Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
29
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2014
I bought this as an additional book to add some extra value to my OU course (Europe 1914 - 1989) but had to dip into the best bits only, due to time pressures. Would like to spend a bit more time reading it properly when I have the opportunity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
A very comprehensive addition to my personal reference collection , would haved liked a little more imformation on the underground complex at Corsham in Wiltshire.
I would say the book is good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
Only just getting into this book, amongst others. It reminds me that it was not all GI kit that was best. The best of British was really some of the very best kit available. Innovation and design at all levels. I know, I used some of the kit from this era in BAOR in the 1970's!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
This is an interesting an apparently well researched book which attempts to dispose of the myth that Britain was weak and "alone" between the fall of France (May 1940) and the invasion of the USSR (June 1941). It quotes some interesting statistics to support the author's case that Britain and her empire would probably won anyway, or at least at the time thought they were going to win, even without Russian and American help. However,like all books of this sort -arguing from whichever direction - it tends to use statistics way out of context. Yes, Britain had a massive navy, but needed it to safeguard the sealanes bringing in food and supplies. Germany on the other hand obtained almost everything it needed from its conquests. Also, it was fighting not just one but three major powers - Germany, Italy and Japan. Moreover, the "Empire" should not be treated as a monolith. There were serious concerns that Indian and other Asian troops would fight to restore a British Empire. Even Australia was concerned that its troops were being used to defend British interests in North Africa. There was also anger in Canada following the Dieppe disaster.

The author caims that the RAF was one of the most powerful air forces in the world in 1935, but what does he mean by "air force". The Russian army had many more aircraft than the RAF, and they were at that time more modern than British types (eg Polikarpov P16), but there was no separate Russian air force, so on a technicality, he is right. The US "air force" was split between the USNAS and the USAAF.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
Whilst I can confirm from very extensive source research done to support my company's products that the author has the general gist of his conclusions on the right track, he has overlooked in many cases simple to discover information that contradicts his core points, particularly when he deals with the admittedly tricky subject of armour production and its comparisons with that of Germany.

It would be fair to say, however, that the case is put in a readable and (as far as a historical text can be) enjoyable format, which significantly amends or attempts to amend the more common perception of the United Kingdom and the Commonwealth and Empire in 1939 being impovrished. Far from it indeed!

As a starting point it has much to offer - as a more deep and meaningful text it appears to fall short (and perhaps could have been better dealt with as a 2 or 3 volume set).

Of interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Good book, as advertised, prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
I remember reading more than once that the british government considered that they could afford to fight Nazi Germany all out for about two years before the money ran out. But then i have always thought that if you were about fifty years ahead of your competitors and dominated the world with an Empire for over 150 years you must have accumulated some incredible amount of treasure over time.

Being an Englishman and being denied any valid degree of representation by an English Government since the Civil War of 1640 I know tha t the british establishment is as clever as a box of frogs. I consider that The british Empire did what the Roman Empire did and changed itself into something else to continue to be The Masters of The Universe - the curators of our reality - using their powers some other way!
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Hard to get into, I tried but ended up skimming the last pages. Not in my opinion a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
a completely wrong-headed view of this subject, and terribly badly written as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)