Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be read by everyone
It is hard to find words to express my feelings about this book, but I will try... It is magnificent, a tour de force. Everybody should read it, it doesn't matter whether you are pro or anti war, the bravery shown by the people in this book should be an example to us all. It is a very intense read, incredibly moving, to the extent that I actually had to put it down a few...
Published on 25 Oct 2009 by C. Maxwell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Medic
Medic is an interesting account of what it is like to be a combat medic in modern warfare. Having been facinated by the story of the medic Eugene Roe in the tv series Band of Brothers I was hoping this book would tell me more about what it was like to be a medic in World War Two. However the great majority of the book is taken up describing the experiences of medics in...
Published 9 months ago by Neil Lennon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be read by everyone, 25 Oct 2009
By 
C. Maxwell "Chowbelanna" (Perthshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is hard to find words to express my feelings about this book, but I will try... It is magnificent, a tour de force. Everybody should read it, it doesn't matter whether you are pro or anti war, the bravery shown by the people in this book should be an example to us all. It is a very intense read, incredibly moving, to the extent that I actually had to put it down a few times to get my emotions under control. God bless these brave men and women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Men and women prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice to save others, 15 Feb 2010
By 
M. Vallance "Mikey V" (Warwick, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book with high expectations, having seen it serialised in the Daily Mail. I was not at all disappointed with the end product, and like many other reviewers found parts of the book to be searing in detail and highly emotional in terms of the reaction generated.

The book is a first person experience-oriented account of the development of the RAMC and other Service first aid and second/third line medical services. The look back to the very early days of the British Army and the development of basic combat first aid and primitive field surgery was very helpful context. The authors give a well researched and quite detailed view of the RAMC's development in the Second World War, The Falklands coflict, Gulf War 1 and 2, Bosnia/Kosovo and Afghanistan.

Pros of the Book for Me

- excellent section on the Falklands campaign, the role and experiences of the RN, Marine and Army medics. I also found it to be quite a balanced and realistic view of the engagements themselves, in contrast to the accounts which came out straight after the war

- highly topical coverage of the role being played by the MERTS and the Medics in Afghanistan

- a series of very direct, very personal first and third person accounts from Combat Medics throughout the book. I found the stories recounted of the heroism of Corporal Eric Harden VC (Royal Marines, KIA Feb 1945), Captain Steve Hughes (Parachute Regiment, 1982), Suregeon Commander Rick Jolly and others in the Falklands to be really moving.

- The tragic yet uplifting story of the 3 Para soldiers in Afghanistan who strayed into a minefield and were given intensive first aid by Paramedics 'Tug' Hartley and Andy Craig to be a very powerful conclusion to the book.

- The additional insights into PTSD were very interesting.

- The role of female combat medics (and the sacrifices made) was very well highlighted.

Cons of the Book for Me

- It would have been interesting but not essential to have more info on the modern day organisation of the RAMC, and perhaps a Roll of Honour.

The Authors John Nicol and Tony Rennell have delivered a first class product here which is very hard to put down. Don't wait for the paperback, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medic - by a Medic, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Rj Sedgwick "Bookie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As an ex RAMC medic in the Korean Campaign I was first in the queue to get this book. If you like blood and thunder this is it! In all its gory details it portrays the role of medic support groups on the battlefield. Disappointingly there is no mention of their actions in Korea but the book's still worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medic Saving Lives, 4 Dec 2009
As Always these two authors never fail to produce anything less than literary excellence as is the case with this book,the subject matter is one that is often overlooked in military history but this book is one of the most moving and inspiring books I have read in a very long while...Nothing short of a masterpiece that moved me to tears many times, If you want to read about human beings at their very best then this book will not disappoint, Especially the chapters on the Falklands war ....Truly Inspiring .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Account of our Forgotten Heroes, 18 Jan 2010
By 
This book traces the role of the combat medic from World War Two through to the current conflict in Afghanistan. It concentrates of the British Armed Forces but I am a sure that the stories and accounts presented in this book stands good for all combat medics worldwide.

These men & women really are the hidden and mostly forgotten heroes of our combat forces. Parts of the book, accounts of these brave medics giving their lives to save another nearly had me in tears.

So many great accounts in this book, I enjoyed it from start to finish and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who enjoys a well written book filled with accounts of brave men & women giving their all for their fighting comrades-in-arms and others injured and hurt during wartime operations.

Well done to the author/s for highlighting the role of these oft forgotten heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medic - A must read book, 24 July 2010
By 
Mr. D. Kneafsey (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A chance meeting with a man named Tom Onions lead me to finding out about this book and buying it. Those who have read the book will know that Tom is one of the stretcher bearers who experiences in the Falklands conflict features in this book. I would say that this is one of the best books I have ever read. It details the development of the medic's through history in a raw 'you are there' way. I was left open mouthed at how our wounded have been treated in the past but always impressed by how the 'non combatants' who have always gone forward to help. There are a million books out there of the genre 'how I won the war single handedly' but none of them are as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 30 Dec 2009
By 
C. J. Steward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very moving opening chapter leads onto a detailed but easy to read of the awfulness of war and its effects on the human body. The dedication and resourcefulness of the Medics is very humbling. Superb - thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To the heart of the action, 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The medical services is not something that so much has been written until this book filled the gap. This is as much about the bravery of those providing care under fire as it is about the medical side. There is a good progression from the care of WW1 through to modern day conflicts showing how some things have improved out of all recognition and some procedures are still used dating back almost a century as they are still considered to be useful.

I would of liked more detail about the types of trauma that can be caused in different situations, for example a bullet does not just make a hole, it sends shockwaves around the body. Similarly it would be useful to have explained how improved equipment has brought new types of injuries, for example whilst body armour stops bullets the wearer must recieve a huge jolt. It would not need huge detail but it would add to the book to help explain what the patients and medics are up against.

All in though this is still an excellent book to read. I don't know about the paperback edition but the Kindle version has one uncensored picture of major trauma. The picture is in the last few pages before the index so if you don't want to see something that graphic stop paging forward when you see the photographs coming up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 7 April 2011
Probably one of the best military books I have ever read.
Well researched and written telling the stories of the harrowing situations and seemingly impossible odds that the men and women of the RAMC, QARANC and others find themselves in from WW1 to Afghanistan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Medic, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medic: Saving Lives - From Dunkirk to Afghanistan (Paperback)
Medic is an interesting account of what it is like to be a combat medic in modern warfare. Having been facinated by the story of the medic Eugene Roe in the tv series Band of Brothers I was hoping this book would tell me more about what it was like to be a medic in World War Two. However the great majority of the book is taken up describing the experiences of medics in the more recent conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan. In comparison there is very little history included.

The book does manage to portray the amazing job carried out by medics but there is very little analysis or discussion of the techniques and procedures used beyond those mentioned in the specific anecdotes described. Instead this reads more like one of the many popular war memoirs published by soldiers involved in the so-called "war against terror".

I have nothing but admiration for the role performed by combat medics but for me the stories included in this book were too anecdotal and not factual enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medic: Saving Lives - From Dunkirk to Afghanistan
Medic: Saving Lives - From Dunkirk to Afghanistan by Tony Rennell (Paperback - 6 May 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews