Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Standard Cussler Fare
*POSSIBLE SPOILERS WITHIN*

Clive Cussler's novels can safely be described as formulaic, quite irrespective of whether the hero of the piece is named Pitt, Cabrillo, or Austin. They are quite completely interchangeable as they charge around the world repeatedly saving the planet from some or other nefarious crook with a seriously big time disaster in the...
Published on 14 Dec 2006 by Winning Form Mr Lips

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars All Action Adventure Story
I was not too enthusiastic when I first picked up this novel. I had read only one other novel involving the Corporation, and that was Sacred Stone, which I found to be a disappointment. However, if you can get your head around the improbable scenario of environmentalists allying themselves with a brutal African dictator, Skeleton Coast is not too bad an adventure story...
Published on 15 May 2009 by J.Flood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Standard Cussler Fare, 14 Dec 2006
By 
Winning Form Mr Lips (Durban North, Kwazulu-Natal South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
*POSSIBLE SPOILERS WITHIN*

Clive Cussler's novels can safely be described as formulaic, quite irrespective of whether the hero of the piece is named Pitt, Cabrillo, or Austin. They are quite completely interchangeable as they charge around the world repeatedly saving the planet from some or other nefarious crook with a seriously big time disaster in the works.

Cussler doesn't do things by half as he churns out page after page of preposterous heroics, but his books have never pretended to be anything more than escapist fun and on this score "Skeleton Coast" is up to standard.

Of course it's tripe. Nobody would confuse this with literature as Juan Cabrillo and his so-called Corporation foil a dastardly plan which involves deliberate massive oil spills, a monster hurricane, illegal arms dealing, you name it. Amid all the mayhem and the obligatory (beautiful, of course) damsel-in-distress we have all the usual fun-of-the-fair as Cabrillo & Co. perform one wholly unbelieavable act of heroism after the other.

The bounds of coincidence are stretched beyond breaking point as in the whole vastness of the Kalahari Desert our hero Cabrillo just happens to come across a friendly armed force on its way to springing a benign Zimbabwean politician from the middle-of-nowhere prison where most of Cabrillo's own men are also jailed. Yeah, right. That's about as likely as stumbling across a wild zebra in France, but who cares?

The scene were Cabrillo comes to the rescue of his team moments before they are due to face a firing squad are just plain loony even by Cussler standards, but if this kind of thing worries you then you have no business reading a Cussler book! You know the good guys are going to win in the end, no matter how bizarre or enormous the obstacles which are placed in their path.

So just enjoy the ride and once again curse the makers of that cinematic sludge called "Raise The Titanic!" It's thanks to them that Clive Cussler books are almost never made into movies, which is pretty sad because they are absolutely tailor-made for the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make no bones..., 13 Nov 2006
By 
Oliver Higgins "olihiggy" (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This an Oregon files novel and as usual it has Cussler's high standard of reader engagement and pulsating thrills of the crew.

It is a shame that it is not available in the small standard UK paperback, but that it is very minor issue.

Returning to the novel itself, Juan and the intrepid crew of the Oregon find themselves caught up in an eco-manic's plan to demonstrate to the world how we are destroying the environment. Juan is his usual self right in the thick of the action with crew also heavily involved. Reading it, I thought that Juan was going to throw in towel at the end of the story but I was wrong!! He actually gets, no I won't say that(!), it will ruin the end.

Happy reading cusslerites, it took me 1 day!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read at last, 11 Sep 2008
This review is from: Skeleton Coast: Oregon Files #4: A Novel from the Oregon Files (Paperback)
Well this book was a real surprise, as I tend to buy Clive Cussler books to fill in between good books. I'm not saying his previous books are rubbish but I guess they would command 3-4 stars at best.

This book is a real page turner and a thoroughly good read. It still is written in the American BS style, and you do have to take the laughably coincidental twists in the plot (read it you'll know what I mean) with a pinch of salt. However this book hangs together better than most of his previous books (I have not read all).

However I note 1 review giving this 1 star and all books are very subjective to the reader. Buy it, read it and let yourself be immersed in a jolly good tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All Action Adventure Story, 15 May 2009
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skeleton Coast: Oregon Files #4: A Novel from the Oregon Files (Paperback)
I was not too enthusiastic when I first picked up this novel. I had read only one other novel involving the Corporation, and that was Sacred Stone, which I found to be a disappointment. However, if you can get your head around the improbable scenario of environmentalists allying themselves with a brutal African dictator, Skeleton Coast is not too bad an adventure story. Certainly an improvement on Sacred Stone.

The novel has the usual Clive Cussler traits, the damsel in distress, the good guys having large amounts of luck, and convenient coincidences. It also has a lot of action, as expected, and kept me interested, pretty much throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-Pounding, Non-Stop Action Complemented by High-Tech Hardware and Guts, 1 Dec 2006
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
What do you want in an adventure story? If you're like me, you want lots of exciting action that's unexpected. You also want to be dazzled by advanced weapons and defenses. In addition, chances are that you enjoy unlikely heroes. Naturally, if the fate of the world is at stake, life gets even better. Adventure stories are for us what Crusader songs were for the troubadours during the Middle Ages.

Clive Cussler has an unequaled ability to conjure up stories that are tied to, evoke and feed on the sea. Skeleton Coast's premise and plot show the masterful Cussler hand. Jack Du Brul is one of our most talented action writers. He takes action and makes it more human . . . without wasting time or words. Du Brul's action on top of Cussler's expertise makes for a combination that neither could reach along.

In this book, I found myself swept along by the story in a way that I don't remember happening since the first few times I read an Ian Fleming novel about James Bond.

Here's the set-up. Dying men are crossing the Kalahari Desert in 1896 carrying a fortune in diamonds that have been stolen from a local tribe. As they plod forward, they know the tribal hunters are getting closer. Next, cut to today, where a biotech billionaire is looking over one of his labs' latest inventions . . . a new way to treat water to reduce pollution. From there, head to the Congo River where a scruffy crew is delivering weapons to rebels in exchange for a fortune in uncut diamonds. What do all these situations have in common? Things are not as they seem.

Before long, the three story lines begin to intertwine in glorious ways that remind me of watching Rhythmic Gymnastics in the Olympics as vivid ribbons swirl and kiss one another.

Of course, if you've read any of the other books in the Oregon files series, you know that the freelance corporation led by one-legged daredevil Juan Cabrillo must be involved somehow. Before the book ends, you'll find yourself in the middle of civil wars, prison breakouts, terrorist attacks and treasure hunts.

You have a great treat ahead of you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cussler at his best, 23 April 2009
By 
Espen Hult (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skeleton Coast: Oregon Files #4: A Novel from the Oregon Files (Paperback)
In the new series the Oregon Files, Cussler introduces a new hero, Juan Cabrillo and his team of mercenaries onboard the old (looking) ship the Oregon. But the cast, plot and storytelling is still pure Cussler at his best!

Skeleton Coast is number four in a series (so far) of six books about the Oregon and Juan Cabrillo. The books can be read individually, but your probably better of starting with the first book "Golden Buddha", and read on from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sand - The Sands - The empty place of Sands, 17 April 2007
By 
A. Winsley-wisniewski (London. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Clive Cussler's latest book, has a riveting story with excellent peices of geographic and enviromentalist info. The story is about Cabrillo and bringing in Dirk Pitt and Kurt Austin. Once again Cussler has proven that he is a quality story teller who can make a exciting book out of a shopping trip to the corner store.

It's fiction, but exciting fiction, within the bounds of

*BOND*-ability *(tm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Skeleton Coast: Oregon Files #4: A Novel from the Oregon Files (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... this book but Clive Cussler is one of the best for my taste, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet to read this book but Clive Cussler is one of the best for my taste. Book condition is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skeleton Coast: Oregon Files #4: A Novel from the Oregon Files (Paperback)
Prompt delivery, great stuff thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skeleton Coast: Oregon Files #4: A Novel from the Oregon Files
Skeleton Coast: Oregon Files #4: A Novel from the Oregon Files by Clive Cussler (Paperback - 26 Jun 2008)
£7.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews