is from: A Little of What You Fancy (Paperback)
This is the final novel of the Pop Larkin series and to me this book was a great disappointment. I realise that Herbert E Bates was almost 70 years old when he wrote this book. He had seen two World Wars and had fought in the second one of the two. He had seen an old England disappear where the privileged classes had to leave their country homes and sell them to nouveau rich from London. The upper classes walking around in rags and not being able to make ends meet. He had seen old traditions fly out the window, the countryside that he so much loved, change in more ways than one. It is an old man that writes this book. My first thought was a dirty old man with sexual fantasies beyond what most people "dream of". With his last book I am sure he wanted to show what excessive eating and drinking will lead to. And he also wanted to point out the liberal sexual views that was by then flourishing. But, does this make good, nice, cozy reading?
When I read the first book I was shocked at the eccentric ways of the Larkin family. But it was something one could laugh at and say was in a way funny. This final book is not funny. It is not cozy. It is not a book I would let my children pick up to read when teenagers and it is definitely not a book for a person with Victorian values or a prude.
The book starts out with Ma and Pop Larkin having sex twice drinking champagne mixed with brandy in between, one early morning in July. The couple now being in their 40s, one wonders at Pop's stamina and not even being on Viagra. A 70-year-old author's dream perhaps? When they are ready to go for it a third time, Pop gets a heart attack. And for the better part of the book we get to read the depressing thoughts of his as he recovers slowly in his bedroom at home. He is put on a diet and can not touch alcohol and to his great sorrow he can not even get "aroused" by all his beautiful female visitors and his nurse that is a beauty beyond words. When we are not reading about him we read about Primrose, his now about 20-year-old daughter, trying to seduce the vicar and finally succeeding. And intermixed with all this is the talk and discussion about the Pill. The book is a very sad finale to the series. Pop survives and without a doubt will go back to his drinking, excessive eating and his very active sex life with his wife and various other female creatures that find him irrisistable. But when I turn the last page that declares that Primrose is pregnant out of wedlock with the vicar that is anti-Pill, then I say good riddence. Thank heaves there is no sequel. The book is nothing but soft porn and I would not have touched it, had I not felt the need for conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Little of What You Fancy
A Little of What You Fancy by H.E. Bates (Paperback - 30 Nov 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews