Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex, Politics and Espionage - it has to be read!
From the opening pages of Typhoon, Charles Cumming captures his audience with his best novel so far. Typhoon is set in Hong Kong in the final months of British rule with politics and espionage at the forefront of this brilliantly written novel. Cumming has a unique way of combining clever character profiles with his familiarly well researched plot and a sexy love...
Published on 22 Nov. 2010 by Aggieandco

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Why all the hype? Did I miss something?
Cumming clearly knows his MI6 - and his Chinese political history and Hong Kong itself. The trouble is that he doesn't then use them as background for an absorbing story. Rather, he downloads huge lectures to the reader and then fails (for me, at any rate) to create convincing characters and conflict, or indeed any stakes that I or any of the characters cared much about...
Published 7 months ago by Longchamps


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
Another tense spy story which maintains interest throughout, although the ending was a culmination which somehow was an anticlimax. Maybe we are looking for happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting!, 21 May 2013
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
Not only the most exciting book I've read in a long time, but also well-written. Typhoon is the second Charles Cumming book I've read, and I shall be reading his others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and intelligent, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
Ian Stevenson "Ian Online" (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
A somewhat slow starter but full of in site and casual observation that gives a not always seen view of spies and their activities. Will read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 25 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
A good spy story, probably as real as it gets without the James Bond gung ho fiction, and makes you wonder who is the real enemy.
Enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great spy book, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
I love the John le Carre style of spy books. This is nearly as good. A bit more modern and up to date perhaps, but very enjoyable. Praise indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
A gripping story providing an intriguing insight into the world of espionage set against an authoritative knowledge of present-day China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read., 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
Charles Cumming's characters are perfectly believable and the story lines are always unusual. A brilliant read and very well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars belting good read, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
HK on the brink of handover - the US are fomenting revolution on the Mainland. Can our man stop them before the ultimate catastrophe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars too political, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't get into this book, I enjoyed "A Foreign Country by this author, but "Typhoon" could not hold my interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Classic espionage, 23 April 2013
By 
S Teal "Festering Ferret" (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Typhoon (Kindle Edition)
A great espionage thriller in the classic Le Carre style! Strong and engaging characters. Vary authentic feel to the locations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 610 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Typhoon
Typhoon by Charles Cumming (Paperback - 26 Feb. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews