Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!
'A delightful addition to his previous 'Complete World of Human Evolution', Homo Britannicus, written by Chris Stringer, offers a fascinating account of the history of human occupation in Britain from the first evidence of hominid activity circa 700,000-500,000 years ago to the arrival of modern humans about 12,000 years ago. In addition to being of erudite specialist...
Published on 30 Nov. 2006 by Ms. G. B. Delbarre

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed and infuriating bag
This book doesn't quite do what it claims in its overwrought title. It stops dead at a point about 11,000 years ago when humans gained a permanent foothold in Britain, skips quickly over the development of human life in Britain from 11k ago until the present day, and then jumps to a tired polemic about the dangers of climate change. This is a shame because the Ancient...
Published on 23 Jun. 2011 by Charles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and very interesting. Well worth the penny I paid for it as book in almost new condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an easy read but worth it, 4 Dec. 2007
By 
M. Notman "northernfag" (sheffield uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homo Britannicus: The Incredible Story of Human Life in Britain (Paperback)
Buy this in hardcover, the paperback (which i ordered by mistake) is too small and the pictures are rubbish. Its not exactly good reading, I personally dont like his writing style- bit erratic and jumpy, but the book is definately worth persevering with if you want the most up to date work in this field- and Chris Stringer is most definately the major star in this field at the moment (i exclude a big bunch of frankly loony Americans and the equally looney but eminantly loveable Francis Prior) Its all a bit BRITAIN orientated, which seeing as we were just a peninsular of europe for most of our history is a tad weird, why set boundaries anachronistically?? It passed the test though- I put it down and wanted more, which is all i can ask really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hard work, 15 Aug. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Britannicus: The Incredible Story of Human Life in Britain (Paperback)
If you get through what seems to be a small book, you will be convinced it was a big one. This is because it is hard work and contains loads of information. The book concentrates on classical methodology (bones and tools) for the main part and gives only passing notice to the new genetics techniques which are dominant in the current discussion of human evolution. It is very scholarly but pretty dry. We seem to sweep back and forth as chronogy of evolution and chronology of archaelogical finds mingle almost at random. The interaction between weather and human evolution is very clearly explained and emphasised, giving the author an excuse for a rather preachy chapter on global warming at the end of the book. Overall, an informative and objective book. A textbook, rather than a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only read a few chapters but it is fascinating and so well written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars old bones given some life, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
Chris Wilson "Chrisw" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On kindle paperwhite photos are not that great, but it was an easy and infomative read.The family tree especially needs to be on a visible scale,as in a hardback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Britannicus: The Incredible Story of Human Life in Britain (Paperback)
A fascinating read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible, fascinating, 4 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. A. C. Gilbert "thegilb" (Chatel sur Rolle, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a really superb book written in an engaging way by a man at the top of his game. The vast sweep of human history in Britain is conveyed in an accessible way, there are plenty of illustrations (which could have been a little less "archaeological" and a little more imaginative), and yet the material is by no means dumbed-down.
A book bringing passion to <a href="[...]">science</a>, a book at the leading edge of our knowledge of the past, lovingly written, putting human history in context and tellingly showing how dependent we are on the climate which, after 70'000 glorious years, we are now putting at risk by our own greedy activity.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not about LGBT issues, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homo Britannicus: The Incredible Story of Human Life in Britain (Paperback)
One of the best minds in this field outlines the early human history of the british isles, a must for everyone with any interest in prehistory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything by Chris Stringer is almost certainly good., 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The evolving story of human development, evolution and migration to people the world is endlessly fascinating. A good and not too stuffy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened at the end?, 21 Dec. 2008
By 
Mr. R. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homo Britannicus: The Incredible Story of Human Life in Britain (Paperback)
I was very happy with the Homo Britannicus until the final chapter. All of a sudden, it stops being about prehistory and becomes yet another tiresome rant about global warming. If I wanted to be hectored about the evils of coal then I'd be reading Jonathon Porritt, George Monbiot or any other colossally wealthy enviromentalist.

If Chris Stringer wanted to write about the environment, then where are the dendrochronoligical discussions in his book, talking about the wholesale deforestation of Britain during the Neolithic and early Bronze ages? What about megafaunal extinction? Why skip 6,000 years?

Whilst the rest of the book is good, the last chapter sours the whole experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homo Britannicus: The Incredible Story of Human Life in Britain
Homo Britannicus: The Incredible Story of Human Life in Britain by Chris Stringer (Paperback - 28 Jun. 2007)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews