Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2007
I bought this book for a friend, but kept it myself after being impressed by its dip-into-ability, its authority, readability and the fact that it is clearly the product of considerable research. The author has drawn widely in his search for the origins of English customs and is not afraid to dispense with a few myths along the way: if there is no evidence that a custom 'has its origins in the Middle Ages' he'll say so. An impressive piece of work.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2007
Nowadays the English are starting to wonder about their own culture and roots and Roud's useful and interesting compendium is a good place to start. Not only does it include customs still practised today like Hallaton's Hare Pie and Bottle-Kicking, but also historical events that are often mentioned in song or legend, such as Bartholomew's Fair. It's well written, beautifully illustrated and equally good for dipping into or looking something up. It serves to prove that the English are deep down not the boring, staid, polite folk the world thinks they are.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
An excellent well presented and written book covering many of the local festivals and events that occur regularly in England. The information is in date order. A "welcomed must have" for my reference library
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
This book was just what I'd hoped it would be - easy to dip in and out of, packed with quirky detail and referances and a few photos thrown in too. Its a wonderful read if you are interested in traditions - but also in terms of various phrases that apply to dates, festivals etc. Lots of cross referances too and places to get further details etc.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
This book presents a well researched account of festivities thoughout England. It includes national and local celebrations, many of which started years ago. It is would be helpful in planning a tour or holiday in order to see some of these traditional events, particularly for overseas vistiors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
The book arrived in good time, and was in perfect condition. I love it, and I want to keep it, both as a reference and as a fascinating read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
a very interesting book to dip into
I like it a lot
you can look up different dates in the year and see what it says about it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Excellent book cramed with information on English customs. Will be very well used. Beautifully presented with lots of good photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Bought this as a thank you gift. It is such an interesting book that I will have to get one for myself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
This should be a very fascinating book, but alas the Kindle edition must have been achieved by using text recognition and it is full of wrongly recognised words. This makes it hard going, indeed I did think of complaining and asking for my money back.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)