Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Disappoint, 5 Nov. 2003
By 
This review is from: Rumpole and the Primrose Path (Paperback)
I first happened across the Rumpole books a decade or so ago, and each offering has been a gem. John Mortimer, as usual, takes the opportunity to use Rumpole as a vehicle to cast a satirical eye over (relatively) recent political and legal issues. Equally, however, each story stands on its own merits irrespective of whether one recognises the real world events which provide the backdrop.
The usual cast of characters, who will be familiar to readers of previous books, are present together with a new arrival or two.
The only issue I have with this book (and with some of the Rumpole series in general) is the sometimes extraordinary series of co-incidences upon which the plot resolution depends - chance meetings, mutual aquantances etc. Still, providing the reader is sufficiently willing to suspend their disbelief, Rumpole remains a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rumpole and the Primrose Path, 1 Mar. 2015
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an entertaining collection of six short stories starting with Rumpole's escape from the Primrose Path nursing home where he has been sent to recover from his heart attack brought on by a fight in court with Judge Bullingham. Rumpole fears that the body count at the Primrose Path is rather too high and decides to make his escape as speedily as possible.

The other stories are equally good with Rumpole's performance clearly not impaired by his brush with death. I especially enjoyed Rumpole Redeemed in which Rumpole sees that just because a crime appears to have been committed by a particular person with a trade mark style doesn't mean it actually was committed by that person. In this story yet another of Claude Erskine-Brown's mad attractions to unlikely women is doomed to failure.

There is something hugely endearing in Rumpole as a character I find even though he doesn't always suffer fools gladly. He frequently sees through outward appearances to the real people underneath - such as in the first story and Nurse Dotty. Rumpole is marvellous comfort reading even when you know the outcome of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 24 Nov. 2012
By 
Amos Spitalhatch (Hamilton, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rumpole and the Primrose Path (Paperback)
I have now read all but one of the Rumpole books, and of those have enjoyed all but one.
Rumpole and the Primrose Path may lack some of the intricacies of earlier books, but the character of Rumpole shines through and this collection of stories is a delight. Although the usual characters play lesser roles than in some of the earlier books, Erskine-Brown again provides the love interest with the latest of his unrequited love affairs.
There is only one drawback that I can see - the book was difficult to put down and therefore over too soon, leaving me with a warm glow but a sense of loss when it was finished. It will go on the shelf with my other books, to be read and enjoyed again at a later date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rumpole can't be beat, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Amber (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rumpole and the Primrose Path (Paperback)
If your new to Rumpole, I envy you. If your an old customer hopefully not one of the circus judges or Q.Customers prepare to be delighted yet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rumpole, 16 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Rumpole and the Primrose Path (Paperback)
I had my appetite whetted for Mr Mortimer's books after listening to a series of plays by him on Radio 4. The book arrived within a couple of days of ordering and in good condition. I am already hooked on this book, Mr Mortimer's writing is like having a conversation with him, it is such easy, entertaining reading and I am loving it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rumpole and the primrose path, 19 Nov. 2010
By 
M. Halls "mike halls" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rumpole and the Primrose Path (Paperback)
The later Rumpoles always seem to have the feeling that they've been thrown together with less care about the credibility of the plotting and the like. This book is no exception. But it does provide a soft, agreeable hour's distraction/entertainment that doesn't quite exist in the same format elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful tales, perfect reading., 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bill Wallis has the "just right," voice for this collection of Rumpole stories, most enjoyable, I have listened to it over and over again, and it always delights.Will there be more? I hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumpole and the Primrose Path (Paperback)
Mortimer will always be at the top of the bookshelf! Highly recommended. You cannot appreciate more, the humour of John Mortimer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rumpole is timeless and I never tire of the stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rumpole and the Primrose Path
Rumpole and the Primrose Path by John Mortimer (Paperback - 2 Oct. 2003)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews