Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is the third book of Elizabeth Buchan’s that I have read, and I enjoyed it every bit as much as her last. Written in a similar style to ‘Revenge of the Middle Aged Women’, it is an enthralling depiction of life as the spouse of a politician. It is cleverly written, with a well developed plot that is a fresh and perceptive exploration of the entwined...
Published on 17 July 2003 by nicolajboyd

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another outdated view of female life from Buchan
Elizabeth Buchan's novel, whilst charming, does women no favours, portraying them as depressingly dependant on their men. This is a view of women more suited to the 1950s, and as such seems increasingly irrelevant in the 21st century.
Published on 14 April 2009 by M. Jago


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 July 2003
This review is from: The Good Wife (Paperback)
This is the third book of Elizabeth Buchan’s that I have read, and I enjoyed it every bit as much as her last. Written in a similar style to ‘Revenge of the Middle Aged Women’, it is an enthralling depiction of life as the spouse of a politician. It is cleverly written, with a well developed plot that is a fresh and perceptive exploration of the entwined relationships that exist within families in modern day life. Each character is beautifully constructed, most especially Fanny, who one cannot help but feel increasing empathy with, as well as sympathy for, as the book progresses. She plays the role of the dutiful and supportive wife of her ambitious husband, whose eager enthusiasm wanes as she struggles to cope with the challenges of married life. For me, it provoked thoughts about the balance of male and female roles in the twenty-first century, both within marriage and in society as a whole. This is an excellent read that I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And another good read, 24 Feb 2004
By 
H. Jackman-morrissey "Heli" (Piddington, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Wife (Paperback)
She's come up trumps again and managed to write another engaging book. I couldn't put this one down either. The tale of a politicians wife who is unsure of her next step in life. Compelling reading and well worth getting.
Revenge of a Middle Aged Woman is still her best by far and I don't think she'll ever match that, but this does come pretty close.
Well done and keep those books coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another outdated view of female life from Buchan, 14 April 2009
By 
M. Jago (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Wife (Paperback)
Elizabeth Buchan's novel, whilst charming, does women no favours, portraying them as depressingly dependant on their men. This is a view of women more suited to the 1950s, and as such seems increasingly irrelevant in the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Increasingly irritating., 19 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Good Wife (Paperback)
I agree with others that this book started off 'unputdownable' despite being slightly irritating to begin with. What finished it for me was when Meg turned up uninvited in Italy and was lamely told 3 or 4 times by Fanny to leave. She didn't leave and despite that, Fanny took her sight seeing and out to restaurants. I felt the main character was a complete doormat. I cheered when Meg died. Maybe Fanny put up with her situation because her husband earned good money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from Elizabeth Buchan, 13 Feb 2004
By 
H. Jackman-morrissey "Heli" (Piddington, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Wife (Hardcover)
She's come up trumps again and managed to write another engaging book. I couldn't put this one down either. The tale of a politicians wife who is unsure of her next step in life. Compelling reading and well worth getting.
Revenge of a Middle Aged Woman is still her best by far and I don't think she'll ever match that, but this does come pretty close.
Well done and keep those books coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Improved once it got going, 12 May 2014
This review is from: The Good Wife (Paperback)
This is the story of a politician’s wife in the UK, and how she has to be a ‘good wife’ at every stage. It took a while to get going, but by the last third of the book I was enjoying it more. Quite thought-provoking in places, and (assuming it’s accurately researched, which I think it probably is) gives a good insight into the home lives of politicians.

Three and a half stars, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 18 April 2011
This review is from: The Good Wife (Paperback)
Blurb:
After nineteen years of being the perfect wife to an ambitious politician, Fanny Savage is restless. Tired of merely keeping quiet and looking good at public engagements, she remembers the career she abandoned and the life she left behind as a successful partner in her father's Italian wine business. She has devoted two decades to being the Good Wife. Was it worth it after all? Could it be time for a trip back to Italy--to the pleasures of sun, wine, and food? Could it be time for . . . a change?

This is the first book by this author that I have read. I enjoyed it very much. The copy I read was the UK version and called simply, The Good Wife, which I think is a much better title than The Good Wife Strikes Back.
The story is of Fanny and how, after a series of events, finds that she doesn't really know herself. After years of being wrapped up in her husband's politic life, being a mother, daughter and carer for her alcoholic sister-in-law, she realises that she lost along the way the things she wants to do.
Fanny's journey is very realistic and portrayed well. I felt perhaps the ending wasn't as clear cut as I would have liked. I felt she could have asserted herself more clearly and make define changes so that her husband would be less selfish, but on the whole, this is a very good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life as a Politican's Wife, 1 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Good Wife (Paperback)
Elizabeth Buchan is an author that has been a favourite of mine since the 1990's. Although I am only recently finding the time to catch up with reading some her more recently published titles.
`The Good Wife' is about what is expected of one as the wife of an aspiring politician. Fanny has struggled at times for twenty odd years with what is expected of her. Her daughter Chloe fleeing the nest and some other major events in her life cause her to reflect on her situation. It is a very readable and perceptive novel and for me made even more enjoyable because of the Italian connections!
I am looking forward to catching up with the rest of her titles that I have yet to read if they are all of this standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Good Wife, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife (Kindle Edition)
Zero for imagination, nuls points for plot, zilch for character depiction. A stagnant tale of a boring political family, centred around an implausible ministerial career, based on a single flimsy issue of a potential tax on two-car families. Wish I had put it down before I took on the challenge of gritting my teeth and ploughing through this awful bland tripe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's done it again!, 31 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Wife (Paperback)
Elizabeth Buchan has done it again... A wise, witty and gripping novel which asks the question which so many women are forced to ask today: what is expected of a wife and, in juggling the various roles of domesticity and career, where does she find her own happiness? Unputdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Wife
The Good Wife by Elizabeth Buchan (Paperback - 29 May 2003)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews