Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very much like 'Its not how good you are...'
This book is Paul Ardens other main inspiration book and is very much like 'Its not how good you are...' infact several ideas are the exact same in both books.

Paul Arden again presents us with a 'you are what you make yourselves' book aimed at raising peoples belief in their own potential and abilities. Arden uses a series of interesting case studies and...
Published on 23 May 2007 by Christopher Morgan

versus
61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just steal it
Never heard of Paul Arden before borrowing this book, and now that I have read it - about 30 minutes later - I don't much care if I never hear of him again.

It is entertaining. You can tell it is by an adman, as it is very well laid out graphically and short. In fact, it is really short. There are those who are allergic to text - to reading, really - and prefer...
Published on 27 Mar 2011 by Glidd of Glood


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just steal it, 27 Mar 2011
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
Never heard of Paul Arden before borrowing this book, and now that I have read it - about 30 minutes later - I don't much care if I never hear of him again.

It is entertaining. You can tell it is by an adman, as it is very well laid out graphically and short. In fact, it is really short. There are those who are allergic to text - to reading, really - and prefer to look at pictures. They should like this. But for others, they might feel short-changed. There is nothing in this book that isn't in a lot of other books. If you haven't read many "self-fulfilment" books, you might find it enlightening, but I can't say that I did.

Of course, by producing a book that contains perhaps ten pages of text at best, Paul Arden is no doubt practising what he preaches - doing what most authors wouldn't dare to do. You don't like it? Gotcha! You must be a reader who thinks inside the box.

But what really annoyed me was the smugness of the author. There is a page on ego and how marvellous it is to have a big one; a thought that would appear to come straight from Arden's heart. Where I really started to feel annoyed was when Arden tells you not to go to university but learn in the university of life instead. University is, apparently, for people who are too pusillanimous to know what they want to do with their lives. Fine then. Let's pick up medicine, quantum physics, molecular biology and law as we go along. How facile can you get? The fact that he should even have included this thought casts doubts on the whole text. Oh, but he just wrote that to provoke me and make me reassess my life. Gotcha again! It's exactly the same mechanism as that employed by gurus of sects the world over.

I also started doubting the wisdom of this book when the cover proudly proclaims that Arden is going to write his next book explaining the meaning of God in the time it takes to make a taxi ride, despite more human endeavour having been spent thinking about this than anything else throughout the ages. There is clearly no limit to his ego and gall.

My advice: think the opposite. You thought a book was something you bought to read at home. Don't. Go to a bookshop, read the book in the shop and fail to buy it. As Arden points out, stealing other people's ideas is a great thing to do. Alternatively, you could just thieve it - seeing as Arden scorns those who play by the rules. This may be a bit tricky from Amazon, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice pics, shame about the text, 9 Mar 2008
By 
M. Lank "*~*" - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
Ironically for a book that seeks to encourage new and radical ways of thinking it is full of the same old clichés, platitudes and generalisations. It's got some good pictures, but it's finest quality is it's brevity; you don't waste too much time reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very much like 'Its not how good you are...', 23 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
This book is Paul Ardens other main inspiration book and is very much like 'Its not how good you are...' infact several ideas are the exact same in both books.

Paul Arden again presents us with a 'you are what you make yourselves' book aimed at raising peoples belief in their own potential and abilities. Arden uses a series of interesting case studies and quotes from significant people or personal acquaintances to illustrate his various ideas and perspectives on modern business ethics, behaviours and ideals.

Again a very short bullet style book with point after point, if read right through it should take around an hour at most to read though longer to take in. As with 'Its not how good you are...' may not be suited to everyone but its worth the look for the cost and potential benefit you may get from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whatever you think, buy it second hand, 29 Sep 2012
By 
M. Hallett (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
If brevity is the soul of wit, as Wilde postulated, than Paul Arden must be hilarious. There's a mere handful of text in this book and even less of that is original. It has plenty of amusing anecdotes and other people's recollections. For the price of a second hand copy its worth sifting through the silt to get to the few shiny jewels inside.

A previous reviewer of this book, "Glidd of Glood", had clearly had enough of the silt because he makes the claim that Arden says don't go to university, go to work instead, and uses this as an example to beat him with a stick. Well, like so many reviewers he clearly failed to read the sentence properly, so here it is for all to see: "So don't go to university unless the subject of learning is close to your heart." Now that is excellent advice and very different from the foaming nonsense of the previous reviewer. Arden says many people go to university because they don't know what to do with their life and that university is a delaying tactic, and instead, they should seek out employment until they know what they want to do. Hardly controversial stuff. Acute observation with much to commend it I would suggest. It is not the same as suggesting saying "University is, apparently, for people who are too pusillanimous to know what they want to do with their lives. Fine then. Let's pick up medicine, quantum physics, molecular biology and law as we go along. How facile can you get? The fact that he should even have included this thought casts doubts on the whole text." Alas subtlety of meaning (and possibly basic literacy) appear to be beyond the ken of "Glidd of Glood". If you can't read the book correctly please spare us from sharing the benefits of your illiteracy - the book is not called "Whatever you read, read the opposite"

Like many reviewers, he misses the entire point of the book (other than the pecuniary enrichment of its author, of course), which is to serve as a kick up the backside and try to get people to examine their own beliefs in their own abilities and their untapped potential. I can't really claim that there is a coherent, unifying whole to the book; it is more a scattering of thoughts on similar subjects that make a nice evening's read and reflection. And at least, unlike many authors of similar books, he has made a success of his life by conventional analysis and that allows him the luxury of being heard.

It is a fun little book, perhaps not Confucian in its insights, but worth a read. It might even inspire you to make something better of your life too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana in little book form, 3 Dec 2008
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
My dad bought this book for me to read a while back and it really made me think about my own life and how I could improve it. Some people might see it as nothing more than a marketing ploy (eg. those who gave it 1 and 2 stars), but if you really read and understand what Arden is conveying, the book may guide you in making the "wrong" decisions. There are some perceptions in the book that some would disagree with, but it really is up to you as the reader to take them on board or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thinking of reading it? Think the opposite, 17 May 2009
By 
D. Barry (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
Reading the positive reviews I gave it a go. It's got some interesting pictures but is light on content. Seems a brief catalogue of people who hit on a different approach to things and were successful - wouldn't say they exactly thought 'opposite' as the title suggests. As the book progresses you can see the links to the 'opposite' theme becoming increasingly tenuous. May work as a coffee table book for guests to glance at, while the kettle boils (assuming it's high speed kettle). Not for me I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brief Reminder to Follow Your Instinct, 28 May 2007
By 
Anna Abrahamyan "Annathens" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
This book is about everything that's out of the scope of "common sense" yet it completely makes sense. Its to-the-point messages are at times citations from successful people who went against the flow and made living with their alternative thinking, e.g. deciding to quit the college, opening a company armed with an idea rather than money. This book is a time saver for those who know they've got what it takes, but fear when thinking how far it'll take them.

Arrive at a crossroad and make a fearless decision. And before you do it, buy this book and always keep it nearby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 10 Jan 2008
By 
Ben Gilmore (Longbridge, Birmingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
Loved the simple and easy to read style. Don't be put off by this as the message therein has a powerful impact. In many ways with busy lives, this is the sort of book to read- life changes that are straight to the point with a minimum of words. Another book that I came across with the same style is Close Your Mouth. I really think it is the way forward in book writing. More authors should realise that we don't want to plough through thousands of boring words to get a few gems of information. Just give us the gems, that is all we want. This book provides just that!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stimulating and thought provoking little book, 15 Nov 2008
By 
R. Streeter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
An inspirational little book, encouraging the reader to think and behave differently. The authour, Paul Arden, stresses that there is only one person who can determine the shape of your life. You! Just dreaming and talking about it won't achieve it for you. This book certainly makes you think about how you can achieve what you want.

Reading it through cover to cover, or just dipping into it, makes your realise that we do indeed tend to make safe decisions, based on experience and knowledge gained over the years. Paul Arden points out that the problem in making sensible decisions is that so does everyone else. It is the unsafe decision that makes you think and respond in a way you've never thought of, and that thought will lead to others that will help you achieve what you want. Knowledge makes us play safe. To overcome that, we need to stay childish and worry less about the result.

Many wonderful snippets and examples throughout the book provoke us to think. To behave unreasonably is just one. Another is that we shouldn't try to perfect something before doing it - just run with what you've got, and fix it as you go. Even having too many ideas may not be a good thing - if you don't have many, then we have to make those we do have work for us. The best ideas are those that happen. If an idea is not taken up, it's a non-idea, worthless.

The book concludes: "The world is what you think of it. So think of it differently and your life will change."

Thought provoking. Keep it handy, and dip into it every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever you think, think the opposite., 24 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite (Paperback)
'The problem with making sensible decisions is that so is everyone else.' This is a fantastic book for people who are stuck in a bit of a rut or don't really think the idea they are about to pass by the Managing Director is actually that good. It's pretty inspiring stuff with examples of the wrong decisions but with the right outcomes or just different ways of seeing things with examples from people such as Vivienne Westwood, Winston Churchill and a worryingly naked professor. Every bad idea or wrong decision just might change your life. Oh, and it has a cool picture of an Eiffel Tower lampshade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite
Whatever You Think, Think the Opposite by Paul Arden (Paperback - 2 Mar 2006)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews