Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a taste of the talents of Jamie Oilver
Pocket Penguin 43:

'Something for the Weekend'

Jamie pulls together a selection of recipes to liven up Sunday dinner for the traditional cook, or someone a little more ambitious!

'The book is called this because the weekend is when I get an opportunity to cook at home and have a wicked time with my family and friends. And now I've got...
Published on 6 Nov 2005 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but his proper books are better!
This book has good recipes but there are not that many of then and no pictures! You would be better of paying more for a full-size book.
Published on 12 Sep 2005 by Sarah29London


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but his proper books are better!, 12 Sep 2005
This review is from: Something for the Weekend: Pocket Penguins (Paperback)
This book has good recipes but there are not that many of then and no pictures! You would be better of paying more for a full-size book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a taste of the talents of Jamie Oilver, 6 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something for the Weekend: Pocket Penguins (Paperback)
Pocket Penguin 43:

'Something for the Weekend'

Jamie pulls together a selection of recipes to liven up Sunday dinner for the traditional cook, or someone a little more ambitious!

'The book is called this because the weekend is when I get an opportunity to cook at home and have a wicked time with my family and friends. And now I've got kids, the weekends are so important for cooking with them - I find it really grounding and always have such a laugh with them.
Remember - cooking is supposed to be fun and not a chore.
So here is a collection of some of my favourite recipes from the books I've written over the past few years.
I'm sure you'll have lots of fun with them, so roll your sleeves up and get stuck in.
This collection of recipes couldn't be more apt - it really is 'something for the weekend', whether you're looking for breakfast ideas, snacks, lazy lunches, proper dinner parties or whether you're after a really good party cake recipe.
Have a great weekend cooking.
And, Happy Birthday Penguin.'

The little paperback measures around 11 cm x 17.75 cm and opens to 64 pages, split into chapters:

1. Introduction
2. Brekkie
3. Long Lunches
4. Fish Suppers
5. Drinks
6. On the Sidelines
7. Alfresco Food
8. Puds

Recipes include:

* Bacon sarnie my stylie
* Braised five-hour lamb with wine, veg and all that
* Fantastic fish pie
* Scrummy warm rocket salad
* Lovely lemon curdy pud

It should be noted that these little books are just 'tastes' of the authors, from Pocket Penguin - hence the price!
They are written on matt paper, in a fairly small print and have no illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stocking filler, 7 April 2010
This review is from: Something for the Weekend: Pocket Penguins (Paperback)
This is really good as a small, postable pressie: good recipes, no pics but you don't really need them with his recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jamie oliver something for the weekend, 18 May 2009
By 
tracey i (otley england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something for the Weekend: Pocket Penguins (Paperback)
this is a great little book thats small enough to take on holiday caravanning and camping for a few extra food ideas and great things to make with the kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 29 May 2008
This review is from: Something for the Weekend: Pocket Penguins (Paperback)
Some handy recipes and fairly easy to make. Pity the person I bought this for can't cook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent intro, 4 Jan 2006
By 
Ms. SL Naylor "snaylor123" (berkshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Something for the Weekend: Pocket Penguins (Paperback)
I was bought this as an xmas present, and have already made some of the recipes. Some seem quite complicated, but I am sure they will be worth it!! A very good book. highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual ...., 12 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: Something for the Weekend: Pocket Penguins (Paperback)
... Kitchen/Coffee table Jamie Oliver fayre ... the a tasty snippet all the same and a great stocking filler for JO fans .... Super Wee Book ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Something for the Weekend: Pocket Penguins
Something for the Weekend: Pocket Penguins by Jamie Oliver (Paperback - 6 May 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews