Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars authoritative and readable
I bought this book for a friend, but kept it myself after being impressed by its dip-into-ability, its authority, readability and the fact that it is clearly the product of considerable research. The author has drawn widely in his search for the origins of English customs and is not afraid to dispense with a few myths along the way: if there is no evidence that a custom...
Published on 30 Aug 2007 by Schrodinger's cat

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor transfer to Kindle
This should be a very fascinating book, but alas the Kindle edition must have been achieved by using text recognition and it is full of wrongly recognised words. This makes it hard going, indeed I did think of complaining and asking for my money back.
Published 11 months ago by Colin Rose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars authoritative and readable, 30 Aug 2007
This review is from: The English Year : (Hardcover)
I bought this book for a friend, but kept it myself after being impressed by its dip-into-ability, its authority, readability and the fact that it is clearly the product of considerable research. The author has drawn widely in his search for the origins of English customs and is not afraid to dispense with a few myths along the way: if there is no evidence that a custom 'has its origins in the Middle Ages' he'll say so. An impressive piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly fascinating, 17 May 2007
This review is from: The English Year : (Hardcover)
Nowadays the English are starting to wonder about their own culture and roots and Roud's useful and interesting compendium is a good place to start. Not only does it include customs still practised today like Hallaton's Hare Pie and Bottle-Kicking, but also historical events that are often mentioned in song or legend, such as Bartholomew's Fair. It's well written, beautifully illustrated and equally good for dipping into or looking something up. It serves to prove that the English are deep down not the boring, staid, polite folk the world thinks they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Your Library, 16 Oct 2011
By 
George W. Radley (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The English Year (Paperback)
An excellent well presented and written book covering many of the local festivals and events that occur regularly in England. The information is in date order. A "welcomed must have" for my reference library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful quirky detail, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Year (Paperback)
This book was just what I'd hoped it would be - easy to dip in and out of, packed with quirky detail and referances and a few photos thrown in too. Its a wonderful read if you are interested in traditions - but also in terms of various phrases that apply to dates, festivals etc. Lots of cross referances too and places to get further details etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mega good book, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Year (Paperback)
On downside facts all over the place ... another book i couldnt read fast but slowly to absorb the information AND connecting items through a year .... good book but too many sections about dead things partially i fear to fill the pages and being a book ... just opinion .... half the size and cheaper it would be better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice to have on the bookshelf, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Year (Paperback)
a very interesting book to dip into
I like it a lot
you can look up different dates in the year and see what it says about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the English year, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Year : (Hardcover)
Excellent book cramed with information on English customs. Will be very well used. Beautifully presented with lots of good photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid copy of a lovely book, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Year (Paperback)
The book arrived in good time, and was in perfect condition. I love it, and I want to keep it, both as a reference and as a fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Survey of Celebrations During the Year., 26 Dec 2012
By 
Frances S. Heales (STOUGHTON MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Year (Paperback)
This book presents a well researched account of festivities thoughout England. It includes national and local celebrations, many of which started years ago. It is would be helpful in planning a tour or holiday in order to see some of these traditional events, particularly for overseas vistiors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor transfer to Kindle, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Colin Rose "strunkovice" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The English Year (Kindle Edition)
This should be a very fascinating book, but alas the Kindle edition must have been achieved by using text recognition and it is full of wrongly recognised words. This makes it hard going, indeed I did think of complaining and asking for my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The English Year
The English Year by Steve Roud (Paperback - 31 Jan 2008)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews