Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very unusual love story
I came across Memories Of My Melancholy Whores in the library and given that it is relatively slight, just over 100 pages thought I'd give this a crack at finally losing my Marquez virginity.

The novel concerns an elderly journalist, unnamed throughout the novel who has only ever had sex with whores. On his 90th birthday he decides that what he most wants, as a...
Published 11 months ago by R. A. Davison

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
A reviewer mentions that sex is a consolation for not having love, which could be applied to the conclusion of this book, if weren't for the fact that the protagonist never receives love from his muse, as she is never awake and consequently never has sex with her either. There is always a possibility when one reads a book that has been translated, that some of the...
Published on 21 Jan 2006 by Thomas Lindup


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In love, at last, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Luc REYNAERT (Beernem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memories of My Melancholy Whores (Paperback)
In this short novel, G.G. Màrquez turns to one of his favorite places: the brothel.
His main character `slept in the red-light district two or three times a week, and with such a variety of companions that (he) was twice crowned client of the year. Whores left him no time to be married and sex was the consolation you have when you can't have love.'

To celebrate his 90th birthday he pays himself the luxury of a libertine night with a nymphet, an adolescent virgin girl. But, as in Y. Kawabata's novel `The House of the Sleeping Beauties' (an excerpt serves as motto for this novel), the relationship remains platonic.

One of the main characters in his book `Love in the time of cholera' states that `nothing in the world is more difficult than love.'
But here, the miracle happens, `the first love of my life at the age of ninety.' And even more miraculously, the adolescent girl is `head on heels in love with him.' (!)
At long last, one of G.G. Màrquez's heroes is `condemned to die of happy love' and not in love's torments.

In his characteristic ironic style, G.G. Màrquez's turns one of his obsessions into a spiritual relationship which leaves his hero `radiant'.
Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A magical tale hewn out of a preposterous story line, 9 Dec 2008
By 
Trevor Coote "Trevor Coote" (Tahiti, French Polynesia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The latest fare from the master story-teller is a magical tale hewn out of a preposterous and unsavoury story line. A bachelor journalist whose failure to find love has instead compensated himself with a lifelong frequenting of local brothels. Starkly aware that the end is close he decides on a night of love with an adolescent virgin for a ninetieth birthday treat. When he turns to a local madam to provide for him she sends a beautiful young girl who is so exhausted from work that she passes all her time in slumber. Lusciously and sensuously descriptive of the smells and sounds of the steamy Caribbean coast, Memories of My Melancholy Whores is a poignant and humorous meditation on our desperate need to experience love at least once before we are recycled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A short review, 16 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Memories of My Melancholy Whores (Paperback)
I was expecting a little more from Marquez, after ten years of no books from him and then this, he may be a little rusty but it is still a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CHRONICLE OF A DECLINE FORETOLD, 30 Dec 2006
By 
Scribbler (Ashford, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
What a disappointment. As others have said, this is second-rate Marquez and it isn't at all clear why he bothered to write it: it is thin, dull and lifeless. The set-up is wholly unbelievable, and it's sad to remember that this is the man who wrote one of the greatest love stories of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tales of a dirty old man, 28 Jun 2007
By 
Finding beauty and romance in child prostitution is unforgivable, no matter how deceptively a writer might frame it. In Memories of My Melancholy Whores, GGM returns to a theme which he seemingly cannot leave alone, that of paedophilia. As in Of Love and Other Demons, the subject matter is the love between an adult and a child. In the case of this book, the child is 14 years old and is forced into prostitution by economic hardship. Repulsion is the only word I can use to describe what I felt when I read this book.
Do none of the other readers who have waxed lyrical about this book see this, or has child prostitution and paedophilia become OK amongst the intelligensia????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memories of My Melancholy Whores
Memories of My Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Paperback - 2 Aug 2007)
Used & New from: 4.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews