Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars on cars
this book is not just about cars. it also covers his experiences living in london e.g when he bought a bike to go the pub and about car stereo thieves.

this is one of best collective writings of his on par with 'born to be riled'. it really is, laugh a minute stuff.

the book is split into two parts, the first part are the columns that first appeared...
Published on 2 Aug 2011 by sean21071986

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as other Clarkson books
I was really disappointed with this book. The main reason is that these columns are set in the mid 80's / early 90's. It's not up to date and you really need to put yourself back to the timeframe in the UK. Because I'm not born here and not that old, I often don't see the fun of the columns here. I started reading this book a couple of months ago, but I'm still not half...
Published on 6 July 2007 by True Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good way of looking at things, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Paperback)
this book is made up of the best of Clarksons articles stretching right back to the eighties and even then he had the same wit and manner as now.
my only criticism is that he doesent focus his writings on cars as much as id like but apart from that its great reading material.the book has 358 pages and contains articles from performance car and top gear magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars on cars, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Paperback)
this book is not just about cars. it also covers his experiences living in london e.g when he bought a bike to go the pub and about car stereo thieves.

this is one of best collective writings of his on par with 'born to be riled'. it really is, laugh a minute stuff.

the book is split into two parts, the first part are the columns that first appeared in 'performance car' the second part first appeared in the sunday times.

this is a 'must' read for any clarkson fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What He Does Best, 24 Mar 2011
By 
SeŠn Ward (Worthing, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Paperback)
Well, when you pick up a Clarkson book, you know what to expect: quick wit, outspoken opinion and an altogether good read.

As well as being something of a TV personality, Clarkson made his name by thinking about a new way of writing about cars, rather than just the usual complaints or praises about a new car's handling and speed.

In this book, you get to see why he has made a name for himself in some of his funniest and most well written articles.

With some, you can tell that he was pushed for ideas, but in the vast majority of articles he makes you chuckle, ending with a strong and meaningful conclusion and quite often starting off with a completely different topic.

All things considered, this book is a condensed view of Clarkson's opinion on all different cars, ranging from Aston Martins to Ferraris, as well as his opinion on everything else.

If you're a car fan, you should enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and very entertaining, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Paperback)
I am not a petrol head, and I only watched Jeremy Clarkson's Top Gear program on television if there was really nothing else decent to watch. Then I started to get hooked on the program.

Jeremy Clarkson is really funny, and he writes in the same manner that he speaks. Only he could have written the books.

His book is hilarious, and gave me many giggles, chuckles and big belly laughs.

This book was so well written and funny, I've bought some of his other books, and will read all of them with the same pleasure.
Keep on writing Jeremy, reading your books is better than a tonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 14 Oct 2006
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Paperback)
This book is in my opnion great. It's basucally a compilation of classic Clarkson articles starting in the mid-80s and through the 90s. I think it's great reading articles from when he was a beginner in motoring journalism. It's a compulsive page-turner and it's as funny as Clarkson can be. His particular sense of humour is refected through the articles about motorworld that criticise everything, from Vauxhall drivers to vans. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as other Clarkson books, 6 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Paperback)
I was really disappointed with this book. The main reason is that these columns are set in the mid 80's / early 90's. It's not up to date and you really need to put yourself back to the timeframe in the UK. Because I'm not born here and not that old, I often don't see the fun of the columns here. I started reading this book a couple of months ago, but I'm still not half way.

I just stick to the recent books of Jeremy Clarkson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson on cars, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Paperback)
Brought this book for my boyfriend and he throughly enjoyed reading it so I decide to as well and had a good laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Paperback)
My son is a Top Gear fan and he enjoyed reading this book about the antics these three men get up to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sample only, Kindle - Glad I didn't buy this, 10 Jun 2012
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Kindle Edition)
I generally like Top Gear and I don't even get flustered by Clarkson's deliberate audience baiting, but even so, I really didn't like this.

For starters, the sample is very short, consisting of only about 2.5 articles reprinted from newspapers from about 20yrs+ ago. I found 3 very blatant spelling typos in those few pages and there was no cover. The title is "On Cars", but the first article was all about diaries and why JC can't use a Psion Organiser. The second article was just claptrap about the Golf GTI and handing imaginary crowns to various other cars. Nothing funny, nothing interesting, nothing profound. My feeling at the end of it all was "what a waste of time that was", but I suppose at £6 a pop, the publishers are quite happy to waste your time. Possibly the worst of all the Top Gear-related books I've read. 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson on Cars, 14 May 2012
This review is from: Clarkson on Cars (Paperback)
On Cars is spilt into 2 parts and to be honest the first part is dull and outdated; the second part is an improvement. There were some funny moments throughout the book, but all in all it's forgettable. This book was no doubt interesting some years ago.

Wouldn't recommend this book if you're more interested in the comedy side of Clarkson. Having read The World According to Clarkson, I would recommend that as a more interesting and more up to date read.

If your interested in cars and you're more knowledgeable about older cars then I am, then this may be a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clarkson on Cars
Clarkson on Cars by Jeremy Clarkson (Paperback - 27 May 2004)
£6.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews