Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, unique, outstanding!
I ordered this book from America as soon as it became available, as 'The Nanny Diaries' is one of my favourite novels. While the novel may start out somewhat slow, it progresses into a complex and highly detailed plot, which is both humorous and poignant. The novel has many similarities to a morality story (good, bad etc), highlighted by the protagonist's name simply...
Published on 30 July 2005

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unrelentingly bleak.
I bought this book having quite enjoyed the authors' previous effort 'The Nanny Diaries'. That book was rather darker in tone than usual 'chick lit', detailing the nanny's troubled relationship with her employer, but contained some uplifting moments, such as the protagonist's relationship with the child under her care. This novel features a similarly downtrodden central...
Published on 13 Jan 2005 by Nelly_dog


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unrelentingly bleak., 13 Jan 2005
This review is from: Citizen Girl (Paperback)
I bought this book having quite enjoyed the authors' previous effort 'The Nanny Diaries'. That book was rather darker in tone than usual 'chick lit', detailing the nanny's troubled relationship with her employer, but contained some uplifting moments, such as the protagonist's relationship with the child under her care. This novel features a similarly downtrodden central character, 'Girl', who is fired from her job, after some difficulty lands a new one, only to discover that it was very far from what she expected. She encounters other problems and bad things happen to her in almost all aspects of her life. Although the novel is fairly well plotted, its unrelentingly bleak subject matter makes for a depressing read and the humour in it does not compensate for this. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So dull I couldn't finish it..., 22 Jun 2005
This review is from: Citizen Girl (Paperback)
Having read (and loved) the Nanny Diaries, I was really excited at the prospect of reading this book. It seemed to have a similar premise as "The Devil Wears Prada" (which WAS a good read), but it's first few chapters were bumpy, with no strong central character. The eponymous "Girl" is always referred to as "Girl" and I found that really annoying. Admittedly, the Nanny Diaries also has a nameless central character, always referred to as Nanny, and of course there are other books with a nameless central character, i.e. "Rebecca" by Daphne Du Maurier, but in this case it seems to be a literary device that simply detracts from the story.
If you liked the Nanny Diaries and were thinking of reading this, take my advice, don't bother. It simply isn't anywhere near as good, and you'll be wasting your time and money. I don't really want to waste any more of my time reading it and I wish I'd chosen a better book to buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!, 8 May 2005
This review is from: Citizen Girl (Paperback)
I was really looking forward to reading this book, as the blurb seemed really witty. However, I was very disappointed.
Girl is stuck in a dead end job, where her degree goes to waste as all she ever seems to do is work in the toilet colour co-ordinating folders. One day she has enough, and is given her marching orders.
After a lot of moaning and worrying, she finds an excellent job with Guy for an woman's internet site. But is it all it seems?
There is also another storyline in the form of Buster, and his rude friends, but it was weak along with the rest of the book which actually confused me. I couldn't keep up with all the characters, which weren't relevant anyway, and the plot was bleak. Depressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Confusing,self-involved, an unenjoyable read, 27 July 2012
This review is from: Citizen Girl (Paperback)
As a regular reader, I like to be entertained and, sometimes, challenged. This book did neither, simply annoyed me, concluded only as I was determined to see where it went.... simply, as it turns out, nowhere. The reference to the main character as "Girl was just annoying, the plot was never really explained properly, and the ending didn't really conclude: pretty much an irritation from start to finish! Do not bother, waste of time and paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, 22 Aug 2010
This review is from: Citizen Girl (Paperback)
DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!
It was a complete and utter waste of time, in a nutshell a twentysometing feminist is sacked from a women's organisation and joins another complany moving from one tyrannical boss to another.Cue awkward moments that conflict with her ideals.
It is so SO boring, the only reason I finshed it was because I've made a vow to myself to finish every book I start.
It is so different from the Nanny Diaries which was excellent reading.
I urge you not to waste any of your life reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ditto the 1 and 2 stars, 21 May 2010
By 
Heffalumpy (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Citizen Girl (Paperback)
I have an addiction(almost) to buying discounted or cheap books or books in charity shops. This looked fun and interesting so I invested less than a couple of pounds on it(thank goodness).
So dire, taught me a lesson to read book reviews before bothering. I don't hate it(hence 2 stars) but it was rubbish, didn't seem to flow, seemed to be too much going on that really did not make much sense. Oh and WHY IS SHE CALLED "GIRL"? I am still at a loss to understand how I managed to finish it. Give it a shot if you wish but the other people who gave it one and two stars are spot on-pay particular attention to the one who could not even finish it because it was so bad and save yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, unique, outstanding!, 30 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Citizen Girl (Paperback)
I ordered this book from America as soon as it became available, as 'The Nanny Diaries' is one of my favourite novels. While the novel may start out somewhat slow, it progresses into a complex and highly detailed plot, which is both humorous and poignant. The novel has many similarities to a morality story (good, bad etc), highlighted by the protagonist's name simply being Girl. While this concept is similar to 'The Nanny Diaries', it seems much more appropriate here. We are given such a personal insight into an impersonal corporate world, and while we know Girl so well, it is highly relevant that she remains "nameless". Citizen Girl works beautifully as a modern satire, capturing women's position in the new economy with biting accuracy. It is startlingly relevant, and the storyline and conclusion are fantastic, making it one of the most unique books i have ever read. As the novel progresses, you become more curious about just how it will end, resulting in a finish that is saddening, empowering, unexpected and highly original! Without finishing the book, you simply could not review it! Buy the book and persevere - you will NOT be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great novel!, 24 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Citizen Girl (Hardcover)
Citizen Girl by Nicola Kraus and Emma McLaughlin is another fantastic novel by the creators of the hit bestseller, The Nanny Diaries. Citizen Girl is about Girl. Girl gets fired from her job leading her to search for another job. She finds one, and meets plenty of interesting people and situations along the way. If you enjoyed The Nanny Diaries, you will be sure to enjoy this fantastic novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Citizen Girl
Citizen Girl by Emma McLaughlin (Paperback - 21 April 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews