Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through Euclid's Window Clearly
Fantastic. This is definitely one of the best lay science books I've had the pleasure of reading, and I read alot of scientific books. Clear, witty, down-to-earth, and written with a real understanding of how to present complex ideas in everyday language. Read this, and you can't help but learn and enjoy. You'll emerge the other end feeling you've bettered yourself and...
Published on 12 Mar. 2003 by Neil Pearson

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but....
the author saved no effort to make this book as fun as possible.If you are looking for some book about the historical development in geometry then this is the one. If you are looking for a book to explain the theory beyond this historical events then this book will fall short
Published on 24 May 2009 by Jafar Qutteineh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through Euclid's Window Clearly, 12 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Euclid's Window: The Story of Geometry from Parallel Lines to Hyperspace (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
Fantastic. This is definitely one of the best lay science books I've had the pleasure of reading, and I read alot of scientific books. Clear, witty, down-to-earth, and written with a real understanding of how to present complex ideas in everyday language. Read this, and you can't help but learn and enjoy. You'll emerge the other end feeling you've bettered yourself and had a really pleasant time doing it. You'll read things that you want to tell everyone you know, because Mlodinow makes them so interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 21 April 2004
This review is from: Euclid's Window: The Story of Geometry from Parallel Lines to Hyperspace (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
Structured along the lines of the "big man-style of history" (i.e. Euclid,Descrates, Gauss, Einstein and Edward Witten) this book takes us from theGreeks to Superstring (M-Theory) of the present. The explanations arevery clear and the historical elements are interesting and concise.
In a book of this size it can only be an introduction, of course, but itvery readable and contains mathematical details, where justified.
I would recommend The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene as an excellentcontinuation to the later chapters on Superstring and M-Theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny, well written book about the history of geometry, 1 April 2002
By A Customer
This book describes the history of geometry as if it was the stuff of audacious adventurers and bold explorers. Very well written indeed for such a potentially boring subject. I even had trouble putting the book down...
In the first three chapters the author explains the Greek origin of Euclidian geometry and its unchallenged use throughout the Dark Ages, the improvements made by Descartes in the 17th century and the struggles of 19th century German mathematicians to improve its fundamental flaws that resulted in non-Euclidian geometry. The last two chapters explain Einstein's theory of relativity as well as the unifying theory of strings and touch upon the role non-Euclidian geometry plays in them.
The details of the characters involved and their motivations in developing geometry make this book fascinating. The humouristic style of writing and the often hilarious examples make this book really enjoyable to read as well. A recommendation for anyone interested in mathematics and/or history !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant effort, could be very helpful for teenagers studying advanced maths, 6 July 2011
This review is from: Euclid's Window: The Story of Geometry from Parallel Lines to Hyperspace (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
If you like maths and history this could be the book for you. I enjoyed it enormously , though I found it increasingly hard to understand as the book progressed and towards the end I felt the text wasn't as well put together - certainly the history side (which I fully understand...) wasn't as good as it was at the beginning.

I bought the book for my 13 year old son but ended up reading it myself, I think it would probably be more suited for a 17 year old studying maths who wants to put things in context. I will try the first couple of chapters on my son when I finish.

Having said that, it has whetted my appetite to look for similar types of book.

By the way if you do order it, make sure you watch the movie Agora with Rachel Weisz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A history, not an explanation, 13 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Euclid's Window: The Story of Geometry from Parallel Lines to Hyperspace (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
I bought this book thinking I would get a better understand of geometry as a result. In fact Mlodinow goes out of his way to avoid discussing technical aspects of geometry, so much so in fact that he ended up being slightly unhelpful to the reader.

What is clever is the drawing of a story path from Euclid through to modern theories about the universe using geometry as the means of travel and that idea did help me understand how physicists today are thinking about the universe. As ever with these books I was able to articulate the concepts to myself and others for about 24 hours after finishing reading before the ideas had slipped from my intellect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but...., 24 May 2009
By 
Jafar Qutteineh (Jordan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Euclid's Window: The Story of Geometry from Parallel Lines to Hyperspace (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
the author saved no effort to make this book as fun as possible.If you are looking for some book about the historical development in geometry then this is the one. If you are looking for a book to explain the theory beyond this historical events then this book will fall short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An illuminating read, 12 Nov. 2008
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Euclid's Window: The Story of Geometry from Parallel Lines to Hyperspace (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
This is the sort of book I wish had been around before I went to university as it sets out some of the concepts around geometry that impact theoretical physics in an acccessible way. I now realise that glib lines such as 'parallel lines meeting at infinity' are way more subtle than they seem and that I now have lots of questions that I have noone to ask on what it all actually means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but the footnotes are broken on the Kindle, 9 Nov. 2010
By 
S. Mackintosh (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book which I recommend you to read but please avoid the Kindle version due to the excellent footnotes being broken. Such a dissapointment after the author writing such great notes the publisher didn't even check they worked in ebook format :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 24 April 2013
By 
A. Jolliffe (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Euclid's Window: The Story of Geometry from Parallel Lines to Hyperspace (Penguin Press Science) (Paperback)
Geeky geeky geeky!.. BUT relatively funny and VERY interesting. Mlodinov always injects his own style onto proceedings, and this one is no different. Could have done with a proof-reader, though, as there are half a dozen or so typos which seem to have snuck through unnoticed.. tut tut..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny, well written book about the history of geometry, 1 April 2002
By A Customer
This book describes the history of geometry as if it was the stuff of audacious adventurers and bold explorers. Very well written indeed for such a potentially boring subject. I even had trouble putting the book down...
In the first three chapters the author explains the Greek origin of Euclidian geometry and its unchallenged use throughout the Dark Ages, the improvements made by Descartes in the 17th century and the struggles of 19th century German mathematicians to improve its fundamental flaws that resulted in non-Euclidian geometry. The last two chapters explain Einstein's theory of relativity as well as the unifying theory of strings and touch upon the role non-Euclidian geometry plays in them.
The details of the characters involved and their motivations in developing geometry make this book fascinating. The humouristic style of writing and the often hilarious examples make this book really enjoyable to read as well. A recommendation for anyone interested in mathematics and/or history !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Euclid's Window: The Story of Geometry from Parallel Lines to Hyperspace (Penguin Press Science)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews