Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful contribution
As an astronomy student this is the kind of book I had always wanted: the actual texts of some of the most significant works in physics! Up to now these texts were simply not accessible -- unless, of course, you were willing to find a dusty copy from the 30's in a university library.
It is fascinating to read the ideas of Copernicus, Keppler, Galileo, and the...
Published on 6 Nov 2004 by steven134

versus
26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for experts
Collecting together the classic papers that made certain scientists famous is a great idea, but only if you have a degree in physics already. The original papers in here are mostly over the head of the average reader, who will buy the book thinking it is by Stephen Hawking. And the potted biographies of the superstars are just too short and sometimes inaccurate to be...
Published on 6 Nov 2003 by Charlie T.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful contribution, 6 Nov 2004
This review is from: On the Shoulders of Giants: The Great Works of Physics and Astronomy (Paperback)
As an astronomy student this is the kind of book I had always wanted: the actual texts of some of the most significant works in physics! Up to now these texts were simply not accessible -- unless, of course, you were willing to find a dusty copy from the 30's in a university library.
It is fascinating to read the ideas of Copernicus, Keppler, Galileo, and the 'Principia' of Newton.
You will certainly find a few surprises, like the use of musical notes to describe the movement of the planets!
Stephen Hawking enthusiasts beware! This book is probably not for you. The target audience is people with a background and very keen interest in physics, and those who are fascinated by the history of science, and not afraid of a bit of math.
Contents
The great works of Copernicus, Galileo and Newton are all presented in their full form; From Kepler's five volume work you will only find volume 5; Einstein's section, contains seven of what are considered to be his main scientific publications on Relativity.
About the book
* The language and illustrations are very accessible.
* Some of the tables are difficult to read.
* The font is small, but not too small.
* The table of contents is a bit too brief, especially with regard to Einstein's section
All in all, great value for money, and a unique opportunity to read these original works. For this alone it deserves its 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original papers., 14 July 2003
By 
Palle E T Jorgensen "Palle Jorgensen" (Iowa City, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What makes this Stephen Hawkin book different is that it collects together in one place the original papers of the great masters, starting with Copernicus, and ending with Einstein. A generation ago, Eric Temple Bell suggested that we begin with the classics when learning math and science. Traditionally, it was thought that modern books based on the classics offered more effective ways of introducing or presenting the material, and as a result only a few students (and teachers) took the trouble of looking at the original classics, the central papers of the great masters. The true landmark papers. All the while, they collected dust on the shelves in the back rooms of libraries. Of the giants in science, five stand out, Copernicus, Galilei, Kepler, Newton, and Einstein. A chapter is reserved to each of the five. Each chapter begins with a lively biography which also serves to place the material in the context of the history of science. This is followed with the original papers themselves in translation. With this book, readers can compare Newton's laws from Principia with the fundamental papers of Einstein. It is collected in one place with commentary. Complaint: The print reproduction of Einstein's papers is not good, and some formulas unfortunately have been truncated in the reproduction. Hopefully that will be fixed in a second edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What?, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Shoulders of Giants: The Great Works of Physics and Astronomy (Paperback)
Fliberdy giberdy what what? I certainly aint clever enough to appreciate this book. I read the first couple of chapters and closed the book when my eyes started to bleed. I'm sure if you're a clever person and understand really long words then this is the book for you. Some wonderful quotes in there though. I'd love to have that kind of interlect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for experts, 6 Nov 2003
Collecting together the classic papers that made certain scientists famous is a great idea, but only if you have a degree in physics already. The original papers in here are mostly over the head of the average reader, who will buy the book thinking it is by Stephen Hawking. And the potted biographies of the superstars are just too short and sometimes inaccurate to be worth the cost. It would be much better to have a skilled writer explaining what these papers really mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK book, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Shoulders of Giants: The Great Works of Physics and Astronomy (Paperback)
Font size is between little and very little - hard to read.
The conten is: very interesting. Words from Stephen Hawking before every chapter, the rest is original writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars looks a good read, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Shoulders of Giants: The Great Works of Physics and Astronomy (Paperback)
certainly larger than i expected, but i fear the use of all the maths might scare me a little though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Works Indeed, 3 Oct 2009
By 
David Geldart (Welshpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Shoulders of Giants: The Great Works of Physics and Astronomy (Paperback)
it is amazing to get in one book the actual words of Copernicus, Kepler, Galileo, Newton and Einstein, expounding some of the greatest ideas of science ever. It takes some reading, though, probably a year or so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Way to small!, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: On the Shoulders of Giants: The Great Works of Physics and Astronomy (Paperback)
This book is way too small! To give you an idea of what I mean, just compare its dimensions (19.4 x 13 x 5.2 cm) with those of its hardcover counterpart: 25.6 x 19.3 x 2.2 cm. Or to give an easier estimate, compare the number of pages: 256 in the hardcover, whereas this one has 1280! My point is this: the font size is very small, and the in footnotes even more! I've only yet started reading it, but it's becoming a really big annoyance (no pun intended).

Having said that, it's proving a very interesting read. For what I've read so far, it would get a rating of 5, were it not for the absurdly small fonts. With hindsight, I'd go for the hardcover without a second thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Shoulders of Giants: The Great Works of Physics and Astronomy
17.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews