Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, although not completely correct.
I bought this book because I am a massive word geek and I am currently running a blog about strange and obscure words. It's a fascinating read, however I was disappointed to find several mistakes. One of the Welsh words mentioned (lledorweddle) should be 'lledorwedd' (the -le means nothing whatsoever), while the full spelling of Llanfair PG (you know the one) was...
Published on 21 July 2012 by Jóna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars fun
Fun and interesting concept, this book is basically a dictionary of funny expressions from all over the world, nota book to be read from cover to cover, better to just flick through from time to time.
Published 16 months ago by Serena Joy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, although not completely correct., 21 July 2012
This review is from: I Never Knew There Was a Word For It (Paperback)
I bought this book because I am a massive word geek and I am currently running a blog about strange and obscure words. It's a fascinating read, however I was disappointed to find several mistakes. One of the Welsh words mentioned (lledorweddle) should be 'lledorwedd' (the -le means nothing whatsoever), while the full spelling of Llanfair PG (you know the one) was incorrect. These, along with a few other examples, made me wonder how many other words were incorrect throughout the book. But maybe my pedantry stems from the fact that I am a Linguistics graduate, and so I don't think anyone should be put off buying the book if they are a little interested in strange words.

It is a very humorous book and a wonderful insight into other cultures. Despite its flaws, I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars curious insight to other languages and cultures, 6 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Never Knew There Was a Word For It (Paperback)
Containing for example the Somali word "guree" meaning to make room for a person to sit on a loaded camel, of which in that particular list there are 13 words relating to camels and their usage. Or how about the Albanian word "dad" meaning wet-nurse or babysitter or the Georgian "mama" which means father, or "tzompantli" from Aztec meaning a rack of skulls. The lists of words are arranged by theme, and some of the choices in the book are very funny. Its pretty long at well over seven hundred pages so theres plenty to explore and enjoy. Something to dip into, fun, although most of the words or phrases you'll never remember long enough to use, some of them being from pretty obscure languages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fun, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Knew There Was a Word For It (Paperback)
Fun and interesting concept, this book is basically a dictionary of funny expressions from all over the world, nota book to be read from cover to cover, better to just flick through from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
This review is from: I Never Knew There Was a Word For It (Paperback)
Some very apt words you can use when people don't quite know what you're saying to them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Knew There Was a Word For It (Paperback)
Gift so not aware of how good the book is but delivery was fast and it looks good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Words, 6 Feb 2011
By 
P. N. Buck (Woolavington, Somerset, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Never Knew There Was a Word For It (Paperback)
Interesting, but I was surprised (and perhaps a little disappointed) to discover that much of it is NOT about English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Never Knew There Was a Word For It, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: I Never Knew There Was a Word For It (Paperback)
Absolutely fascinating. When you own this book you will keep it close to you, so you can dip in and out whenever you have time. The perfect gift (Christmas is coming) for that person who has everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Never Knew There Was a Word For It
I Never Knew There Was a Word For It by Adam Jacot de Boinod (Paperback - 5 Aug 2010)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews