Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a biography but a work of theology
Many biographies give excellent and full details of the Prophet's life. This book is different. Tariq Ramadan looks at how the Prophet dealt with unbelievers, backsliding Muslims, Jews and Christians, war captives, women etc, and what he said about them. From this he draws out universal lessons regarding how Muslims should conduct themselves. The book is short, easy to...
Published on 27 Aug 2007 by M. Amin

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting theology on Muhammad and Islam.
Having studied Islam at university, I bought a number of books about Islam and Islamic thought and culture, and this is one of the books I bought. Some of the books have been negative in nature, often by Muslim and Arab writers, but this book by Mr Ramadan is a positive book about Muhammad and what he means to Islam, and perhaps to the wider world.

It isn't so...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by T. S. C.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a biography but a work of theology, 27 Aug 2007
By 
M. Amin (Manchester, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many biographies give excellent and full details of the Prophet's life. This book is different. Tariq Ramadan looks at how the Prophet dealt with unbelievers, backsliding Muslims, Jews and Christians, war captives, women etc, and what he said about them. From this he draws out universal lessons regarding how Muslims should conduct themselves. The book is short, easy to read and accessible without any past knowledge of Islam. I would recommend it to Muslims and non-Muslims alike as an exposition of what the Prophet believed and practiced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting theology on Muhammad and Islam., 13 Mar 2012
By 
T. S. C. (Somewhere in NW England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad (Paperback)
Having studied Islam at university, I bought a number of books about Islam and Islamic thought and culture, and this is one of the books I bought. Some of the books have been negative in nature, often by Muslim and Arab writers, but this book by Mr Ramadan is a positive book about Muhammad and what he means to Islam, and perhaps to the wider world.

It isn't so much the history of Muhammad but more the understanding of Muhammad's life and teachings and the theology and meanings that come from Muhammad's life, teachings and experience. However, I enjoyed reading it and I think it would be valuable for non-Muslims like myself as well as Muslims. I do get a little tired of the constant stream of bad press Islam gets and feel that even if there are negative aspects to Islamic culture and society, we need someone to look at it positively, for balance. Not every Muslim is a terrorist anymore than any Christian or Buddhist or Orthodox Jew.

As a Christian, I don't have to believe in Islam or Judaism or Buddhism, or anything other than Christianity; I am a Christian after all. However, I think I can respect another person's belief and their right to be whatever they want to be and whatever they want to believe in; if I respect a Muslim, he or she might respect me as a Christian. If we want to live in a world of tolerance, we have to learn to be tolerant. Religion should be summed up in four letters: L O V E!

If I have one criticism of the book, it is that it is often uncritical of certain things that are purported to have happened in the development of Islam, and Islamic theology and Islamic culture. No culture is perfect, West or East, Islamic or Christian; there are warmongers and extremists on all sides. Perhaps the moderates, the true believers in a merciful and compassionate and loving God, who truly wants the best for all of us, can claim back some of the territory we so often cede to the haters? I pray for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad (Paperback)
This was the first ever biography I had read about the Prophet (pbuh) and as someone who is looking deeply into Islam and, iA will convert, I have gotten much out of it.

Tariq Ramadan writes clearly and in "layman's" terms so anyone whether Muslim or non-Muslim can understand the history of the beloved Prophet (pbuh) from his beginnings up until his passing and beyond.

This book has given me a solid foundation upon which to research and learn more about the beautiful and sadly misunderstood Way of Life that is Islam.

I look forward to reading more of Tariq Ramadan's work, may Allah reward him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad (Paperback)
I was in search of a book about the Prophet Muhammad pbuh that was concise and written in a way that would engage me from start to finish and I was happy to have been recommended The Messenger by a friend. Tariq Ramadan did not disappoint, it was a pleasure to have learnt things about the Prophet that I had no idea about, like how he was depressed during the period of silence when revelations ceased for up to 2 years.

Ramadan's book was a breath of fresh air, for once I had come across a book stressing how the Prophet was just like us, he got sick like us, he worked for a living like us, he fell in love like us, he hoped for children like us, he was bereft of people he had loved all his life just like ordinary human beings. Ramadan reminds us that it was because of his duty to set an example to the people as a Messenger, that he encouraged us to struggle in the way of righteousness

An exceptional read suitable for even complete beginners in learning about Islam, if offers both a historical and spiritual insight into the life of an exceptional man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best biography of prophet muhammad in the english language, 24 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. R. Memon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm always on the lookout for new material about the final messenger.

This book is deliberately short and focusses on key incidents or situations affecting the prophet and his community, from his birth and to his death. The factual detail will be well known to readers of standard biographies e.g. Adil Salahi's excellent book from the Islmaic Foundation. But Ramadan's prose adds to the historical facts by bringing out the extraordinary humanity and humility of the man. His portrait is of a deeply committed and passionate person who came from tragic circumstances but yet went on to change world history without becoming embittered or resentful.

Ramadan's writing can be a little philosophical or spiritual at times but he explains how the story of Muhammad has lessons for 21st century citizens. There is much to emulate in our own lives and educate both muslims and non-mulsims about misperceptions of Islam.

The ending of the book describing the prophet's last and dying days is particularly moving. I was left to cry and to follow his high example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Guide, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad (Paperback)
Tariq Ramadan shows, with the simplicity of knowledge, the meanings within the life of the Prophet Muhammad. The contents, are not only of historical value but are, also a spiritual guide for today's world. The reader will be in debt to a man of knowledge and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much needed biography, 29 July 2007
By 
Biographies on the Prophet Muhammad are certainly not short in supply. So what can have prompted Prof Ramadan to pen another? Well frankly this biography is a bit different in that its purpose is not to present a meticulous retelling of the life of the Last Prophet, but actually to give an insight into certain acpects from his life. This the author does in a remarkably lucid and highly apprecative way. So for those searching for a indepth retelling should look elsewhere, however for those seeking deeper spiritual and moralistic viewpoint into aspects, including those sometimes seen as controversial from the Prophets life, then this book is for you. Read it, and see the Prophet Muhammad as Muslims see him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad (Paperback)
Ramdan manages to encapsulate history, philosophy, peace and compassion for the prophet in a brilliantly written book. His ability to draw upon the life of the prophet and extrapolate the teachings and experiences into modern day lessons enables the reader to share the passion, respect and love for which the prophet stood for. A fantastic read for anyone who has a limited understanding of Islam and the prophet. A recommended read for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Being person of faith is walking the talk, 22 Jan 2010
By 
R. C. ten Veen "peace & justice" (Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoy Prof. Tariq Ramadan's writing style, more academic than casual. It's also good to read the kind of book which reminds readers (esp. Muslims) that considering yourself a person of faith is about walking the talk, about trying more to live like the prophet, than defending his image in ways contrary to the example he set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery, a light yet enjoyable read., 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad (Paperback)
Fast delivery, condition exactly as described.
Content of the book is quick, light and easy to follow with insightful lessons/reflections on certain well-known aspects from the life of Muhammad peace be upon him. A biography that has been delivered in a different style for those who are looking to understand the moral aspects of the last Messenger's life. If you are looking for a more of a factual, to-the-point type of biography then this isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad
The Messenger: The Meanings of the Life of Muhammad by Tariq Ramadan (Paperback - 28 Feb 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews