Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece
This book has it all. It makes you laugh and cry. It has great love scenes and awful battle scenes. It's a true story made into a fantastic Historical novel.
Anne Farquharson was a very brave and strong woman and a true leader. Two men (best friends) want her. She chooses and marries Agnus Mackintosh, Chief of the Clan Mackintosh. She is a Jacobite supporter who...
Published on 15 Nov 2007 by J. van de Lindt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubish
It was so hard to get to he end of this book. The characters don't feel real, it is a complete bore. No real romance, not a real strong female character, not funny, not original or surprising, quite nothing at all.
Published on 1 Mar 2012 by Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 15 Nov 2007
By 
J. van de Lindt "Romance Reviews" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Hardcover)
This book has it all. It makes you laugh and cry. It has great love scenes and awful battle scenes. It's a true story made into a fantastic Historical novel.
Anne Farquharson was a very brave and strong woman and a true leader. Two men (best friends) want her. She chooses and marries Agnus Mackintosh, Chief of the Clan Mackintosh. She is a Jacobite supporter who raises a regiment, with her lover at her side, against King George which means opposing her husband because he has joined the Black Watch.
Based on real events this book catapults you into the history of the Scots and this fascinating area of the past.
Janet Paisley has a very powerful way of writing. She draws you into the story and in the thoughts and feelings of her characters. The book moved me to tears but it also made me laugh and I had a real hard time not to look at the last page. I didn't !
The last page made me cry again.
From the first page it felt like a time travel to the Scottish Highlands in 1745. You really are on that battle field and you know the people around you. You fight with them and you feel what they feel. You laugh with them and you love them all.
The book is also about love and power. How does a Clan Chief cope with a wife who is a warrior. A strong and powerful warrior. Does this affect their marriage? Will they find each other again after the war?
Janet Paisley is know as a writer of Scottish poetry, plays and contemporary fiction
Lets hope that this is the first of many Historical novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me hooked, 15 July 2007
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Hardcover)
My wife bought this for on holiday. I know the history and Paisley's Not for Glory is the best fiction book I've read so I picked this up to have a look. It starts with hunting a deer. Next thing, I'm up to the Prestonpans battle and had to keep on. The story's about two clan chiefs and one sexy lady who becomes Colonel Anne. The guys are best mates and both fancy her. Who hasn't been there? She marries one but he joins the government so she goes off with the ex-boyfriend to fight for the Jacobites. The tension from the night before till the two guys face each other in battle is incredible but the real fight between them happens much later. The writing about men and how they really feel and act is excellent.

The story keeps you glued to the end. Great use of period detail and attitudes, sound original thinking at work too. The three battles are well done, even had me reaching for a sword to sort out a couple of real nasties. There's a couple of women you wouldn't want for company on a dark night either. It's typical Paisley, powerful and real enough to taste. Like Not for Glory, it had me laughing then raging. My wife kept shouting 'don't tell me' and 'be quiet, I want to read it myself'. It's frustrating not being able to share bits while reading it. A great book, bound to become a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a woman, 18 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Paperback)
after reading many great reviews of of Janet Paisley,s story of how women in Scotland had an enormous ammount of independance compared to their English sisters,and their fiery ways. I had to see what all the fuss was about , This is a strong story about strong ladies, at a very intereting time in Scots history , an unput downable ,fast paced,bloody, romantic, comical,and heartbreaking yet heartwarming story, can wait to find my next J.P. story,5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotional rollercoaster, 14 Sep 2007
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Hardcover)
Fast paced and moving story about the Jacobite rebellion. But it's more than this. It's a very human story which focuses on the shift in power and the betrayal felt within a marriage, when husband and wife chose opposing sides. This book gives a real sense of what is was like to live during the '45 and how Scottish women's independence (both legal and moral) was both shocking and alien to the English establishment. There is something for all readers of historical fiction - from the heat of battle, to the bouts of Scottish humour which make you smile and the anger and sadness you feel when you begin to understand how the Scottish people suffered - on and off the battlefield. It is one of the best historical novels I have read in the last 5 years and I have read more than a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a stoater, 12 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Paperback)
I had kept a note of this book - must have read somewhere it was coming out - and before I bought it I read the reviews on Amazon. 10 five star reviews - almost unheard of for a book. However, I agree - I really enjoyed it and finished it at 12.30 this morning. Couldn't have put it down before then. Very dramatic and well written. Couldn't sleep for ages afterwards because of the drama. Also shows up my lamentable knowledge of Scottish history...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 18 Aug 2007
By 
Jenny Wilson "Sunny" (Berlin, ex-Birmingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Hardcover)
I just had to come on and say how much I loved this book. I was up till after 3am finishing it. You just can't put it down. It's brilliant, and so moving I don't want to read anything else now, not for a while. I keep picking it up and hugging it. I don't know how, but the author really makes you care about all the characters and what happens to them. It's so funny sometimes that you laugh out loud. Next thing, you're crying. The love scenes are fantastic and the battles are frightening, just awful.

I read a lot of novels, especially historical ones but this was different, better than any. Colonel Anne's such a strong, sexy, and smart person, and funny too, you have to admire her. Like other women in this story, she's a leader of men and doesn't need them to tell her what to do. Quite the opposite. But the two men are strong and sexy too. Wow, I liked that MacGillvery and Aneas was totally gorgeous, though he needed a slap sometimes. There are quite a few baddies I wanted to slap too, men and women. Towards the end, I was biting my pillow, crying into it, then with my fingers crossed. I'm so glad it ended the way it did, though I wanted more, that was the right place. I'm going to read it again, more slowly, in a week or two. What an amazing book, absolutely wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passion, horror, heartbreak and humour, 31 July 2007
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Hardcover)
No-one could read this novel without feeling they have been through an emotional whirlpool.
Such is the author`s talent that it is easy to get involved in her character`s lives. The heroine is Anne Farquharson/Lady Macintosh, a true-life Jacobite supporter who raises a regiment against King George which means opposing her husband as well, as he has joined the Black Watch.
Passion, horror, heartbreak and humour make up this hard-to-put down book which also informs the reader about a Highland society in the 18oo`s, very different from that of today.
White Rose Rebel is not only a steamy love story but is a well-researched record of the political issues at that time efficiently woven into the fabric of this wonderful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Paperback)
Riveting story based around true facts. Brings life to history.If you know the history already, you will find it difficult to put this book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully written saga about a great heroine of Scottish history, 9 July 2012
By 
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Paperback)
A beautifully written saga about a great heroine of Scottish history-Colonel Anne Farquarson-Mackintosh, who played a kingpin role in the 1745 Jacobite rebellion at the tender age of 22. when Bonnie Prince Charlie raises Scotland's Highland clans to capture Britain's throne from the Hanoverian George I, Ann rallies her clan to his cause. what hinders things and enrages her is the betrayal by her husband Aneas who joins up with the English. A lusty, lively, energetic, humorous, tragic, vivid historic novel - the battle scenes bring home the horrors of war, the dialogue is rich, the sex scenes lingering and powerful, from the sexual wakening described of Anne when she was a teenager at the beginning of the novel.
Anne Farquarson was a Highland heroine, a lusty and beautiful women and latter day Boadicea willing to give up everything for her country's freedom and the rightful king and heir of Britain.

The book combines a meticulous study of 18th century Scottish history with a lively imagination, and the animating contest for freedom with the horrors and tregedies of the English genocide of Scotland after the Jacobite rebellion was crushed. The villains such as the obnoxious Duke of Cumberland and the demonic General Hawley are well drawn. The Beguiling Scottish women such as Anne's engaging younger sister Elizabeth and the peasant girl Jessie and strong and fearless warrior men show us the wonder of the Scottish nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubish, 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Rose Rebel (Paperback)
It was so hard to get to he end of this book. The characters don't feel real, it is a complete bore. No real romance, not a real strong female character, not funny, not original or surprising, quite nothing at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Rose Rebel
White Rose Rebel by Janet Paisley (Paperback - 5 Jun 2008)
8.28
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews