Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Odyssey?
Trojan Odyssey is the latest in the long line of Dirk Pitt adventures. Following on from the shock revelation at the end of Valhalla Rising, Pitt and Giordino battle against a bizarre cult intent on causing worldwide mayhem and destruction - with a little help from "an unexpected source."
Cussler’s latest is in the usual format: a historical premise, a gripping...
Published on 12 Nov. 2003

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Troy Get's A Hammering!
I'm a great admirer of Clive Cussler's world - This time round it's the Fall of the ancient city of Troy told in Cussler's page-turning style.It's all here as usual..vicious villains,an enduring historical mystery,a world scale ecological plot,last minute rescues,plot twists and full of action,disaster and mystery.I enjoyed it immensely but I felt Cussler's written...
Published on 9 Nov. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Odyssey?, 12 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Trojan Odyssey (Hardcover)
Trojan Odyssey is the latest in the long line of Dirk Pitt adventures. Following on from the shock revelation at the end of Valhalla Rising, Pitt and Giordino battle against a bizarre cult intent on causing worldwide mayhem and destruction - with a little help from "an unexpected source."
Cussler’s latest is in the usual format: a historical premise, a gripping introduction, the long battle against a mystery foe, but has an ending with more than one twist.
Throughout the years, the Pitt world has evolved from the simple style of the first two novels, Pacific Vortex! and The Mediterranean Caper/Mayday!, to the intricate, weaving style of later novels such as Flood Tide and Atlantis Found. Complete with a cast of evil villains, close allies and even Cussler himself, the books never fail to grip you and pull you into another world. But reading Trojan Odyssey, it seems like it’s come full circle. I won’t go into too much detail, but the ending is probably the least expected of any of the novels. Well worth reading , but if you’ve never read Cussler before, I recommend starting at the beginning and working through the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Troy Get's A Hammering!, 9 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Trojan Odyssey (Hardcover)
I'm a great admirer of Clive Cussler's world - This time round it's the Fall of the ancient city of Troy told in Cussler's page-turning style.It's all here as usual..vicious villains,an enduring historical mystery,a world scale ecological plot,last minute rescues,plot twists and full of action,disaster and mystery.I enjoyed it immensely but I felt Cussler's written better!Having read Clive Cussler from "Atlantis Found" and then going through his back catalogue; "Trojan Odyssey" sit's nicely with any other Dirk Pitt adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not yet finished it, but very happy, 3 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Trojan Odyssey: Dirk Pitt #17 (Paperback)
Clive Cussler writes to a formula. There's no denying that (you'd be a fool to, if you've read any of his books). But, contrary to the usual result of this (outrage, apathy, etc.), it does seem to work for his Dirk Pitt series.
I'm a new devotee to the series, having started Shockwave 4 weeks ago (I've since read Flood Tide, Atlantis Found, Valhalla Rising, and now this one). They're addictive, for sure, and although I don't find it as hard to put them down now that they're becoming rather familiar, I still have an overwhelming desire to read his other novels! In fact, I've ordered the first books in the other series (Kurt Austin and the NUMA Files).
A well written (despite what some people say), gripping story. Yes, a bit far-fetched, but then so many things used to be (hello, Mr Bond...!) and we loved them for it! If you enjoy interesting, engrossing and above all fun action-adventure stories, then Clive Cussler is way up there! Actually, I'm finding it hard to find an author to read after I finish Cussler's books (I do that - focus on one author, read everything by him/her, then find another to read). No one else really seems to touch him in scale and scope of his novels, or the overall calibre.
All this despite being formulaic! I usually avoid novels that are considered to be treading the same path over and over, but Clive Cussler does write some exciting stories! Okay, "retreading the same stuff" is a little harsh, as these novels aren't all the same (Except "Flood Tide" and "Atlantis Found", I think, which you probably could have swapped pages and not noticed anything amiss... Minor things, really).
Anyway, give them a try. I hope this review made you think about picking up one of the Grand Master of Adventure's novels. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trojan Oddity, 24 Oct. 2004
By 
J. J Kamlani "jotuj" (Fairfield, Connecticut United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trojan Odyssey (Hardcover)
The story starts out with the retelling of Homer's famous tale, on a different continent, and ends up with Pitt's taking over the reins at Numa. And who better to lead this nefarious organization of adventurers?
Though far from his best efforts(my favorite is Inca Gold), there is enough action, and adventure for any adventure thriller fan. Dirk, and Al both start feeling the effects of old age, creeping up on them, but so do we all!
Clive Cussler is turning over the reigns of this franchise to his son Dirk, in Black Wind,in another collaboration effort, this time with his son Dirk Clive, whom he named his best known character after. I'm led to believe though, that it will be Dirk Jr., and his lovely sister Summer that will be gracing the pages of further adventures, and not their aging father, who will be turned to for advice from time to time to continue the saga.
And why not, so long as the action, and adventure continues, and keeps to Clive Cussler's standard for a great adventure novel, I truly doubt the readers will mind Clive's turning the reins over to the next generation of writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Losing the plot, 4 May 2004
This review is from: Trojan Odyssey (Hardcover)
I have every Dirk Pitt book written by Clive having bought my first one in the early 80's. Some of the early softback covers still have shoe polish embedded on them from when I took them on army exercises in the UK and Europe. The theme of his books have appealed to me as I didn't want to have to think too much when reading just switch off, relax and enjoy the adventures that Clive had concocted, he was certainly one of the best in the world for doing that.
The last couple of books however have begun to dwell on Dirk's age starting to catch up with him. I want Dirk to be like Bond, never to age, always to be capable of dealing with any foes.
In Trojan Odyssey, Dirks' two kids appear in major roles having been introduced in the last book. They don't really do anything other than have to be rescued, Clive would be better doing to them what Scooby Doo and the gang did to Scrappy Doo i.e. get rid of the deadwood. Al Giordino hardly figures and Dirk seems to be getting ready to pick up his pension. There are a number of characters who, once introduced, seem to drift off with no further reference to them, something Clive would never have done in the past. He would have cleverly brought them back in when you were least expecting them.
At the end, Clive has Dirk do something that I thought he never would have (I'll not mention it, but fans will know what I am talking about) which seems to imply to me that Clive must be thinking of having no more Dirk adventures.
All in all, I was very disappointed with this novel. I read through the complete set of Dirk Pitt books about every two years and love to enter the world that Clive created for Dirk but after this book I was feeling let down. I certainly wouldn't recommend this book as a first one for someone not familiar with Dirk Pitt and would even go as far as to recommend to fans not to read it as it will disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is Dirk Winding Down?, 9 Feb. 2004
By 
Untouchable (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trojan Odyssey (Hardcover)
One very important point to remember when reading Clive Cussler books, they are meant to be purely entertaining. Any rescue or feat of survival that appears possible in the real world is merely accidental, the escapes from certain death are to be expected and accepted.
Dirk's back, but there has been a major change to his life. He has discovered that he is the father of a pair of fraternal twins who are now 23 years old and he has had to make a complete readjustment of his life's priorities. His children, named Summer and Dirk, are every bit as intrepid as their father and have both been given jobs working with him at the National Underwater and Marine Agency (NUMA). The whole Pitt family are all involved in the start of adventure, with Dirk and Summer trying to work out the origin of a massive slick of brown crud that is killing the sea-life in the Caribbean. Like so many other Dirk Pitt adventures it appears that a mysterious multi-billionaire megalomaniac is behind the environmental disaster in the making, with even grander and earth shattering plans in store. Again, like other Dirk Pitt stories, the evil mastermind is willing to use deadly force to keep his nefarious activities a secret. It's up to Dirk and his sidekick Al Giordino to save the day – and the world.
Unfortunately, this Dirk Pitt thriller isn't the fast-paced thrill ride of earlier books. You get the distinct impression that Dirk Pitt is getting tired and is preparing to call it a day. The usual snap is missing and the heights of excitement just aren't reached, probably reflective of Dirk's malaise. Sure, the corny dialogue, improbable escapes and unbelievable rescues are there, but the edge feels as though it's missing. Could it be that the young Pitts will soon be taking over from their old man?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "I'm prepared to suspend my disbelief..", 23 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Trojan Odyssey: Dirk Pitt #17 (Paperback)
"but not hang it by the neck until dead."
The usual sillyness comes with the genre, but when the villain's device breaks fundamental laws of physics and NUMA don't even notice, that's going too far. Couldn't the editor have got someone who knows the first thing about the subject to look over it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's only an adventure story, 25 May 2008
By 
R. Nicholson-morton "Nik Morton" (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trojan Odyssey: Dirk Pitt #17 (Paperback)
This is Cussler's 17th book featuring his character Dirk Pitt, so he obviously knows his readership and delivers. The publisher is being both greedy and lazy to release books like this. Nowadays, publishing editors hardly ever edit, they acquire properties (writers) and promote products (books) rather than simply making sure the writer gets things right. Cussler presumably gives his fans what they want, more of the same, but that's even more reason to ensure his work is adequately edited; in this case, it decidedly is not.

Following closely on the heels of Valhalla Rising in which Pitt learned he had grown-up twins, a son and a daughter - Dirk (a marine engineer) and Summer (a marine biologist), this book relates how these two help their father discover the amazing secret behind `the crud' that's killing sea-life off Nicaragua.

In common with Cussler's other most recent outings, the first chapter describes a historic event which has some bearing on the book's near-future marine archaeology. This time we go to 1190 BC and witness the `true' story of the Trojan horse and the sacking of Troy.

Coincidences abound. Summer discovers an ancient artefact at about the same time as the worst storm in history threatens a new floating hotel. Pitt and his NUMA pal Al Giordino fly in to rescue the hotel just after its owner, Mr Specter, abandons everyone. The very secretive Specter seems to be involved in several shady goings-on, yet nobody can pin anything on him; when has that stopped law-enforcement? As a villain, he's poorly drawn - but perhaps that's due to the melodramatic revelation of his true identity at the end of the book.

Cussler's readers have come to expect plenty of accurate expertise on all sorts of subjects in exotic places and this is what you get. The facts about the Celts are very interesting - and coincidentally relate to Summer's artefact and in turn are linked to Specter.

The characterisation is light and some of the metaphors are strained, to say the least: the tumult that was headed directly for the hotel as if it was an enraged Tyrannosaurus rex with a vendetta or the voice was soft and punctuated, like a mild summer shower on a metal roof... Indeed, the writing really requires better editing.

Al Giordino was `a bachelor who had yet to marry' - are there any other kind? - and came across as a tough but faithful friend to have in a tight spot. And Pitt finds himself in his fair share of tight spots.

His characters don't talk like real people but rather like TV characters offering exposition to viewers with low attention-spans. There's a tendency to overwriting, too - the hotel `driven unmercifully by sea turned cruel beyond any that had been recorded by man'. A nice reference to Monsarratt's Cruel Sea, maybe, but a bit over the top. There's a reference to the Pirates of the Caribbean - the Disney rides, not the film - which my amanuensis assures me apparently echoes a similar reference in his earlier book Iceberg. And nobody ever seems to get out of a car or a room - they exit.

The villain's plot is quite fascinating and original, though it's doubtful that so many surveillance agencies would be suspicious yet not find out what was happening. Still, it's only an adventure story. And that's what Cussler delivers. His fans will doubtless enjoy it, especially the references to earlier tales, the strained humour and the re-appearance of a character called Clive Cussler.

Cussler really should know the difference between adverse and averse (p13) when writing `... hardly adverse to murder and mayhem.' There's more than one instance where he exhibits a tyro's lack of grammar: `When he awoke in the morning, Loren had already left...' But this means when Pitt woke, not Loren, even if it doesn't read that way. Over-use of a description kills it - such as a `mask of wrath' on pages 254 and 383 [Page numbers relate to the hardback edition].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Here We Go Again, 11 Feb. 2009
By 
G. T. Swain - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not for the first time Clive Cussler invites into his slightly altered present world. This is the dimension where Dirk Pitt Actually raised the Titanic, and in other novels achieved feats of technical wizardry mingled with James Bond like adventures combatting various nasties. Do not expect anything different here.
The current work is up to Clive Cussler's usual high standard, and if you do not mind the ever so unlikely plot lines you are in for an entertaining read, or if like me you opted for the audio version, an entertaining audition. All the usual characters are in evidence plus a couple of new characters. Only the villains have been altered to justify the prerequisie number of twists and turns in the plot. Even the author in true Hitchcockian fashion makes an appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As usual a good read, 14 Mar. 2004
By 
Colin Day (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trojan Odyssey (Hardcover)
Unlike EquiDebt from Warwickshire, I enjoy reading Clive Cussler's books whilst accepting that they are basically pure fiction and good light reading. After all wasn't James Bond 007 just fiction
This one was up to his normal excellent standard but I would point out one thing to Mr Cussler (if he ever reads these reviews).
In one part of the book Pitt reminises about the time he met Summer (the first one) when he was sitting having a drink in a hotel bar with Admiral Sandecker's daughter.
In fact it was Admiral Hunter's nymphomaniac daughter. As far as I am aware Sandecker has never had a daughter (or son) and his character would certainly not stood for having a NYMPHOMANIAC for a daughter.
Come on Clive don't go on making mistakes like that !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trojan Odyssey: Dirk Pitt #17
Trojan Odyssey: Dirk Pitt #17 by Clive Cussler (Paperback - 30 Sept. 2004)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews