Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars43
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2010
I've been ordering from Amazon for a very long time. Yet this is the first time I have bothered to write something about one of the many books I have bought and read from Amazon. This is because Caldwell has hit a nerve. What he discusses is something that I (along with many of my friends-from various nationalities,religious and ethnic groups) have noticed around West London.

YES, this book is written for an American audience who already believe and merely seek confirmation that Europe will be overun by Muslims and YES, this book will give the racists, xenophobes out there plenty of ammunition. Though this may be the case and indeed very unfortunate, the main thesis of the book seems spot on.

Consequences asside, the book is brilliantly written and very well researched. Some posters have commentated that the author has an agenda. Well, so what? What book or film doesn't? This does not make it flawed in any way. The harsh reality is that Europe is and continues to change and not necessarily for the better. And it is immigrants, specifically certain immigrants who are contributing to this unwanted change. The book makes the point that it is a problem all over Europe, not confined to just a few countries. Critics will call Caldwell alarmist, but people need only look around them and leave political correctness aside... There is an issue in Eroupe with Islam. One only needs to look at all the various social problems that have occured throughout Europe (and the world...). From the Sulman Rushdie affair, to the various bombings and terrorist plots, to the Danish cartoons, to honour killings around Europe, and so on... Soemthing is clearly going on and much of it has to do with one particular religion.

No doubt people will refer to the book as islamophobic (whatever this may mean...) purely because it raises a number of vary uncomfortable issues. These issues however, are not imagenary, racist or based on paranoia as the political correct brigade would have us all belief. They are very real. All one has to do is travel and perhaps move into an area with a high muslim population in the UK (or anywhere in Europe) and they will, if not immediately, than after a while, begin to realize what many people are fearing... a noticeable surge in the muslim population (where I live it is not unusual to see muslim women with three, four or more children) , more and more women wearing religious clothing, more and more British women (i.e. born and brought up in the UK) wearing full-covering black religious attire. Talk to many western women and they will often mention just how uncomfortable they often feel around large (especially male) muslim groups. Even anecdotal evidence points to people with dogs having 'issues' with muslims who of course consider them dirty...

The bottom line is that some cultures just don't mix well... Europe and Islam is an example of this...Unless something drastically changes, Europe is walking into complete mayhem, gagged by political correctness, overwhelmed by Holocaust guilt, divisions within political Europe, an exploited and often abused benefits system and so on...

Very disturbing...
44 comments|76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2009
If you are interested in the current and future impact of mass immigration of Islam into Europe, then this is the book for you. The author, Christopher Caldwell, has used his extensive knowledge to provide a trenchant analysis of how Islamic religion and culture is re-shaping Europe. He questions whether Islam can possibly sit in harmony alongside the liberal and secular traditions of the West and what this means for indiginous Europeans. He argues that European policy makers have unquestionably bowed to the demands of Muslims in policy making but under-estmated the culture-shaping potential of the Islamic religion, thereby trapping Europe in a dilemma to which it has no solution. Caldwell supports his arguments with evidence and examples drawn from recent history in this easily accessible read. Highly recommended!
0Comment|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Interesting and very well written and researched. Perhaps its biggest strength is that it is written in a way that most could understand, meaning it is not just for political students or those with a deep interest in the matter, but all, as it is all of us who are effected by the subject.

It is shocking, no doubt there, the situation seems far worse than I originally thought, but it was refreshing to see a a structured academic approach against mass immigration rather than the usual racist thugs who push such views with little to no evidence to back up, undermining their entire argument.

A read for all, especially politicians !
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
How I wish that this book was not illuminating, accurate, realistic in its appraisal of Europe's sleepwalking on immigration of mainly Muslim countries and its very damaging effect on the Christian cultures in which they arrive. I wish, too, that the recent events in Paris, San Bernadino, Tunisia etc were not the obvious results of ignoring the depressing "enemy within". But this really is a MUST read. I particularly would never in a million years have thought this was a very serious "threat" a year ago. The book was published in 2009, I believe, yet all it says is extraordinarily correct in the way the EU has been "pretending" the second and third generations are not being woken up to the desire to hate the West and kill the West and not assimilate because their communities and families kept the Old World alive. As Mr Caldwell says, the common thread for young Muslims throughout Europe is their "religion" even though it is a violent reading of the Koran. That is, unfortunately, the fact. To ignore the main aspect of the terrorism today: the Koran and its various strains of extremist clerical teachings is stupid. Just wake up and smell the coffee.

Do we want to speak loudly about what democracy, tolerance and freedom means to us and them? Of course, but do we question them enough in the media about what the Muslim faith does consider fundamental in its beliefs: homosexuality, attitudes towards Jews, women's equality? I watch many UK programmes that fail over and over again to ask direct questions of representatives of the Muslim faith just what is acceptable and tolerable within their homes and our world. Sadly, this book has a point: the Muslims must decide if living in the West is important enough to push their own population towards our way of life and not the other way around. Depressingly, I feel the West does not want to confront this and therefore it is only a matter of time before we will be changing our ways - their increase in population versus the indigent ones will make it thus. More must be done to confront these communities. Most are happy to respect the West but many don't (see the various polls after atrocities happen where a large minority of sympathies lie). Anyway, very, very thoughtful analysis. I do not LOVE this book as the five stars indicate above - I simply know it should be essential reading for all European politicians and city leaders of all faith communities.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2013
Essential reading for anyone who cares about the future of Britain & Europe.

I don't agree with everything the author writes - I think he's extremely generous to Enoch Powell, for example - but he has produced a work that simply can't be ignored. His analysis of the failure of multiculturalism in general, and in dealing with a large Muslim minority in particular, is excellent.

There are an awful lot of hard facts in this book that make liberals of all shades uneasy - in particular, the substantial evidence that the second an third generations of Muslim immigrants are de-integrating. Not just what Muslims are saying to opinion pollsters. either: the tiny numbers of Muslims marrying outside the faith or serving in the British Armed Forces - compare the black community for a contrast - add weight to the author's claim that Muslims just aren't interested in joining mainstream British society.

Far, far superior to the self-obsessed, scattershot writings of Bruce Bawer.

I'd also recommend "Murder in Amsterdam" by Ian Buruma and "Immigrant Nations" by Paul Scheffer, both of which shed much light on the failure of multiculturalism in continental Europe.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
This is one of the scariest books I've ever read. It chronicles the prolonged suicide of one of the history's great civilisations, perhaps even its greatest, through a series of irresponsible policies pushed by an ideology-driven political elite against the wishes of their own people.

Although terrorism gets all the headlines, it is really simple demographics that is the most frightening aspect of this problem, as the book makes clear. This, of course, is deemed a taboo topic and almost never mentioned in our political debates.

Is there still time to save Europe? Maybe - if enough people read this book.

So don't just read this book. Buy copies for your friends and make them read it. Order a copy through your local library so that others will have the chance to read it too.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
Christopher Caldwell, a columnist for the Financial Times, writes, “Europe is now, for the first time in its modern history, a continent of migrants. Of the 375 million people in Western Europe, 40 million are living outside their countries of birth.” Even if all 40 million were born outside Europe, this would mean that 10.6 per cent of people living in Europe were not born in Europe. So at least 89.4 per cent of Europe’s people are natives of Europe – hardly a continent of migrants then.

Some claim that Britain is a nation of immigrants. Not so. Research has established that three quarters of the ancestors of the population of the British Isles were in Britain 7,500 years ago.

Caldwell observes that “the EU was not democratic in any sense in which a neutral observer would use the word.” Its Treaties, not its peoples, bind EU policies. The EU is not under any democratic control. As European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker said, “There can be no democratic choice against the European treaties.”

Under Blair, admitting immigrants changed from being just an economic programme supposedly benefiting us all to supposedly being also a moral duty imposed on us all. But why should we have any more of a duty to immigrants than to the British people, that is, to all who live here in Britain?

The British people did not profit from the Empire. Only the ruling capitalist class profited from the Empire. The British people do not now make other peoples poor. Only the ruling capitalist class makes peoples poor. So the British people are not obliged to make up for our ruling class’s crimes by allowing the world’s poor to settle here.

Immigration policy for the whole EU is set by whichever member government opens the door widest - Spain in 2005, Germany in 2015. EU leaders, especially Cameron and Merkel, are pushing hard to get Turkey in the EU. Gallup polls there have found that the top reason Turks favoured their country’s bid to join the EU was that this would let them move to any country in the EU.

Inside the EU we cannot control our borders. Inside the EU we will be made to join the euro. Inside the EU we will be forced to merge into a single EU state.

As French President Francois Hollande asked on 7 October 2015, “Do you really want to participate in a common state? That’s the question.” Our answer must be no. We must vote to leave the EU.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Europe is in trouble. That once controversial claim is now widely accepted, by both the general public and the political elites, around the World and in Europe itself. There are several demographic, cultural and economic trends that are going on in Europe these days that make a lot of people gravely concerned. There is interplay between all of those trends that makes them hard to detangle and pull apart individual causes of the present European predicament. Nonetheless, it is beyond doubt that the immigration, and especially immigration from the Islamic countries, is one of the most pressing political and social issues in the Europe today.

"Reflections on the Revolution in Europe" is a penetrating, insightful, and informative analysis of the history and effects of immigration on the western European countries and societies. Unlike many other authors of similar books in recent years, Caldwell traces the origins of mass immigrations to the post World War II political and intellectual trends that saw an almost complete reversal of attitude in many European countries towards immigrants and ethnic minorities. However, what started out as a slow, gradual inflow of a few "temporary" workers who were eager to adapt to their new countries, over the ensuing decades transformed into a veritable deluge of immigrants who had very little interest or incentive to assimilate. When the immigrant numbers were still relatively low and there were hardly any public demonstrations of their influence, it was possible to ignore these problems and hope that they will somehow miraculously right themselves. The immigrants form Muslim countries proved particularly hard to assimilate, partly out of the host countries' reluctance to give them more of a civil recognition, and partly due to the background and the ideology of the immigrants. Europe was no melting pot, and as even the most prominent heads of states have publicly declared in recent years, the multiculturalism has failed.

This book was meant to be a polemic filled with astute analysis and solid information. However, it would have been useful if Caldwell had actually proposed some form of policy changes that could help with the present immigration crisis. Furthermore, on several occasions he relies heavily on certain assumptions that might seem plausible and logical (like the purported claim that a lot of what has driven the immigration policies thus far can be chalked up to the basic human "hospitality"), but he doesn't provide a lot of concrete evidence in their support. This makes all of his otherwise very articulate and plausible arguments somewhat suspect. Nonetheless, this is a remarkably well-written and detailed book that ought to be read by anyone who is interested in European affairs.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2009
This is the best book I have read on these subjects. Caldwell is sharp-minded, serious, critical, and clear. He writes very well indeed, both in terms of his style and the ordering and presentation of his many ideas. Little escapes him. Most impressive is the way he tackles a difficult, sometimes taboo, subject like immigration and writes about it often in the context of Muslim issues in Europe, and does all this from a genuinely liberal perspective, defying both the far right, who see immigration and Islam in racist terms, and the far left, for whom multiculturalism and political correctness have become dogmas it is forbidden to challenge. You won't find a more intelligent approach to these important subjects (though equally intelligent studies are available from Jon Gower Davies -- Bonfires on the Ice and In Search of the Moderate Muslim).
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
This is a great introduction to the problems of immigration faced by Europe. Europe has a welfare state so a lot of people come to Europe to get handed a better life. Immigrants also come to the US to get a better life. The difference is that the US government does not give out a lot of money to the immigrants. So the US gets hard-working immigrants. Europe gets the more lazy immigrants.

The book is not about he good immigrants that assimilate and contribute to their new home countries. The book is about the quite large group of immigrants that are not integrating. That such a group exist has been shown in most surveys of immigrants. The author identifies the problems and stays neutral, but he adds his thoughtful commentary. He is in no way trashing immigrants, but he is talking so openly that a big portion of the European establishments is going to take offence.

Europe does not yet have a proper debate about immigration, so in the mean-time it is important with authors like Caldwell. Even if you for some reason love Islamic immigrants in Europe I would encourage you to read this book and reflect. You don't need to change opinion, but rosy spectacles is not good for anyone.

For an American audience this book is not directly relevant. Some rather silly reviewers have commented negatively about this book by stating that immigration works well in the US. Well that is true, but only because the US government does not give out free money to the immigrants. In the US you are only welcome if you work. In Europe you are more welcome if you don't work. Europeans still think they are superior and it is their "white man's burden" to take care of misfortunate non-Europeans.

I give the book five stars. I would have liked a bit more use of statistics, but the book is written by a journalist so we mostly get a narrative with lots of examples and data points. For some people this might actually be the best book to get, but I would have liked a bit more data focus.

A similar book is The Last Days of Europe: Epitaph for an Old Continent, which I don't particularly like. I get the feeling that its author wants to teach the reader a certain viewpoint as opposed to inform the reader about certain facts. Caldwell's book is much better written.

Caldwell writes in the Financial Times and I will read his column with more interest in the future. It is nice that the writers take the chance to show their ability (or lack thereof) by writing a book. Rachman, another FT columnist, wrote Zero-Sum Future: American Power in an Age of Anxiety and managed to say nothing of interest at all.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse