Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, laugh out loud book review by Maz-Manchester
having had 3 boys myself and experience of childhood "clangers" over the years, I laughed out loud at the antics of the children in this book, never has a book made me giggle so much or marvel and enjoy the innocence of childhood. The book has a lovely feel-good factor and one which you can dip into again and again, every page you open makes you smile at one antic or...
Published on 20 Sep 2007 by Marilyn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Schools at Christmas
Disappointing read. It is big on print and therefore low on content. Took me a couple of hours to read. It is Christmas time stories culled from his other books rather than a full length book.
Published 18 months ago by janinepod


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, laugh out loud book review by Maz-Manchester, 20 Sep 2007
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Paperback)
having had 3 boys myself and experience of childhood "clangers" over the years, I laughed out loud at the antics of the children in this book, never has a book made me giggle so much or marvel and enjoy the innocence of childhood. The book has a lovely feel-good factor and one which you can dip into again and again, every page you open makes you smile at one antic or another. The storyline really jumps out of the page and you can almost hear the children with their Yorkshire accent and lovely sayings. A really heart-warming, delightful book full of enchanting anecdotes and I'm delighted to recommend it to all, great family reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :o), 24 Jun 2007
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Paperback)
NOT to be read when you are travelling on public transport. A laugh-out-loud book. The only fault was that it wasn't long enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you know anything about children, 9 Mar 2006
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Hardcover)
If you know anything about children you'll love this book. Every story is so readable and the children absolutely believable; who wouldn't shout out if they saw the Angel Gabriel's frock caught up in her pink knickers.
The Christmas story to end all: "A Wayne in a Manger" is absolutely correct because that's the way the lad heard it, children do mis-hear words and phrases that is why this book is so funny and so readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the mouths of babes!!!, 14 Nov 2006
By 
S. Taylor (Kent. U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Paperback)
Even if you do not have children of your own, chances are you know at least one. This book is the funniest I've have read in ages. Absolutely hilarious. I have found the perfect stocking filler for Christmas, the perfect 'pick me up' on a rainy day and a truly all round, unoffensive book to suit all.

Buy it and see the nativity from a different angle!

Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As only a child can!, 24 Nov 2007
By 
M. M. Godfrey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Paperback)
Funny, lovable and heartwarming. Better because it comes from the heart as only children can present the story of 2000 years ago in a Nativity play. I could imagine the voices of the children and Gervais Phinn as I read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny, funny,funny, 5 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Paperback)
This book will have you in stitches from the minute you pick it up. I don't think a book has ever made me laugh so much. Its true, kids do say exactly what they are thinking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It brought back memories, 28 Dec 2005
By 
Mary Lynch (Lurgan, N Ireland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Hardcover)
I teach 4 year olds and every Christmas I have to produce a Nativity play. This book brought so many memories. The book also showed how children take very different meanings from the words we automically say. The book also showed no matter what happens the parents will love it anyway and I should remember this every December instead of pulling my hair out worrying about the play! The author brought back some of the extraordinary children we met in his other books. I especially loved the present the staff gave him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wayne in a Manger, by Gervase Phinn, 11 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Paperback)
Like all Mr Phinn's books that I've had the pleasure of reading, a real laugh from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weep with laughter, 4 April 2006
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Hardcover)
I heard Gervase Phinn speak at a teachers' conference two years ago, and I don't think I laughed so much all term. Initially skeptical - after all, although a teacher, the thought of someone's embelllished memoirs on their time as a school inspector in the Yorkshire Dales doesn't exactly sound like a page-turner.
Indeed, there's nothing particularly original about his approach. It's been done before for vets by James Heriot. Worse still, I think some of the stories in this volume appear elsewhere in his work.
That said, Gervase Phinn has a remarkable story telling gift, weaving the most outrageous, if harmless, yarns with a fine ear for the truly hilarious things children say. Beneath it all, shines a warm humanity - and this is a book to which you'll want to turn to again and again.
I bought this as a present, but read it first (sorry, Mum). It's not quite as strong as his initial Dales series (Up and Down the Dale etc) but it's still good stuff. Get one for yourself and anyone else who needs cheering up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Schools at Christmas, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wayne in a Manger (Paperback)
Disappointing read. It is big on print and therefore low on content. Took me a couple of hours to read. It is Christmas time stories culled from his other books rather than a full length book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Wayne in a Manger
A Wayne in a Manger by Gervase Phinn (Paperback - 2 Nov 2006)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews