Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good piece of work
I'm a student who is studying history at University. Since I have to read a lot of historical texts, I look for ease of read as well as historical accuracy. T.M. Devine's book meets both of these requirements easily. This is the sort of book that you can sit and read for enjoyment.
Published on 12 May 2011 by J Smith

versus
16 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY OF LIFE AND THE SCOTTISH NATION
The second edition of Professor Devine's history of Modern Scotland includes a chapter covering the first years of devolution.

This chapter is a sober, retrained assessment, until the last two pages. Then it - accurately - describes much of urban Scotland as suffering from Third World life expectancy and a worse than Third World quality of life. Nothing in the...
Published on 13 Mar. 2007 by J. Scott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good piece of work, 12 May 2011
This review is from: The Scottish Nation: 1700-2007 (Paperback)
I'm a student who is studying history at University. Since I have to read a lot of historical texts, I look for ease of read as well as historical accuracy. T.M. Devine's book meets both of these requirements easily. This is the sort of book that you can sit and read for enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding revisionist history, 30 Jun. 2008
By 
D.Watts. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Scottish Nation: 1700-2007 (Paperback)
Devine's book is a really interesting social history of Scotland. For anyone like myself born post-1970, Devine's account of poverty and deprivation in overcrowded post-ww1 schemes makes you stop to think how far we've come and still need to go. The description of how Scotland came to be in the Union is fascinating and throughout, Devine is free of bias on either the Unionist or Nationalist side. Devine always shows a mastery of the evidence and delivers a flowing, readable prose. In conclusion, a thoroughly enjoyable introduction to modern Scottish history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well presented and readable, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
Cicero "johop" (Fort William, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Nation: 1700-2007 (Paperback)
This is a set book for a university module, but is interesting and easy to read, it presents Scottish history in a narrative manner, which makes it a pleasure to read while the different periods are covered in a coherent manner, it covers such topics as who the Jacobites were, the effects of the agricultural and industrial revolutions, the Highland clearances, to the role of women and the role of the modern Scottish parliament and touches on the idea of devolution without seeking to influence the readers political views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devine, 12 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Nation: 1700-2007 (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for anyone interested in the nations past, the detail is first class and well laid out. Definately recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a read, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Nation: 1700-2007 (Paperback)
This was a birthday present for my husband who has always loved Scottish history. What can I say he could not put this book down and I am now waiting in the wings to read it.Professor Devine has given a comprehensive history of our nation but has manage to do it in such a way that it is never boring. Having watched him on TV I am so sorry I was never one of his students who must have been enthralled by his teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it. I have not read all of it ..., 10 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scottish Nation: 1700-2007 (Paperback)
I like it. I have not read all of it though. I've only been reading the bits I need to look for to write essays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY OF LIFE AND THE SCOTTISH NATION, 13 Mar. 2007
By 
J. Scott (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scottish Nation: 1700-2007 (Paperback)
The second edition of Professor Devine's history of Modern Scotland includes a chapter covering the first years of devolution.

This chapter is a sober, retrained assessment, until the last two pages. Then it - accurately - describes much of urban Scotland as suffering from Third World life expectancy and a worse than Third World quality of life. Nothing in the preceeding account has prepared the reader for this.

(In the first edition, Irvine Welsh was in the index; drug abuse was not.)

Professor Devine's explanation that some people lose out in a meritocracy is entirely unconvincing.

The problem is that for the last 40 years Establishment Scotland has been obsessed by the 'Scottish Question'. As a result, social problems though clearly identified, have been allowed to fester. The area with the most severe problems, the East End of Glasgow was highlighted for improvement in 1976, when the GEAR was set up.

Professor Devine suggest that Scotland has coped better with de-industrialization than the Rustbelt of North East USA.

'Not As Bad As Detroit' is a more honest slogan than 'The Best Small Country In The World' but it suggests the bar is being set low.

It is to be hoped that the Third Edition will face up to the responsibility of the media, and the rest of the Scottish Establishment, in allowing so many of Scotland's citizens to lose so much ground in terms of quality of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scottish Nation: 1700-2007
The Scottish Nation: 1700-2007 by T M Devine (Paperback - 30 Nov. 2006)
Used & New from: £8.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews