Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 116 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book, with some ignorant reviews.
There have been some slightly disturbing comments left about this book, both in terms of failing to understand the underlying messages of the book, and in terms of individuals using the platform of leaving a review to impose their (frankly confused) ideas, safe in the knowledge that nobody can answer back directly. In particular the ramblings of the American reader from...
Published on 6 Sep 2004 by Considered 1980

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An insightful analysis of the disease, some dangerous prescriptions for the cure
In this assessment of America's relations with the outside world, Ferguson writes with his customary fluency,turns of phrase, and skill in drawing historical and other parallels. He is critical of the factors which he believes act as a brake on would-be American 'liberal imperialism': the short-termism implicit in its regime change initiatives, notably Iraq; the...
Published on 13 July 2009 by Mondoro


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent analysis, 10 Jun 2004
By A Customer
I happen to disagree with the reader from Kopparbergs, Sweden. The parallels drawn between the US and the British Empire serve to compare and extract lessons between the two different but remarkably alike entities.
And although some opinions and thoughts raised could be construed as controversial, they do represent a sharp, intelligent and informed view of where the United States is headed and what lessons could be learned from the British example to alter the American course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great writing, but is the US really an empire?, 29 Jan 2007
By 
Caterkiller (Darlington, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colossus: The Rise and Fall of the American Empire (Paperback)
If you want a history of the United States foreign adventures then here it is. This book covers the conquering of the western states, plus adventures in Indochina, Vietnam and Iraq. I'm not sure that Ferguson ever addresses whether the US really is an empire. Different presidents have succeeded in so successfully imprinting their mark on US policy over the years that there is not much consistency in their approach; for every McKinley and Jackson, there have been Wilson's, Roosevelt's (both) and Clinton's in abundance who actively shied away from long term US commitments to overseas adventures. It is true that the US is an extremely powerful nation and has an unrivalled military but apart from Puerto Rico and Guantanamo Bay does it actually have an empire? There is no apparent motivation for an empire in the US, unlike that that existed during the British Empire for example, but owing to the weakness of other nations the US is unquestionably the world leader,(Professor Ferguson provides a good description of the contrast between the US economic perfomance and the moribund EU in recent years). The one area that this book doesn't cover is that of culture, with films, music and Starbucks being the most visible; if Ferguson had covered these "soft" influences in detail this would definitely be a five-star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommend this seller as a beacon if integrity, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colossus: The Rise and Fall of the American Empire (Paperback)
The product had damages which were not put in the description when sold to me. I complained and was given a full refund and the option to keep the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Daryl Beggs "hello" (St Andrews, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colossus: The Rise and Fall of the American Empire (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyable book, and an interesting read. After reading the reviews on Amazon, I had high expectations which were met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Those who read history...., 10 July 2005
By 
U. Reddy "Uday Reddy" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colossus: The Rise and Fall of the American Empire (Paperback)
"Those who ignore history are bound to repeat it," they say. Reading this book, one thinks "those who read history are prone to repeating it."
The Times is right: he is the "most brilliant British historian of his generation." But he is only a historian. When did historians become policy makers? When did the analysts of the past become prophets of the future?
Niall Ferguson loves to shock. The more controversial the theory, the more he wants to sell it to you. America is an empire. Ok. We take it with a grain of salt but, yes, we can take it. But, if he goes on to tell us how America should conduct itself as an empire, he is overstepping his remit.
"Nation-states are a novelty compared with empires, for there have been empires since the beginning of written records." Thus begins Ferguson's Case of Liberal Empire. A historian of another ilk might find it a fascinating fact. How did nation-states become so widespread? What was so special about the 20th century that it turned out this way? Is this move from empires to nation-states a longlasting one? What will it mean for the future of the world? Instead, the most brilliant historian of our generation spends his intellectual energy on showing that nation-states are perhaps only ephemeral. Perhaps we are really seeing an (ineffective) empire that is running the world? Perhaps it would be better if the empire reasserted itself more decisively?
There is a point to this book. If we measure the present in the light of the history, we can understand how different it is. We can also perhaps understand some of the invisible undercurrents which we fail to see in the bustle of everyday events. There are plenty of ways in which America does act like an "empire." Also plenty of ways in which it emulates the empires that have preceded it. But, let us remember, there are also plenty of ways in which it differs from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tediously written discussion, 3 Mar 2013
This review is from: Colossus: The Rise and Fall of the American Empire (Paperback)
Although Ferguson has some interesting ideas from time to time (such as in Civilization), this book is really mostly a dull argumentative text rather than a historical examination of an interesting topic. What bores me the most must be the endless linking words, the endless and tiring references that follow nearly every sentence in the book and do nothing to help Ferguson's argument, but seem to be included to show that Ferguson reads a lot. Wow... Ferguson's style, furthermore, is argumentative and dry. I much prefer historians with good ideas and a style to match - Toynbee perhaps?

But of course, that's just my opinion :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Complete waste of money. Bought this book after reading the ascent of money which was great. This book is a like poorly written thesis which has managed to get into the publishers backyard. Don't buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 31 Aug 2005
By A Customer
If this book was to be translated into Spanish, it would really become a world-wide bestseller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 3 Mar 2005
A book that creates so much contention has to be a decent read.
Think i'll get it then...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colossus: The Rise and Fall of the American Empire
Colossus: The Rise and Fall of the American Empire by Niall Ferguson (Paperback - 26 Mar 2009)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews