Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Royal Road to War
Before World War I the belief that monarchs ruled by divine right was alive and well in Europe--at least among the monarchs themselves. George, Nicolas and Wilhelm were cousins who reigned in Britain, Russia and Germany during the years leading up to the war. By the end of the war Tsar Nicolas and his family had been assassinated, and Kaiser Wilhelm was in exile having...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Jaylia3

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too condescending to be an objective history
Unfortunately, I cannot rate Miranda Carter's book as highly as many of the other reviewer's have. And this is mainly for two reasons. First, the book is confusing. Although there is a general historical progression throughout the whole book, beginning with the births of these three rulers and ending with the aftermath of World War 1, within each chapter and sometimes...
Published on 19 Aug 2012 by R Helen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent captivating pacey, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really great read, gives a factual and personal review of 3 kings which shaped our political landscape. fleshed out the men that are normally only referred to in statistical terms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World War one, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you do not read another ww1 book this anniversary year read this one. I was absolutely enthralled and totally informed all about the lead-up and the eventual war itself. Where the cousins ended up and how they managed to keep on relatively good terms with each other.
As Miranda Carter says at the end George V was the only monarch still standing at the end of the war!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and scary, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
I'm not a history buff and the period covered by this book is one that I knew almost nothing about. I bought this book after watching the excellent BBC documentary "Royal Cousins at War", to which the author also contributed. It is a fascinating account of a turbulent period of history when the fate of much of Europe, as well as significant parts of the rest of the world, was determined to a significant degree by the whims of a single, rather dysfunctional family whose various branches were the monarchs or emperors of much of Europe and the world.

And that's where the scary part comes in. You realise through reading this book how much European history has been shaped and damaged by the careless leadership of these monarchs who, while generally well-meaning, were unequipped to do their jobs. With Germany and Austria, this led to two disastrous world wars, and in Russia the repression and lack of progress led to the communist revolution. Of the titular three emperors, only the one with the least power - George V of Britain - managed not to destroy the monarchy in his country.

The ramifications of this period are clear even today, when we see Russia, for example, still demonstrating an aggressive, imperialist stance. This book has certainly shed new light on the recent history of Europe for me. It is very readable and entertaining, and is generally rather sympathetic towards all of the protagonists, never demonising any of them (even Kaiser Wilhelm) but showing them to be essentially well-intentioned but often fatally flawed people.

I can't speak for its historical accuracy, but for entertainment and enlightenment, I rate this book very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely interesting, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
Well written. Liked the family trees at the front as the relationships are very complicated. Makes sense of the TV programmes covering this period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and informative, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easily read but also well reasearched account of the personalities and (by today's standards ) amazing power wielded by the Tsar King and Kaiser
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with lots of info, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
The book filled in many of the gaps that I had about the build up to the Great War. It is well written, very well researched and clear about where the blame for the conflict lay. Anyone who wishes to have more than just the normal knowledge of the First World War can not do better than read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
This book is a gift to my husband and he was thrilled with it. Again as it was packed in Amazon cardboard so it was in perfect condition when we received it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Emperors, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
Bought this as a gift for my partner who really enjoyed it. He said it was really interesting to cover the 3 cousins as they travelled through the same period of history together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent History Book, 27 Aug 2013
By 
PGMorris "Petergmo" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
Miranda Carter's meticulously researched account of the years leading to the devastating events of WW1, seen through the, at times, bizarre behaviour of these three royal cousins is one of the most absorbing history books I've ever read. It's as gripping as an epic work of fiction, but, amazingly and chillingly, it's all true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed Miranda Crater's account of the lives of three emperors in the lead up to the first world war.
Would deinitely recommend. It's not for the histroy purists who want to trawl through every detail. Wjat it does provide is a superficial overview of life at that time - for 'the have's. It is lacking in depth but will appeal to the ordinary person seeking a flavour of the times and events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews