Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All we need is love...
Those new to Chomsky�s view on American dominance of the world will find this book a revelation. Those who�ve been reading Chomsky for years will find an unsatisfying familiarity; not with his eminently straightforward writing style, but with the fact that little in the world seems to have changed. All who read this book will turn off their bedside...
Published on 15 Nov 2003 by keeganben2

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many big words for me.
I keep trying to get going with this book, but just can't. There are too many big words in it. In fact, I don't even know how to say the title.
Published 4 months ago by Mr Cee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All we need is love..., 15 Nov 2003
This review is from: Hegemony or Survival (Hardcover)
Those new to Chomsky�s view on American dominance of the world will find this book a revelation. Those who�ve been reading Chomsky for years will find an unsatisfying familiarity; not with his eminently straightforward writing style, but with the fact that little in the world seems to have changed. All who read this book will turn off their bedside lamp with a will to change the world tomorrow.
Chomsky tends to write his books as updates to previous books, therefore those familiar with his past works will inevitably find themselves being exposed to facts they�ve already heard. However, as these facts are so numerous and noteworthy, only the most retentive brain will mind hearing them for a second or third time. And for newcomers what this man has to say about America�s intentions for the world will require two or three reads to soak in, and a further session of research to determine whether his meticulously documented facts could possibly all be true.
The book itself does exactly what Amazon�s synopsis says, so those in the know will click on add to basket straight away. For those unfamiliar with Chomsky, I�ll say only this: if you still question whether the US administration is willing to sacrifice innocent lives for oil, this book provides an intelligent answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chomsky's most readable and urgent book in years, 21 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. Tristan Martin (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hegemony or Survival (Hardcover)
If you are reading this, then you are probably already familiar with Professor Noam Chomsky's writings, so rather than re-cap his work, I will offer only a few salient points.

This is Chomsky's most well written book in years. It is a small irony that a professor of linguistics has often authored books that can be quite badly written - Year 501: The Conquest Continues, being a prime offender. This isn't dumbed-down Chomsky but rather this book feels as if Chomsky has taken much more care in making this book accessible to a wider audience and not just his hardcore fanbase.

Secondly, as usual with Chomsky's books, he recapitulates his own work quite frequently (to phrase it generously). Hegemony or Survival is no different. About half of this book is fresh material and half is previously published.

However, this book is most definitely worth purchasing, even if you have Deterring Democracy (probably his best) because it covers the years 1993 - 2003 (approx.) with his usual insightful prose. Though the book covers outside of this timeframe, looking at the Cuban Missile Crisis or Israel and Palestine, for example, Chomsky is at his best in this book when he is being contemporary. The parallels he draws betwixt Clinton's bombing of the Sudanese pharmaceutical factory and Al Qaeda's bombing of the Twin Towers is fiercely provocative and yet thoroughly underpinned by diligent research and logic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "this book is incredible.", 5 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hegemony or Survival : America's Quest for Global Dominance (Paperback)
shortly after 9/11 i was hungry for books and knowledge to educate myself about the world we live in. although i was still very young i was one of those unfortunate souls who believed i was already informed and well-read. i would have argued to the death that i was right because i thought i was. "i watch the news, i watch documentaries, i do know what's happening..." and then i discovered noam chomsky. hegemony or survival was the first chomsky work that i read. and it knocked me sideways. if you've never read anything like this before, but think you know what's happening out there, this book is intellectually devastating. the thing that sets chomsky apart is that he only deals in documented facts. there is no debate to be had. this man has more integrity in his little finger than the entire western world's corporate mainstream media has combined. he is a walking encyclopedia. i gave this book away to a friend one evening and told him trust me, just read it. he text me around 6am the next morning. the text said simply "this book is incredible."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUBBORN FACTS, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Hegemony or Survival (Hardcover)
Chomsky again presents a coherent, fact based account of US foriegn policy and its catastrophic affect on third world nations who are the main victims who have to endure its terror. As time passes the list of affected peoples grows. What is saddening is that policy is not changing and the more involved you become in the debate of the conflict between human rights & democracy and US Imperial hegemonic dominance what becomes apparent is that there isn't really anyone who engages in debate with Chomsky. That is not to say there is no-one who opposes Chomsky but instead of engaged debate rely on the tried and tested traditional method of slander, mis-information and character assasination hoping that it will disuade people to read his books.
Chomsky is an heroic intellectual who is bent on exposing Imperial deceit and injustice and promote the values of Democratic Freedom and Justice for all human beings that as a Jewish American he so values. There is no hidden agenda with Chomsky, he finds the mass murder of innocent civilians unjustifiable whether they be hundreds of thousands in a East Timor, tens of thousand Palestinians in a ghetto in Gaza, a few hundred Israelis in Tel Aviv or three thousand office workers in the twin towers.
Chomsky's main message is - How do we stop Terrorism ?
For Chomsky if the US and UK governments were to STOP participating in Terrorism they will reduce terrorism by a very substantial amount ? The logical precision of a philosopher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hegemony or Survival, 5 Aug 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is another eye opening book from Chomsky about American foreign and domestic policy. It covers the period from the end of the second world war, and focuses (as expected) on Iraq. It has some fascinating and shocking information (although a lot of it has been said elsewhere by various people, including Chomsky) and I would say this is a good starting place for those new to American foreign policy and practise. Sadly, considering Chomsky is a linguistics professor, this book isn't too clear at times. I found that for many pages the prose flowed coherently and put across the points extremely well, only to be followed by a couple of pages that were unfocused and hard to decipher at first read, and I've read many Chomsky and political books. This is the only reason this book got four stars from me. Overall, an insightful, fascinating, if slightly scary and depressing read. If this whets your appetite, try 'One No, many yeses' By Paul Kingsnorth for one portrayal of an alternative world view.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - lousy title, 1 Feb 2005
This review is from: Hegemony or Survival : America's Quest for Global Dominance (Paperback)
This book is firmly in the 'John Pilger' vein of explaining how power is exercised and how it is allowed to be excercised in the modern world. It is scholarly, well-referenced and easy to read. However, I imagine this book will only be read by those encouraged to do so by an interest in politics sparked off by Pilger, Michael Moore or seeing an anti-war demonstration. The title is dreadful - making the book seem like an academic text, which is a pity as it is not at all dry or lofty.
I would have given this book five stars but for the title. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Times seem right for Chomsky now!, 7 Aug 2007
I have always been one to question Noam Chomsky's positions on issues, and at times have even felt his proclivity for citing himself in support of an argument to be a bit questionable from a scholarly perspective. But that being said, this is an excellent read. Despite what one may think of this author's point of view there is much to be considered within this book.

Chomsky supports his arguments and delivers them in a concise way that puts into context so much of recent histories worst attrocities. I recomend this book highly for any one who is ready to see what has been well hidden by a very tight knit group of commercial interests and elitists who do not have the needs of humanity at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable truth - US survival or survival of the planet?, 30 Jan 2004
By 
Simon, York (York, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hegemony or Survival (Hardcover)
This book is only indirectly about corporations. It is about the United States of America and the neo-conservative political project to shape the world according to the preferences of the US military-industrial complex that is hand in glove with the political elite that runs the world's only hyper-power.
Chomsky produces a clear and eminently well documented rationale for his critique of US ambition. Those who denigrate Chomsky do so because the truth is too uncomfortable. They may dismiss his writing as a rant, but that is because they choose to ignore the overwhelming use of insider statements, Pentagon reports, CIA findings, White House utterances, and all the rest of the horse's mouth. Chomsky merely puts it all together in a couple of hundred terrifying pages. Reading Chomsky it becomes harder for us to miss the true intentions behind the US quest for dominance. And of course it is also a quest for survival, because without its overwhelming military control (the US spends as much on defence as the next dozen or so countries combined, about 37% of the world total) the US would suffer a dramatic decline since its population is too small and its trade balance too severe, its social tensions too great, for it to realistically compete with anyone else except through employing its overwhelming military and technological superiority in order to exert control. That this military power is also employed to ensure economic compliance is part of what makes US policy so frightening. Chomsky warns of the risks of nuclear proliferation as a consequence of the US commitment to Balistic Missiles Defence, a project which despite its name is about offensive capability. In this book he barely touches on the environmental impact of the neo-conservative preferences, but anybody who cares about Blair's support for Bush, about the risks of nuclear war, about terrorism and about the future of our planet would do well to read this magnificent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and disturbing, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hegemony or Survival (Hardcover)
One book that has changed my world view. I can't believe how stupidly naive I was.
Don't read this unless you want to understand how the capitalist world works and how governments operate a totally two faced game with the electorate. It can be depressing, enlightening and personally empowering in equal measure.
You won't be the same afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hegemony or Survival : America's Quest for Global Dominance (Paperback)
If you don't want to know, what the mainstream media doesn't want you to know, don't read this book.
Chomsky understands how US foreign policy works and he explains it clearly and well documented. It's a quick read, and always exciting.

It's not left wing propaganda, just a simple look at the facts.
If other reviews says this is left wing propaganda, those reviews are wrong. The saddest thing about the west today, is that most of us sincerely believe our propaganda. Chomsky does us the service of showing that we are not morally superior to others. History hasn't changed, imperialism is still the game of the mighty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hegemony or Survival : America's Quest for Global Dominance
Hegemony or Survival : America's Quest for Global Dominance by Noam Chomsky (Paperback - 27 May 2004)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews