Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars54
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2014
Well written and very interesting. Well worth the penny I paid for it as book in almost new condition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2007
Buy this in hardcover, the paperback (which i ordered by mistake) is too small and the pictures are rubbish. Its not exactly good reading, I personally dont like his writing style- bit erratic and jumpy, but the book is definately worth persevering with if you want the most up to date work in this field- and Chris Stringer is most definately the major star in this field at the moment (i exclude a big bunch of frankly loony Americans and the equally looney but eminantly loveable Francis Prior) Its all a bit BRITAIN orientated, which seeing as we were just a peninsular of europe for most of our history is a tad weird, why set boundaries anachronistically?? It passed the test though- I put it down and wanted more, which is all i can ask really.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
If you get through what seems to be a small book, you will be convinced it was a big one. This is because it is hard work and contains loads of information. The book concentrates on classical methodology (bones and tools) for the main part and gives only passing notice to the new genetics techniques which are dominant in the current discussion of human evolution. It is very scholarly but pretty dry. We seem to sweep back and forth as chronogy of evolution and chronology of archaelogical finds mingle almost at random. The interaction between weather and human evolution is very clearly explained and emphasised, giving the author an excuse for a rather preachy chapter on global warming at the end of the book. Overall, an informative and objective book. A textbook, rather than a good read.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
I have only read a few chapters but it is fascinating and so well written!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
Most interesting especially to a Brit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
On kindle paperwhite photos are not that great, but it was an easy and infomative read.The family tree especially needs to be on a visible scale,as in a hardback.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
A GOOD LITTLE BOOK WHICH ARRIVED ON TIME AND IN PRETTY GOOD CONDITION AS WELL. ALL IN ALL EVERYTHING OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
A fascinating read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
spellbinding
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
I had no idea that humans lived on in Britain as long ago as seven hundred thousand years.But perhaps the most thought provoking aspect in this lovely book is the certainty that climate change will make Britain uninhabitable in the not too distant future.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)