Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Feynman gem!, 22 Feb 2006
This review is from: Don't You Have Time to Think? (Paperback)
Anyone who has ever read any Feynman before will know to expect his letters to be filled with humour, wit, genius and above all a passion for what he did, and they will not be disappointed! Although being Feynman the theme of the book never strays too far from science, being a collaboration of letters to everyone and anyone from personal correspondence with family and friends, to letters to journalists, colleagues and devoted fans, this book I think gives more of a picture of what Feynman was really like in what he thought about many different topics and his approach to difficult decisions and situations. I revelled in the chapter about his Nobel Prize - hearing about the modesty and anti-honours attitude of such a genius was humbling to say the least. Along with the usual stories of safe - cracking for fun, playing the bongos and generally being a down to earth yet amazing person, as with anything Feynman, this book is utterly inspiring and impossibly hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feynman in his own words, 26 Jun 2005
By A Customer
A must for Feynman fans!
An excellent book despite its appearance! It is fascinating to watch the development of R.P.F.s personality and confidence (compare his early letters to his 1st wife with his letters to his last). Having said that there are two letters to Arline (1st wife)that brought tears to this reviewers eye.
It is also an insight into the sort of demands on a famous scientist, with many and varying people and organisations wanting your opinion and approval / sanction. The letters after his receiving the Nobel prize are worth the price of the book alone.
Although the corespondence has been edited by his daughter it doesn't always strive to put R.P.F. in a good light.(But letters from his other amours are missing.)
Altogether a really enjoyable read and has altered my perception of R.P.F. (in his favour!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complementing "Surely you're Joking", 17 Feb 2007
By 
Erik Norgaard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't You Have Time to Think? (Paperback)
This book is not as amusing as the "Surely you're joking" books. The book is a collection of letters and provides a good complement to the other books as they tell Mr. Feynman's thoughts in the moment and not in retrospect.

One amusing coincidence is that Mr. Feynman wrote from Greece about an ancient machine that nobody knew what was. It is known as the Antikythera Mechanism, and the mystery was solved the same week as I read that letter. It is an astronomical clock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feynman, the thinking man's thinker., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't You Have Time to Think? (Paperback)
A collection of letters, essays and writings that are more domestic and personal characterwiise than his scientific adventures.
I bought it because I needed to get a present for a friend who needed some thinking doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Careful! Same as "Perfectly reasonable deviations from the beaten track"!, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Pau Garcia Quiles (Elx, Alacant (Spain)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't You Have Time to Think? (Paperback)
This book was originally published under the title "Perfectly reasonable deviations from the beaten track". Later on, it has been published as "Don't you have time to think". Other than that, it's an excellent book, as everything where Feynman was involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You don't have time to think?, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Roy Herbert Seager "Hildabert" (Bedford UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't You Have Time to Think? (Paperback)
I like Feyman he certainly has an incisive approach to ideas. His Story of the wheelbarow was one of the best as was his results of the explosion of the cheaoly reformed rocket. I you haven't read them get hold of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Waiting to read this, 10 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't You Have Time to Think? (Paperback)
Having read the other Feynman books I bought this for my partner for his birthday and am waiting for him to finish it so I can curl up with it. What a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't You Have Time to Think?
Don't You Have Time to Think? by Richard P Feynman (Paperback - 2 Mar 2006)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews