Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Royal Road to War
Before World War I the belief that monarchs ruled by divine right was alive and well in Europe--at least among the monarchs themselves. George, Nicolas and Wilhelm were cousins who reigned in Britain, Russia and Germany during the years leading up to the war. By the end of the war Tsar Nicolas and his family had been assassinated, and Kaiser Wilhelm was in exile having...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Jaylia3

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too condescending to be an objective history
Unfortunately, I cannot rate Miranda Carter's book as highly as many of the other reviewer's have. And this is mainly for two reasons. First, the book is confusing. Although there is a general historical progression throughout the whole book, beginning with the births of these three rulers and ending with the aftermath of World War 1, within each chapter and sometimes...
Published on 19 Aug. 2012 by R Helen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars interesting., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very long but really interesting. It shows the relationships between, George of England, Wilhelm of Germany and Nicholas of Russia. It also shows how controlling the royal family were and it's links to Germany. It is a good read - I am still reading it but so far I find it really interesting. I usually don't like things to do with the royals, but this high lights the issues between all the countries before WWI and gives you a better understanding of the problem and the workings of theses countries, which eventually led to WWI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THREE EMPERORS, 9 May 2011
By 
Mr. David Cookson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
What a marvellous book! Full of understanding and new insights into the characters of these three men who tipped the world into tragedy and chaos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book by Miranda Carter gives an amazing and sometimes frightening insight into the world of these ..., 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book by Miranda Carter gives an amazing and sometimes frightening insight into the world of these three emperors. Their unrealistic view of the their own countries and the unreality of the lives that they led. Their superficial understanding of the politics of their countries, the manipulation of the politicians and advisors and the consequences of this on the populations of Europe is both fascinating and horrific. An excellent read which gives a completely different slant of the lead up to WW1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly absorbing read, 8 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
I found this book extremely interesting and could not put it down.

This is a period of history I am fascinated by so, to some extent, I was bound to find it interesting to a certain degree. However, the way the author describes the parallels and differences between the 3 Emperors from their births through to the start of WW1 is highly absorbing, providing some new insights and weaving a fascinating tale. Recommended read, most definitely,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed Miranda Crater's account of the lives of three emperors in the lead up to the first world war.
Would deinitely recommend. It's not for the histroy purists who want to trawl through every detail. Wjat it does provide is a superficial overview of life at that time - for 'the have's. It is lacking in depth but will appeal to the ordinary person seeking a flavour of the times and events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exremely good read., 7 Mar. 2013
By 
A. Seymour "History Buff" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
History brought to life in this very well written history of the three most important people at the beginning of the 20th Cent. If you want to know why we should all blame the Kaiser and his stupid cousin 'Nicky' Tsar of all the Russia's, for the total mess of WW1, WW11 and the Cold War then read this book. It should be compulsory reading for all those studying the causes of the First World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World War one, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you do not read another ww1 book this anniversary year read this one. I was absolutely enthralled and totally informed all about the lead-up and the eventual war itself. Where the cousins ended up and how they managed to keep on relatively good terms with each other.
As Miranda Carter says at the end George V was the only monarch still standing at the end of the war!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written but nothing new in here, 24 Nov. 2014
By 
This is a very nicely written book but it hasn't told me anything new about either the principal nor the subsidiary characters.

I would therefore recommend the writing but I would not say there is much original research and if you know much about the history of this period I don't think you will gain a lot by reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent History Book, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
PGMorris "Petergmo" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
Miranda Carter's meticulously researched account of the years leading to the devastating events of WW1, seen through the, at times, bizarre behaviour of these three royal cousins is one of the most absorbing history books I've ever read. It's as gripping as an epic work of fiction, but, amazingly and chillingly, it's all true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with lots of info, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One (Paperback)
The book filled in many of the gaps that I had about the build up to the Great War. It is well written, very well researched and clear about where the blame for the conflict lay. Anyone who wishes to have more than just the normal knowledge of the First World War can not do better than read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Emperors: Three Cousins, Three Empires and the Road to World War One
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews