Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confessional poetry and writings from a wise and humorous soul ...
This is Leonard Cohen. You get tongue-in-cheek self portraits dispersed amongst words that are sometimes funny, sometimes shocking, sometimes brilliant observations and sometimes self depricating honesty that reveals the always human-ness and always unique voice of this living legend of a song writer, writer and poet, Mr. Leonard Cohen.

This guy is Interesting...
Published on 25 Sept. 2006 by Laurie Eckhout

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A half idea extended twice as far as it should have been
Of course it is a moot point that I am a huge fan of Cohen (otherwise why I else would I have paid list price for this at Waterstone's?) So why do I find this offering so bad? There are three distinct reason why, but before sharing those with the reader, I should point out that unlike reviewing a 'product' that either works or doesn't, perhaps breaks or is defective in...
Published 7 days ago by ARWoollock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars just like his songs, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Longing (Paperback)
This book of prose is quite profound to say the least, just like his songs. The landscapes contained within are stark yet mostly surreal. Brilliant!
Towards the rear of the book are his acknowledgements and author's notes. Therein he refers to how certain songs from the book have been set to music and included on his [then], latest album- Ten New Songs. By The Rivers Dark and Here It Is are two which I picked up on.
His subsequent album, Dear Heather also featured lyrics from this book, IE-The Letters, There For You, Nightingale and Because Of A Few Songs, which was shortened to "Because Of" on the album.
If you only have a passing interest in LC, I highly recommend this fine collection of poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and beautiful, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Longing (Paperback)
This is the perfect book to carry with you at all times and to dip into whenever you want to smile or need inspiration or comfort. Anyone who has seen Leonard Cohen in a recent concert will know well the warmth, humour and empathy he exudes and this deceptively short book has a similar effect. The poems vary in their skill and depth, some appear to be simply thoughts that have occurred to him while others have been carefully crafted over some time. And even though much of it is autobiographical (or because of it) I find it easy to relate to the thoughts and emotions LC expresses.

I have this on my Kindle and also a well-thumbed paperback edition on my bedside table. A gem of a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The NY Times said it pretty well 'Clear yet steamy, cosmic yet private, both playful and profound', 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Longing (Paperback)
Cohen explores big subjects by expanding on topics we can all think about i.e. religion, sex, mundane activities and mundane relationships, in a concise and fluid form. The author has created visual and sensual messages in 'Book of Longing', that vary from the effects of satisfying intimacy: 'you came to me this morning, and you handled me like meat, you'd have to be a man to know how good that feels how sweet' (Thousand Kisses Deep. p.56-57) to more broad, contemplative thoughts: 'after a while, you can't tell, it it's missing, a woman, or needing a cigarette' (My Life in Robes p. 2) It's a good read if you like the smoothness of Cohen and the benign yet firm grip he holds on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poetry, 27 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Book of Longing (Paperback)
A must for Cohen's fans but don't expect to find the lyrics of his songs.
I greatly appreciated some pages of his poetry but didn't like the contents of every single page!
If you are not a fan, don't start with this little book, but buy The Essential Leonard Cchen's CD and let it lovingly grow on you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Longing, 3 April 2011
This review is from: Book of Longing (Paperback)
This is a beautiful and thought evoking collection of Leonard Cohen's work, nicely laid out and illustrated. Very accessible and a delight to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonard Cohen, 4 Oct. 2009
By 
T. R. Cunningham (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Longing (Paperback)
If you like Leonard Cohen, then you will love this book. Inside is a collection of fantastic poems and sketches. They show a side of Leonard that the music doesn't. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Collection., 24 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Book of Longing (Paperback)
I have all the man's albums and now I have all his books. Such is my regard for L.Cohen, an objective review is probably a bit of an ask, so i'll be as laconic as possible. If poetry is your thing, then you won't do any better than this. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Leonard Cohen.........., 5 Sept. 2011
By 
Jax (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Book of Longing (Paperback)
A lovely book of poetry and one or two songs you may be familiar with. I love LC's songs and these poems are just as enjoyable. All fans should enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Longing (Hardcover)
I find this book of poems well worth reading and very thoughtful it is one of these books you can pick it up at anytime open it and just read as it suits you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leonard Cohen, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Longing (Paperback)
I am pleased with the book. I am a new fan of Leonard Cohn and wish I had been acquainted with his books and particularly his music years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Book of Longing
Book of Longing by Leonard Cohen (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2007)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews