Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2011
This is HST at his angry, angry, angry best. The book can feel a little disjointed in places but what else can you expect from Mr Gonzo himself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Good price, ace book.
Another one to add to my collection!
Hopefully should be able to get all the others from you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
This was a very entertaining and enjoyable read, funny. I did get absorbed in it and couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
What can I say....Hunter S Thompsom the king of gonzo journalism.

Must read for Hunter Fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
I like Mr. Thompson, but for some reason I didn't like this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
HST gives me the impression that he's treating the subjects and situations in this book rather glibly....at first, until one remembers that his subject matter is the....USA and if he appears to be blowing his own trumpet, he needs to! To be heard above the madness
inflicted upon a nation by it's abject and corrupt leaders and system. It's this that HST makes you realise, that....eternal [personal]
vigilance is the price of [personal] freedom, these days in the bad new USA.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2003
Loathsome. Indeed. Loathsome is an adjective that has become intrinsically linked with Dr. Thompson since the appocalyptic 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas'. And the trend show no signs of abating.
Hunter S Thompson is a despicable person. Kingdom of Fear constructs him as a terrible human being, performing countless acts of foulness (I won't ruin the grim smile you WILL find dirtily encroaching your face like a rash by revealing them here, suffice to say you won't be the avid consumer of bacon products you once were..) frequently with his cranium smashed on more narcotics than you could shake an overweight drugs tsar at.
'Kingdom of Fear' is distinctly another memeber of the Hunter canon. It addresses by now familiar topics of guns, drugs, cars, modern society and its numerous ills, drugs, the American Dream, unusual applications of wildfowl... What is different is that we are given a previously unseen glimpse into Thompson's childhood, and allowed to see what could have spawned the All-American freak he has become.
All of this is written in Thompson's trademark hyperbolic prose, words thrown at the page with Tourettian abandon, images hurled like sharpened rocks at his intended targets.
Hunter S. Thompson is a despicable person. But that is what makes him so vital. Contemporary society requires a critic of equal perversity, unafraid to address the miscellany of wrongness anyone will see if they stare into the abyss for long enough. Thompson is the mirror that contemporary society needs in order to comprehend the true form of its rancid, bloated self. Read 'Kingdom of Fear: Loathsome Secrets of a Star-crossed child in the Final Days of the American Century'. It'll make you retch, it'll make you laugh, it'll make your stomach burn with righteous zeal, bile rising up your throat to spit firey venom like a fire hydrant.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2003
I laughed out loud while reading HST's latest. Although I didn't for a minute believe the story involving a mountain lion and a fire on the back seat of his car, it cracked me up. The man is right about so many things and is incomparable when it comes to screaming, bellowing, howling, righteous indignation. Gore Vidal with a short temper, Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
Great Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
pure gonzo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)