Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed without being mind-numbing, 4 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Third Reich in Power, 1933 - 1939: How the Nazis Won Over the Hearts and Minds of a Nation (Paperback)
I've been reading about the Third Reich for many years, on and off, and this is one of the most authoritative and well-written accounts of the middle to late Thirties in Nazi Germany I've come across.
Evans manages to pack each page with daily detail of the lives of the people, the shenanigans of Party members, the sheer dirty dealing and downhanded nastiness of the regime and still manages to make it entirely readable. He is to be congratulated on his writing style, for he makes it easy to read and digest such detail without putting the book down out of sheer boredom or falling asleep, unlike so many other historical writers.
I look forward to the third volume in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, no doubt about it, 14 May 2007
By 
I am an A-level student who just took the exam for the 'Life in Hitler's Germany 1933-1939' module. My teacher is not the best in the world and so when I bought this book I was looking for an authorative, interesting and accessible text. I found it.

Firstly, there is no need to worry if you hadn't read the companion book 'The Comming of the Third Reich' as what you need to know is nicely summed up in a prologue. 'The Third Reich In Power' manages to cover the social aspects of the Third Reich, and along the way gives an idea of the political structure of the Nazi reigme. There is a intensely satisfying attention to detail in Evans' book which clarifies a lot of things which you may not realise you don't know the actual specifics of. The level of analysis is very high, which is both objective and offers the author's personal conclusions. The level of research comes through with the sheer amount of sources/maps included, as well as relevant figures and satistics. This may alienate some more casual readers but I found you can take or skip-over detail acording to need/interest.

What is perhaps most enjoyable about this book is the fact that alongide the conventional important facts are also stimulating sections that I didn't expect, these include looks at the indvidual lives on people under the Third Reich that reveals a lot about the time and even a section looking at the kind of dreams and nightmares the German people had during Nazi rule. These sections are much more relevant than they sound, and it was refreshing and engaging to find them here.

At the begining I called this text accessible, and it is, but remember this is not a revision guide. It will take time to read it becuase it is quite long and, if you are reading it with the view to pass an exam like I was, there will be a huge amount of information that is not strictly relevant to your specification. I did find, however, the comprehensive look this book offered helped me truly understand what I did need to know and I often included interesting points raised by the book in essays. The only criticism that can be made of the book is that perhaps the sections are not given clear enough titles,therefore quick reference is difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History at its best and clearest, 17 Feb 2006
The second volume of this trilogy fully maintains the excellent standard of the first. It covers the period from when the Nazis came to power in 1933 to the outbreak of the Second World War in 1939.
While all the familiar foreign policy developments are there, the book's real focus is on life for the German people during the period. This covers, in a very comprehensive way, all levels, schools, the arts, leisure, work etc, and those the Nazis saw as enemies or dispensable. It is of course grim in many places. The author lets facts speak for themselves and writes in a very clear style aimed at the general reader rather than the specialist.
The final volume will cover the remainder of the era of the Third Reich till Germany (along with much of Europe around it) lay in ruins in 1945 and will, I am sure, be grimmer still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, not doubt about it, 14 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Third Reich in Power, 1933 - 1939: How the Nazis Won Over the Hearts and Minds of a Nation (Paperback)
I am an A-level student currently studying the 'Life in Hitler's Germany 1933-1939' module. My teacher is not the best in the world and so when I bought this book I was looking for an authorative, interesting and accessible text. I found it.

Firstly, there is no need to worry if you hadn't read the companion book 'The Comming of the Third Reich' as what you need to know is nicely summed up in a prologue. 'The Third Reich In Power' manages to cover the social aspects of the Third Reich, and along the way gives an idea of the political structure of the Nazi reigme. There is a intensely satisfying attention to detail in Evans' book which clarifies a lot of things which you may not realise you don't know the actual specifics of. The level of analysis is very high, which is both objective and offers the author's personal conclusions. The level of research comes through with the sheer amount of sources/maps included, as well as relevant figures and satistics. This may alienate some more casual readers but I found you can take or skip-over detail acording to need/interest.

What is perhaps most enjoyable about this book is the fact that alongide the conventional important facts are also stimulating sections that I didn't expect, these include looks at the indvidual lives on people under the Third Reich that reveals a lot about the time and even a section looking at the kind of dreams and nightmares the German people had during Nazi rule. These sections are much more relevant than they sound, and it was refreshing and engaging to find them here.

At the begining I called this text accessible, and it is, but remember this is not a revision guide. It will take time to read it becuase it is quite long and, if you are reading it with the view to pass an exam like I was, there will be a huge amount of information that is not strictly relevant to your specification. I did find, however, the comprehensive look this book offered helped me truly understand what I did need to know and I often included interesting points raised by the book in essays. The only criticism that can be made of the book is that perhaps the sections are not given clear enough titles,therefore quick reference is difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly analysis, compulsive reading, 16 April 2011
By 
L. M. Keane "louisemiriam" (Stockholm) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Third Reich in Power, 1933 - 1939: How the Nazis Won Over the Hearts and Minds of a Nation (Paperback)
This is the second of Evans' trilogy about the Third Reich and I couldn't put it down. The first book was also sensational, and I'm summoning up the courage to read the third book - I use the word 'courage' not because the books are difficult to read - they are beautifully written - but because the story they tell is so terrible. Incidentally, I read ALONE IN BERLIN by Hans Fallada straight afterwards - it's a novel set during the time that this book covers, and it made a brilliant companion piece. I would recommend both heartily.
Alone in Berlin (Penguin Modern Classics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reich manual, 25 Nov 2014
By 
reader 451 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Third Reich in Power, 1933 - 1939: How the Nazis Won Over the Hearts and Minds of a Nation (Paperback)
As Evans himself points out at the beginning of this series of three books, published material on the Third Reign runs into the tens of thousands, more than even a professional historian can expect to master in a lifetime. Evans's trilogy, coming from a specialist in the field, is probably the most complete one can expect to find in a single book or set of books. The second volume runs from the Nazi takeover of power in 1933 to the very eve of WWII, and I found it somewhat superior to the first. This is an exhaustive survey of the Reich in peace time, or rather in its preparation phase to long-planned hostilities. Social, economic, cultural, and political issues are all covered in great detail. The student should go no further, or rather should begin here and move on to the extensive bibliography. This is the product of many years of teaching and research activity, and it shows.

At the same time, a few minor weaknesses are in my view worth raising. The practice of translating everything from German, even familiar terms and expressions such as Heil Hitler! is sometimes odd. Evans has the Völkischer Beobachter as the racial rather than the popular observer, which doesn't sound right. More substantially, I found that the chapter on economics lacks clarity. Evans, in a laudable effort not to grant the Nazis anything, dismisses their reduction of German unemployment, but actually by his own numbers, even allowing for obfuscation and forced enlistment and labour, one is bound to conclude that their policies did reduce unemployment substantially. Overall, finally, Evans rarely is concise, though that is hardly blameable considering the mass of his material. At the same time, I would still recommend the classic account that is Shirer's Rise and Fall of the Third Reich to the general reader. Yes, it is far less complete than Evans's trilogy and it focuses more narrowly on political history. But for sheer narrative verve, it remains the book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the Definitive Work on Peacetime Life Under the Nazis, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Dr. R. Brandon (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This, the second book in the trilogy by Professor Richard Evans, is a masterpiece of research and clear, straightforward, writing. The book is split into a series of sections each covering different aspects of Nazi rule during the period 1933 to 1939. The first two cover the installation of the police state and the suppression of the SA, the indoctrination of all sections of German society to embrace the Nazi ideal and the concurrent suppression of newspapers, art and literature that did not conform to these ideals. Other sections follow; on the clash with the established churches, the sequestration of Jewish business, the laws regarding agriculture and inheritance, the workers 'Strength Through Joy' organisation, and many more, culminating in the final horrific sections on 'Racial Utopia' and the 'Road to War'.
Evans has worked wonders organising this mass of information and at the same time drawing clear themes to illustrate the nature of Nazism, for example, the role of social Darwinism in the competing Nazi organisations and philosophy and the desire to control utterly every aspect of everyday life for the German citizen. Evans does not wander in to the old Marxist pitfalls of damning everything that was done and dispenses with a number of myths that have become established over the years regarding Hitler and the Third Reich.
Possibly the definitive work on peacetime life under the Nazis, this excellent book is written in a clear lucid style that is easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched and great detail that makes you stop and think about the ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating book that is hard to put down once started. Well researched and great detail that makes you stop and think about the issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Book, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Third Reich in Power, 1933 - 1939: How the Nazis Won Over the Hearts and Minds of a Nation (Paperback)
The Third Reich in Power by Richard J. Evans is a very good book detailing how the Nazi Party having gained power sought to dominate all aspects of Germany: politically, culturally and socially. It is well-written, detailed and opinionated and shows how the Nazis tried to pervade all aspects of life from morning to night and cradle to grave. The book itself is divided thematically but does have an overarching chronological narrative which helps to give the work a structure and flow. All in all a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent scholarly work., 19 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Part of the three volume series on the Third Reich.
A must for history buffs with an interest in the period..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Third Reich in Power, 1933 - 1939: How the Nazis Won Over the Hearts and Minds of a Nation
£11.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews