Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Wars
Steve Coll's study "Ghost Wars" is the most comprehensive study of the CIA and other secret services operating in Afghanistan covering the twenty odd years preceding the September 11th attack that I have read so far. The account is based on an impressive bibliography and large number of interviews. It is factual, but the narrative is quite vivid and colourful. Personal...
Published on 19 May 2004 by Roy-Edwards Veronica

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless
This book is useless and do not waste your money on this book. There are hardly any solid facts in this book and the title promisses more that it actually offers.
Published 7 months ago by Writer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Wars, 22 Mar 2006
By 
Gary (York, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan and Bin Laden (Paperback)
This is a must read for anybody with even a modicum of interest in the complex and inter-woven world of islamic fundamentalism.Clear,consice and easy to digest terminology and suprisingly informative..a definite must for all those who search for the truth surrounding U.S involvement in the Afghan/Soviet war.Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Wars:The secret History of thr CIA,, 21 Mar 2006
By 
Gary (York, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan and Bin Laden (Paperback)
This book is without a doubt a must-read for absolutely anybody with an interest,large or small, in the complex world of Islamic Fundamentalism and the shadowy involvement of the worlds only super power.It is a gripping,enthralling and informative read which lays out,in easy to digest terminology,the U.S,Pakistani and Saudi Governments involvment in the evolution of the modern day Islamist networks.I consider it to be one of the best pieces I have ever read on this subject and would urge anybody with a modicum of curiosity on al-Qeada or Afghanistan to order a copy today.Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Mar 2007
By 
Peyman Askari (SOTON, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan and Bin Laden (Paperback)
A brilliantly written book which goes into a great deal of detail. I found it interesting that the writing style almost perfectly matched that of Daniel Yergin's, who was also a recepient of a pulitzer prize
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Whats Missing, 29 Jun 2008
By 
Jg Mcilroy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan and Bin Laden (Paperback)
Well after reading this book, iam think did Steve Coll write the 9/11 Commision Report. As the 9/11 Report blames nobody in the CIA, FBI, NSA for 9/11. Coll fails even to mention the Bin Ladens being flown out of the USA on 9/12/01, when nobody was flying. The book fails to menion the the guy who knew the most about Osama, AL"CIADA" John Oneil . Oneil was the lead FBI investigator of the Cole bombing, resigned from the FBI becuase the Bush administration told him to "back off the Bin Laddens". John Oneil took over secuirty in the Twin Towers on 9/11 , he never made it out . Also mising was this,The first instance is the electronic memo of July 10, 2001 from Kenneth Williams, an FBI agent in Phoenix, Arizona, noting the number of students with ties to radical Islamic fundamentalists enrolled at local aviation training schools, and suggesting that a nationwide canvass of these schools be carried out to determine if there was a pattern. The guy who sat on this memo David Fracsa , was promoted. Now there is some good information in the book, but its been editited t by Bush White House. . The Books says the CIA NEVER HAD ANY CONTACT WITH BIN LADDEN EVER. I wont be buying his new book The Bin Laddens. The paper back was published after the 9/11 commision report was put out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Wars:The Secret History of the CIA, 21 Mar 2006
By 
Gary (York, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan and Bin Laden (Paperback)
This is most definitely a must-read for anybody with an interest in the complex world of Islamic-Fundamentalism and the part played in its evolution by the worlds only super power.Written ridiculously well and in easy to digest terminology it is probably the best book I have studied on the subject.So if you even a modicum of curiosity on both al-Qeada and Afghanistan i would reccomend you check out highly enthralling and informative piece.Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle more expensive than paperback, 2 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan and Bin Laden (Paperback)
Downloaded the sample to my Kindle and enjoyed it. When I went to buy the book, discovered it was cheaper in paperback. Off to the bookstore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Feb 2007
By 
J. Lee "jambo" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan and Bin Laden (Paperback)
I read this book whilst travelling last year and found it absolutely gripping. It gives a great insight into Afghanistan and the rise of Bin Laden within the taliban. You get to see how close the CIA were to stopping this guy and the reasons why they didn't. the amount of near misses are heartbreaking as you of course know what the end outcome is.

Recommended to casual readers and also to those wanting a further understanding of the region and its history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Wars: The Secret History of the CIA, Afghanistan and Bin Laden
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews