Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what do u want for an imbetweeni
being a die hard fan of all that is evanovich i bought this book in great antisipation of finding what the gang had been upto scince the last book and i was not dissapointed.some feel that the story lines and length of the inbetweens are unsatisfactory,however that dosn't stop them buying the next book!the inbetweens are fun,fast paced and a taste of what is to come in...
Published on 20 Jan 2008 by Mrs. A. Morris

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A St. Patrick's Day Fantasy
If you don't already know, there are two types of stories about Stephanie Plum, Trenton's most discombobulated bounty hunter of those out on bail who fail to show up in court when scheduled. The better ones are full novels and involve a number in the title (there are 13 to date with a 14th in the wings). The less good ones are novellas called "Between-the-Numbers" novels...
Published on 18 Jan 2008 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A St. Patrick's Day Fantasy, 18 Jan 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
If you don't already know, there are two types of stories about Stephanie Plum, Trenton's most discombobulated bounty hunter of those out on bail who fail to show up in court when scheduled. The better ones are full novels and involve a number in the title (there are 13 to date with a 14th in the wings). The less good ones are novellas called "Between-the-Numbers" novels. Plum Lucky is one of the latter.

If you haven't read any of the books before, Ms. Evanovich does a fine job of bringing in the background in the first ten pages or so. Feel free to start here . . . although you won't like it as much as if you start with One for the Money and proceed through the numbers from there.

Grandma Mazur (Stephanie's man-loving, good-time-seeking older relative) is first seen fighting off a man who is trying to take a shopping bag away from her. Before long, grandma is gone and Stephanie's long-suffering mom wants her mother found. The trail soon leads to a casino in Atlantic City where Grandma Mazur is living it up, senior citizen style. That seemingly straightforward story is soon complicated by an injured race horse that needs a home, a Mob baron who looks more toad-like every day, and a marriage that needs repairing. With Lulu exploring her super model potential, Diesel looking to find a missing man who thinks he's a leprechaun, Connie taking target practice, and Stephanie trying to bring grandma home, it's a wild, but brief, ride.

The frenetic story has a predictability to it that makes potential humor a ho-hum affair in many cases. In addition, there's little interaction with either Joe Morelli (her main squeeze) or Ranger (her sometimes wannabe squeeze). Although there's a little sexual tension between Stephanie and Diesel, the huge finder of smart people who don't want to be found, it's just not the same as when Morelli and Ranger are raising Stephanie's hormones.

If you cannot survive until the next full-blown Plum, this one will do. But don't expect to be thrilled. Instead, you'll be looking for the action surprise on every page. William Faulkner used to put one remarkable sentence on every page that kept you reading closely. Janet Evanovich in Plum Lucky throws a major comic plot development onto every page. It's like reading a serial that changes episodes every 30 seconds.

If you like St. Patrick's Day, you might find you'd enjoy this book if you first drank some green beer and then settled down with Plum Lucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Between the numbers, By the numbers, 13 July 2009
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plum Lucky (Paperback)
In this Between the Numbers novella, Stephanie Plum teams up once more with the eerily supernatural character Diesel. Diesel is hunting a man who thinks he is a leprechaun and who can communicate with animals a la Doctor Doolittle.

In the meantime Stephanie is hunting Grandma Mazur, who after having found a duffel bag full of money has gone on the lam to Atlantic City to play the slots.

This is a predictable trot through the usual Evanovich themes. Because this is a between the numbers, Ranger and Morelli only get a mention and the action focuses on the peripheral figures of the main novels.

I quite like the between the numbers series, but it is frustrating that the supernatural stuff is clearly never going to be explained, and as enjoyable as these may be to write, the conceit here is wearing a little thin. This is a slim volume and will take a couple of hours to trot through at most, which is the other thing I find tricky. Paying the same price for one of these as for one of the regular Plum outings seems a little unfair when you get considerably less novel for your money.

As a die hard fan, however much I grumble I'm always going to read them and I guess that's where she's got you. If you have stuck with Evanovich this long you're going to be reading it whatever. And don't get me wrong, it's still amusing and ticks all the Plum boxes, just not for very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what do u want for an imbetweeni, 20 Jan 2008
By 
Mrs. A. Morris "rapid reader" (yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
being a die hard fan of all that is evanovich i bought this book in great antisipation of finding what the gang had been upto scince the last book and i was not dissapointed.some feel that the story lines and length of the inbetweens are unsatisfactory,however that dosn't stop them buying the next book!the inbetweens are fun,fast paced and a taste of what is to come in the next plum no books.i feel this was the best of the inbetweens and devoured the book in one sitting.not wanting to spoil the story too much,i wiil say that the antics and capers are laugh out loud followed by belli chuckles and more crinkles to add to the eyes.stephanie plum ur my hero and long may you continue to capture fta's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was fun while it lasted but, as they say, all good things..., 23 Dec 2007
I know this was a between the numbers book, but I was really hoping for more original material. Die-hard fans will probably overlook the typical blown up cars, the crazy antics of some of the characters, and the usual, predictable humor. I gave the series one more shot, but it's time to move on. No character growth here, at all. Just the same old story with a different cover and title. Some people might say that you should take these books at face value and go with the flow, but these books cost far too much to keep plunking down big dollars for repeat performances. Add to that the fact that this book is only 166 pages and 24 pages shorter than Plum Lovin, and I feel cheated. Diesel was cute, and Lula was fun--glad to see she finally had some good fortune come her way! I'm keeping Twelve Sharp on my shelf--Evanovich had SO much potential with that book to build upon, so what happened?--and I'm packing everything else away and moving on. It was fun while it lasted but, as they say, all good things... Pity. I'd recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestselling novel--The Fates--if you haven't yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 5 * but for the price, 2 July 2008
By 
Val Birbeck (Sunderland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Laugh out loud - again. Highlights - Lula's distraction in the Casino; Diesel's bunk bed; the poker game (and no, it isn't strip poker!); oh and not forgetting Doug's accommodation problems and his and Diesel's little moments. I've been disappointed with other "between the numbers" books, but this is a hoot. Pity about the price though, it's a short story and doesn't merit the price charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the between the numbers, 3 Feb 2008
Since I read Visions of Sugar Plums I haven't been that excited by the prospect of the between-the-numbers novels. They're short, a bit odd and I don't like Diesel half as much as either Ranger or Morelli. However, I liked this much better than the previous two, as it seemed more like a Stephanie Plum story and less like a little day dream. It's still not up there with the novels with numbers for names, but if you've been avoiding the between-the-numbers this one is a little more familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Lucky (Paperback)
I love Janet Evanovich's books -they make me laugh out loud! Good light reading and if you don't feel like anything too heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plum perfect, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Lucky (Paperback)
As ever Janet Evanovich hits the spot. An enjoyable read. Anyone waiting eagerly for the next Stephanie number book can get a fix with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay filler read, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Lucky (Paperback)
Quite good fun in its own way with the usual cast of characters providing the usual chaos. These 'Diesel' books don't work as well for me as the main Stephanie Plum series but are fun in their own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars plumb lucky, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plum Lucky (Paperback)
plumb lucky very good and very funny i bought this book for friends for christmas and they are enjoying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plum Lucky
Plum Lucky by Janet Evanovich (Paperback - 5 Feb 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews