Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Readable look at Classical Civilisation
I first came across Robin Lane Fox's work when I read his brilliant biography of Alexander the Great. In this book, Lane Fox takes a broader brush to paint a picture of the Classical worlds of Greece and Rome, from the age of Homer to the reign of the Emperor Hadrian.

The early sections on the Archaic Greek World are a bit of struggle. Most of our evidence for...
Published on 3 Aug 2008 by F. Aetius

versus
38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars standard 'history' of Greece and Rome
This is undeniably a good, light read, but in some ways it is almost out of touch with the actual research occupying classicists working academically in the field. Yes, I do know that Lane Fox is a hugely respected Oxford academic, but all the same there is something very traditional and almost wistful about this simple reading of the history of Greece and Rome. As a...
Published on 13 May 2007 by Roman Clodia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Readable look at Classical Civilisation, 3 Aug 2008
I first came across Robin Lane Fox's work when I read his brilliant biography of Alexander the Great. In this book, Lane Fox takes a broader brush to paint a picture of the Classical worlds of Greece and Rome, from the age of Homer to the reign of the Emperor Hadrian.

The early sections on the Archaic Greek World are a bit of struggle. Most of our evidence for this period comes from the archaeological record, leaving a lot of speculation about the events of the age, which only comes down to us in fragments from later Greek writers. These chapters help set the scene, but they are not as exciting as the later sections simply because they lack the human dimension. Lane Fox is at his finest when he describes the struggles and achievements of the individual, and not the physical remains of the Classical World.

It is in when the book reaches the period of the 5th century BC that the book really starts to shine. Lane Fox gives us a vivid view of men like Socrates and Pericles, and also the everyday lives of the classical Athenians, including a look at the lives of the Greek women and children.

He also provides brilliant chapters on the Julio-Claudians, the Punic Wars, and the Hellenistic World. Yet he also covers subjects as diverse as the Roman Army, diplomacy, Greek philosophy, technology, sports and a dozen other subjects.

One of the strengths of this book is Robin Lane Fox's text, which is lucid and very readable. He is a great writer who is able to impart a lot of information in short chunks. Most chapters only run for a few pages ( on average 13 pages) which makes them readable and accessible, and especially good if you want to read a few chapters at a time. I found this book both good to read from cover to cover, and also good to just pick up and select a random chapter.

Some have argued that Lane Fox's book is rather old fashioned in that it does not cover the Persians, Celts, or other classical peoples. I personally don't find this much of a problem, as I only expected to read about the Greeks and Romans when I picked this book up, but others might be disappointed by these omissions. What I did find odd was Lane Fox's rather politically incorrect asides, for instance he mentions that the Emperor Claudius was a 'susceptible spastic'.

With a number of excellent and well selected photographs of busts, coins and paintings, as well as a few good maps, this book is definately worth getting. This book should give you a broad, although not detailed overview of the greatest achievements and failures of the Classical World. It might be heavy going at first, but the deeper you get into it the more readable and rewarding it gets. One of the finest books on the Classical World that I have ever read. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Olympian in every sense, 13 Jan 2006
By 
N. Rodgers "Nigel Rodgers" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Robin Lane Fox, well known for his books on Alexander, has here produced one of the best overviews of classical Greek and Roman history, from the emergence of preclassical Greece to its second coming, so to speak, under Hadrian, that most philhellenic of Romans. Urbane but enthusiastic, revealing an immense learning very lightly, Lane Fox is unashamedly narrative in his approach. Essentially a Hellenist, he is perhaps unfair to some of the Romans - especially to the emperor Augustus whose achievements as a ruler surely atone for his lack of appeal as a man. Both Homer's world at the book's start, and that of the emperor Hadrian at the book's end, were aristocratic. Although Lane Fox treats the rise and fall of Athenian democracy very favourably, his general viewpoint is also elevated, unfashionably so. He concentrates on political and military events, rather ignoring cultural factors. For Greece especially, this is an omission. But overall, while his Olympian narrative may not impress some specialists, it will probably still be read with fascination and appreciation long after more specialist works have been forgotten. Lane Fox can stand deservedly in the grand narrative tradition of Gibbon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classical History - Short, Sweet, Elegant, 21 Aug 2006
By 
Withnail67 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome (Paperback)
This is an outstanding sweep across hundreds of years of Classical Greek and Roman history by a very fine scholar with a well-tuned popular touch.

Ranging from the poet Homer in the 7th century BCE, to the Roman 'First Citizen' Hadrian surveying his empire from the Tyne to the Euphrates, Lane Fox communicates a lifetime experience of teaching the Classics in one compact volume, deliciously divided into chapters which can capture an era or event in one pre-sleep bite! His view is even handed, but his enthusiasm for figures such as Pliny and Cicero shine out. He also has a soft spot for gardeners...

This is an excellent starting point for further reading, with excellent and easily usable notes and bibliographies. The illustrations are fascinatingly discussed in an appendix. I especially enjoyed the careful modern nuances that alluded to 'spin' and 'regime change' - these can be clumsy in lesser writers, but they were revealing and apposite here.

A very very fine book covering a vital aspect of human history, and essential to fully understand the Western World with all its achievements, weaknesses and cruelties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A narrative stroll through 800 years of history, 1 July 2009
This review is from: The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome (Paperback)
Engagingly written, this book sweeps through classical history, driven by a circular structure that begins and ends with Hadrian, the hellenophile Roman emperor. As an introduction to the topic, its focus is on personalities that the average reader will have heard of, such as Alexander the Great, Julius Caesar and Cleopatra. With admirable brevity, the narrative fleshes out these individuals (and many more besides) and offers a succinct appraisal of their lives, times, feats and flaws. But they are carefully placed in context, and the chronology is rarely disturbed; and after a chapter or two, the reader is swept along into the story of the succession or the legacy, and before we know it we have been blown 50 years into the future.

So much for the facts and the politics. To give a taste of the social life and mores of these times, Robin Lane Fox chooses three themes and threads them through his narrative: freedom, justice and luxury. Although this lends shape to his story, the regular recourse to these themes occasionally feels repetitive and sometimes the analysis seems hurried and strays off-topic. If you've read any Erich Fromm, then Lane Fox's comparison of 'freedom to' versus 'freedom from', for example, will feel overlong and uninspired.

Nonetheless the strength of the book is in the little details with which he chooses to illustrate the era. Possessing an eye for populism, the author concentrates more on sexual mores than on the other staples of life (birth, tax, death). I was particularly impressed with his writing about urbanism: neither too technical nor too frivolous, I got a real sense of the eternal construction and reconstruction of the principal cities; of the fact that, over eight centuries, the physical world kept growing and fading away, while what we know as civilisation -- or history -- ploughed forward with a rapidity that feels terrifyingly modern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real tour de force, 21 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. A. C. Gilbert "thegilb" (Chatel sur Rolle, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
If you've ever wanted to delve into Classical history but have always felt put off by the kind of high-brow, donnish aura that surrounds the subject, then this is the book for you.
I don't mean by this that the book is "dumbed-down", far from it; Lane Fox has written a gripping, accessible account of the great Greek and Roman civilisations upon which Western society still stands. He is an absolute master of sources and stories, and weaves them together into a cogent whole. This is a book not just about the princes, philosophers and Emperors but about the entire classical societies of Greece and Rome. It feels like you're there yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood Wars, Blood Sports and Blood In The Hippodrome, 25 July 2010
This review is from: The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome (Paperback)
Highly readable and enjoyable and should whet your appetite to discover more (I went out to buy Catullus, Lucretius, Pliny, Cicero and more just on RLFox's enthusiastic writing). RLF not only spews out the history but also dishes the dirt on characters (Alexander and Julius Caesar of course but also Mark Antony, Pliny, Cicero amongst others) thus providing insight into the rivalries, foibles and follies of these ancients. There are also topics like "Morals and Society", "Women and Children" that give a rounded view of the classical world. Read this and you'll have to read even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Overview, 14 Dec 2006
By 
Chuck E (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome (Paperback)
For anyone whose knowledge of the classical world is largely drawn from Hollywood epics, the odd documentary or TV biopic and hazy memories of class projects, this book is an essential purchase. Lane Fox puts all those names and dates in context - and makes it a compulsive read. So if you've seen Spartacus, know a bit about Julius Caesar and Cleopatra, and that Alexander the Great was taught by Aristotle, have seen Hadrian's Wall and heard of Cicero and Tacitus, but aren't too sure what and who came when, and how, all will become clear!

Can't think of another book which covers such a span of material without making it heavy going. Lane Fox obviously has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the period and an impressive grasp of detail, but steers clear of overloading the lay reader at the expense of readability and pacing. As a result it is, to use that old cliche, pretty hard to put down - you really do want to just go on and read that next chapter.

I would love to see the author continue the story through the Decline and Fall.

Definitely one of my books of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Introduction to the Ancient World, 2 Nov 2012
By 
S. Matthews "astafjevs" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome (Paperback)
If, like me, all you know about Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome is either what you picked up at school or through popular culture, and heavily biased towards the Roman occupation of Britain, then this book is an ideal introduction to the wider classical world. It covers a full thousand year sweep from the legendary Homer to the Emperor Hadrian, and mainly conveys it throught a succession of 'set pieces' which are vaguely familiar to a wider audience but difficult to contextualise. So from Greek tyrants, the Persian Wars, Periclean Athens, the Peloponnesian Wars, the rise of Macedon, the conequest of Alexander and the Wars of the Successors, through to the Punic Wars, Hannibal, the rise of Pompey, Cicero's writings, the rise and sudden fall of Julius Caesar, Octavian, Anthony and Cleopatra, Claudius and Caligula (confusingly referred to only as Gaius in the text) through the disaster at Pompeii , everything you've 'heard' about the Classical Ancient World is set in its proper context.

But what makes this book so good is the many chapters on more ordinary domestic life and society, the laws, religions, culture and sports which really bring the period to life, and in many cases make it feel so much more recent than 3,000 - 2,000 years ago.

A fascinating book arranged in short, easily readable chapters. For anyone that wants an introduction to the period and a launchpad for further reading into Ancient Greece or Rome, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars standard 'history' of Greece and Rome, 13 May 2007
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome (Paperback)
This is undeniably a good, light read, but in some ways it is almost out of touch with the actual research occupying classicists working academically in the field. Yes, I do know that Lane Fox is a hugely respected Oxford academic, but all the same there is something very traditional and almost wistful about this simple reading of the history of Greece and Rome. As a previous reviwer has mentioned (accurately) this concentrates on 'events' rather than analysis, and given the huge scope of the book, treats them fairly simply and reductively (the entire Julio-Claudian dynasty, for example, is covered in one short chapter).

I suppose the major problem for me is the dismissal of classical literary culture to the margins: Athenian tragedy for example has a paragraph, and even there Lane Fox regards it as being 'timeless' and completely divorced from the institutions of democracy. Not just does this assume a huge coincidence that tragedy appears and disappears precisely in the years coinciding with 5th century democracy in Athens (and nowhere else), it also evades the political discussions and negotiations that take place in the plays about the very ideology of democracy which make the plays so important.

Similarly there is little discussion of Roman, especially Augustan literature, that engages so closely with the political transformation from Roman republic to principate.

That aside, the end point was slightly odd, in that Lane Fox chooses to end with Hadrian, rather than continuing to the collapse of Rome, thus ending on a high note rather than following through to the , perhaps, more appropriate conclusion.

If you know nothing about the classical world, then this is an excellent starting point but it's just the beginning...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on Greece and Rome, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Peyman Askari (SOTON, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome (Paperback)
I am impressed at how Robin Lane Fox has managed to take a near incomprehensible field such as the classical world and distilled it down to the near essentials. For example, he essentially spells out the reason for Punic Wars (Rome moving into Sicily) and points out how Romans were hypocritical in claiming to have morals, when in fact they were helping barbarians. Likewise, you get a far better understanding of where democracy and the republic come from, and what they really represent.

I think all high school students should read this book so they can understand the world around them.

The only complaint I have is his failed attempt at constantly referring back at Emperor Hadrian: we really can't sympathize with him, so it just comes across as last minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome
The Classical World: An Epic History of Greece and Rome by Robin Lane Fox (Paperback - 6 July 2006)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews