Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2012
If you love birds and like poetry then this book is for you.It is high on my list of favourites and provides me with hours of pleasure.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
As a birder and fan of poetry this was always going to be right up my street. There are some good works within and the birder in me appreciates the attempt to organise the poems systematically.

Agree with the other reviewer that some illustrations would be nice but I don't think their absence really detracts from the book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
A superb anthology of bird poetry, arranged (mostly) by subject. There are many old friends and even more new discoveries. No bells and whistles in what is a simple production, but one to treasure for its content.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Superb selection. Underpinned by the bird poet extraordinaire John Clare's wonderful observational work, Tim Dee and Simon Armitage choose a selection of variety and popularity to please poetry fan and ornithologist alike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
If you're interested in our feathered friends, this is the poetry collection for you. Read a poem a day and be inspired, a life-affirming experience for all arm-chair twitchers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
If you love poetry and love birds what could be better? A perfect combination and perfect present too.
St Mary's Books and Prints
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Lovely poems through the ages, both well-known and obscure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Though I agree with all the praise of this book in the other reviews, I do feel it's also a bit of a disappointment, too.

The beautifully illustrated jacket is a big draw, and the inner printed contents are pleasing and plentiful - except that a chance was missed to complete to pleasures with a few colour illustrations. There are two b/w line drawings in one poem ("Mr and Mrs Spikky Sparrow" - !) but that's it for illustrations, book-wide.

Yes, it may have cost a bit more, but for a book like this - we'd pay it, I'm sure.

So - I'll have to content myself with using my lovely colourful "bird" bookmark instead, as I enjoy the contents.

So near ... but so far.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
A very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
He loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£13.49
£6.74

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.