Customer Reviews


239 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost hit the mark
Gladwell's "Blink" is an easy to read book, with the promise to provide insight in to making spilt decisions. Unfortunately Gladwell falls short off this promise. Even with this apparent shortcoming the book inspires to take close look at your own way of decision making. Clear examples and a great story telling style makes it all worth reading. For me it has been helpful...
Published on 21 Feb. 2007 by Jan Bo Kristensen

versus
137 of 142 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting enough, but an expanded article rather than a book
Gladwell certainly writes well and entertainingly about an interesting subject - but as each new chapter started I began by thinking 'right, NOW we are going to have some advances, NOW the arguments are going to be explored and developed,' and basically, they never were. The book said what it had to say really within the first couple of chapters, with examples of where...
Published on 22 Feb. 2007 by Lady Fancifull


‹ Previous | 116 17 1824 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Malcolm is more confused than i am, 2 July 2010
By 
Hekuran Kokaj "black phoenix" (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
in this dynamic fast paced world reading this book would be a waste of time. i believe it was written for monetary gain exclusively. you'd be much better off reading something useful which would enrich your intellect. im a few £££ poorer and Malcolm is a lot richer so it is a poor exchange for me lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Explains what you knew to be true but didn't know why with reference to the research behind it. Easy reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, simple to understand, 12 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
Fantastic book, by far one of the best, well laid out and simple to understand concepts / examples used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting rid of the wool over your eyes, 23 Aug. 2006
By 
Sarakani (Harrow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
How can we decide something and how fast? This book explores this topic.

The best thing about this book for me is in revealing how our prejudice miscolours the accuracy of the decisions we make. Gladwel provides some telling examples from associative thinking type questionaires that expose our subconscious assumptions about skin colour or gender that threaten making better choices than those we would make burdened with false assumptions.

Blink overall is a fascinating book. Decisions made in a hurry can obviously be ace compared to compiling piles of data and analysing them in non-intuitive, statistical formats. The major buzzword in this book is "Thin slicing". Rather than having a whole cake of info on something as a basis on which to make a hopefully correct decision, how thin a slice would you need to arrive at the same conclusion. The answer is surprisingly very thin indeed.

Things like a tone of voice can, according to this book prove just as decisive if not more than the content of any speech.

Vast and exciting examples of decision making are explored: Simulated wars; police shooting the wrong man/men; judging art work for authenticity; assessing couples breaking up on the basis of their conversations; looking at facial expressions and even the "Pepsi challenge" and selling cars. The themes are explored in an exciting fashion.

Gladwell reveals a lot about himself and illuminates many areas - helping us to focus on how we can train our faculties to make snap judgements weareas at the same time being wary of making decisions under stress or with wrongful assumptions about people in general.

Gladwell conveys the problems inherent in making snap judgements that can be plain wrong. He does not expand too much on this - I suppose this is why many of us are reluctant to make too many snap judgements (on important matters), because this could be just too risky. However this book does help you to avoid any risks, especially if you like a small gamble.

I read this book so fast and think it will be helpful and boost the confidence of any interested reader. It is not a long book to read. Please be warned that you should not make blink decisions and think of it as a virtue - it would be nice if you can spot your perfect partner in a blink, but would he/she agree? The fact of the matter is we continuously make snap decisions that are not especially consequential or even when we do make momentuous decisions that are good, it may rely on a good deal of subconscious input. As an example, I looked at this book for less than 10 seconds before buying it, and I'm glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Blink is very good, 30 Oct. 2010
By 
R. Watson "bookworm" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
Thanks the book is very interesting and you can learn a lot from reading the sections about the mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn!, 6 April 2006
By 
N. Dale "NM Dale" (Guildford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
I don't believe there's one word of intelligent thinking in this book. The theories are flimsy to say the least, and the reviews on the back of the book are all lies!
i thought this book would make a change from the usual fiction, but after persevering to the end in the hope that it would finish on something useful, i was left frustrated that i'd wasted so much time on it. The whole thing is just common sense!
Can you make a judgement of something at first glance? Depends on what it is? That's the crux of the book... whoopee!
YAWN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating and eclectic, 21 Feb. 2009
By 
Moose Papoose (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
I loved this book. It was thought-provoking and beautifully illustrated with examples. It is a stand-alone on this fascinating subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as usual for this author, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
As usual the author is really good at demonstrating a lot of different thing in one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trust your instincts!, 28 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking (Paperback)
Very clever, well observed understaning of why we are able to understand incredibly complex concepts in a 'blink'. Drawing analogies and examples from fields as diverse as militry planning to relationship counselling, this book provides some compelling insights into our snap judgements.
Well written and insightful, this title only falls short in its lack of techiniques to allow you to develop this already ingrained skill on a personal level. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enlightening, 14 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating read, it puts you off speed dating and American police all in one book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1824 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking by Malcolm Gladwell (Paperback - 23 Feb. 2006)
£6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews