Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been there and this book is the antidote!
If you've ever worked as a nanny or even worked with children this book is an absolute must. Discard anything you are reading now and pick it up. It's a long awaited classic. The co-writers have created a genuine female voice which puts those to shame those who think a woman in her early 20's has little to offer - it's also an absolute scream, an entertaining read from...
Published on 24 Mar 2002

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DESPITE MEDIA HYPE...MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING...
I had originally thought that this was going to be a work of non-fiction in a nanny tell all. It turned out, instead, to be a mildly funny look at the rich and obnoxious and their young children through the eyes of a spineless nanny. While some of this book is amusing, it is not particularly well written. It is the kind of book you read once, and then promptly forget. It...
Published on 19 Jan 2003 by Lawyeraau


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been there and this book is the antidote!, 24 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries : A Novel (Paperback)
If you've ever worked as a nanny or even worked with children this book is an absolute must. Discard anything you are reading now and pick it up. It's a long awaited classic. The co-writers have created a genuine female voice which puts those to shame those who think a woman in her early 20's has little to offer - it's also an absolute scream, an entertaining read from cover to cover. I'm an English woman who worked as a nanny in Westchester County when I was 18 and this book brought it all back home.It's perfect in every way - it shows New Yorks privilaged class up, as the disfunctional fragrant bunch that they are. I only wish I had the strength that the central character "nan" has - I'm sure that the authors have embellished a little, as this nanny manages most situations with apolomb and although we hear her very real reactions to hilariously unacceptable behaviour from the mother of her charge she always keeps her cool. In reality many nannies probably lost their cool as well as smoking far too much and sneaking out to diners at 2 am to bare their souls to equally somnolent counterparts. This is like a glance at the old yearbook for me, a real blast from the past. To the authors: thanks for reminding me that what I learnt back then was worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific reading., 11 Mar 2002
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries : A Novel (Paperback)
Don't think of this as a Bridget Jones style book at all, just because it's written as a diary by young women. Not that Bridget isn't great, but this is wonderful and completely different- you'll know if it's your kind of thing by the end of the extremely funny prologue.
It's a great look at the world of the miserable super-rich, and you will definitely find yourself wanting to smack Mrs X for her supercilious little notes, however sorry you may end up feeling for her. The little boy is written with real tenderness, and the story is funny, heartwarming and really painful by turns. This is just solid, popular good reading and incredibly enjoyable. Indulge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and horrifying!, 13 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries : A Novel (Paperback)
If I didn't know that the two authors had worked for New York families, I wouldn't have believed that such a world could exist. Hopefully, the extremes of behaviour are exaggerated - although sadly, they probably are not. I lurched between laughing and feeling my eyes filling up. How can any parent possibly be so unknowingly nasty to their 'beloved' child? I found myself swearing at the charming Mrs X, unable to believe that Nan could put up with so much. At first I found this lack of retaliation a bit unconvincing, but in reality, if your livelihood depends upon you forever capitulating, then capitulate you will.
A great read, that I finished far too quickly, wishing there was much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, smart - sheer brilliance!, 29 Mar 2002
By 
Charlotte Francis (Swansea, Wales United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries : A Novel (Paperback)
As a young woman with aspirations of living a so-called fairytale life of posh dinner parties, luxury penthouse apartments and private schools for children with monikers such as Josephina, Darwin and Carter, this book really brought it home as to how odd and overprotected some of these people actually are!
Nan is a NYU senior in Early Childhood Development, who shares a studio with a roommate and her not-so-hygienic boyfriend is struggling to put herself through college whilst having enough cash to pay the rent, eat, and clothe herself and party!
At the other end of the spectrum is Mrs X, a 40-something University of Connecticut Art History graduate who lives in a beautiful apartment that in all honesty, is quite frankly probably as big as many of the school's that us regular people attended!
I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for a good laugh and enjoying the trials and tribulations of one young girl working for the Manhattan socialites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone who has ever looked after children!, 12 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries (Hardcover)
Set in modern-day New York, this book had me hooked from page one.
Nanny, a student at university, is struggling to pay the rent. She opts to be a nanny for a super-rich Manhatten family, who are the steroetypical New-Yorkers - dad is never there, mum does not work, yet is strangely too busy to look after her only child, and of course, the spoilt child from hell. The continual demands if the socialite mother are often cringe-worthy and if you have ever looked after someone else's children, especially in New York, you actually know this woman. She is Miss Manhatten with her PRADA shoes and GUCCI handbag and her long list of unreasonable demands for her ever-sufferning nanny. She has brought a child into the world, but this child is sometimes banished to the toilet to eat for fear of making a mess.
On top of this, Nanny finds herself in utterly hilarious situations, including being dressed up as a teletubby by the ego-inflated mother for Halloween. Add to this, as father who is having an affair, overtime and the drop-dead gorgeous man from upstairs and you will not be able to put this book down!
I laughed and smiled my way through the book. Kraus and McLaughlin have captured life as a Manhatten nanny to a tee! Bring on the sequal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High quality chick lit, 27 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries : A Novel (Paperback)
This is an enjoyable read-a peek into the lives of the rich and famous and those who serve them. The only truly unbelievable character is the too-good-to-be-true pushover that is Nanny herself. I have been a nanny and am now a mum and can easily understand that a relationship between these two people is inevitably fraught with difficulty. I can believe that people like Mrs. X exist in the world. But Nan is too nice, too silly, just not real. I would have liked her to have a bit more spark. Otherwise, a fun, light read I would reccommend for the beach or aeroplane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit sad really..., 23 Sep 2006
By 
DevJohn01 (Somerset, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries : A Novel (Paperback)
I bought this book when it first came out but had never gotten around to reading it, but when I heard that the novel was being turned into a movie starring Scarlet Johannsen and Alicia Keys I plowed through my stack of books to find it! While I did enjoy the book very much it was not at all what I expected, I thought that it was going to be your typical light hearted chick-lit only this time the focus would be on the nanny set...boy was I wrong. I am not sure if it was just me being over emotional but I found this book to be terribly sad. The fact that these parents thought that because they had a lot of money and sent their kids to the best schools and bought them the best toys their job was done really broke my heart. The child Nanny, as the main character was called, was responsible for was four year old Grayer X who cared little about toys and such and just wanted to feel loved by the people closest to him...his parents. Unfortunately they had little time for him and pushed him off on, who else? Nanny! As Nanny and Grayer began to bond the reader felt that all this little boy wanted was a little attention and love (as most four year olds care little about how much money their parents make or what kindergarten they will be attending in the fall). The sad fact is that many parents really do believe that good parenting begins and ends with "things" but that is certainly untrue and the fact that this is a look into the "nanny scene" from two ex-nanny's leads me to believe that there are a lot of parents who feel this way.

'NANNY DIARIES' was well written and very entertaining and hopefully eye opening to a lot of people. Definitely worth the read and I cannot wait for the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously funny, 1 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries (Hardcover)
Poor Nan. A student at NYC in need of a little cash, she's applied for a job as parttime nanny to four-year-old Grayer, the son of Mr. and Mrs. X, who live on Park Avenue in Manhattan and have money coming out of their ears. Poor Grayer. Not only is he already being groomed for college, but his mommy's got him signed up for everything from ice skating to French lessons and if he doesn't have a play date for the afternoon he's probably got a Mommy and Me meeting (to attend with his nanny). He's an okay little guy who wants his old nanny but soon accepts Nan as her replacement. All he really wants is his daddy's attention, the one thing he can't have. Daddy is too busy living it up with his mistress, Ms. Chicago, who Nan discovers on an eventful Halloween night when she is dressed up as none other than a giant Tellytubby. Nan is horrified, but she's too busy with all Mrs. X's outlandish requests on her time, from picking up dry cleaning and dozens of party supplies to attending a weekend party out in the country -- her worst and final experience with the Xes. Though she still loves Grayer and has hung in there for him literally through sickness and health, even a nanny can take only so much.
Cowriters Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus, both former nannies, have created in THE NANNY DIARIES a story only an insider could have told. Both hilarious and heartbreaking, light and serious, full of a young woman's touching love for her little charge and the outlandish excesses of a filthy rich upper crust family, this novel really struck a cord with me. As someone who has been a live-in nanny myself (albiet for a small incomed country family), I completely understand Nan's attachment to Grayer and felt for her as she struggled to adjust to the bizarre world created by the Xes. I laughed with her through the impossible play dates, cried with her over Grayer's neglect, and cheered with her at the end when she finally got to have her say. You go, Nanny!
Anyone who likes light and serious domestic novels and everyone who has ever taken care of someone else's kids will find THE NANNY DIARIES irresistable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than you bargain for!, 6 Sep 2002
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries : A Novel (Paperback)
I started this book expecting a hilarious account of a job being a nanny to wealthy New Yorkers. Instead, what you get is a look at an unbelievable world where you begin to wonder on what planet do these people live on? You end up with taking a good hard look at the antics of very cruel, very wealthy, very selfish and very inconsiderate people while feeling terribly sorry for the poor children who have the misfortune to be born into these families. There is nothing funny about this book.
On the other hand, the heroine, Nan, is a little too good to be true in that she never fights back no matter what is said or done to her (including, apparently, being cheated out of her legitimate paycheck) meekly falling in with even the most outrageous suggestions. It seems, though, that she/they got their own back with the book's success. In Park Avenue, they must be desperately trying to figure out who the X's are meant to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nanny Diaries: A Novel, 6 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nanny Diaries : A Novel (Paperback)
I have just finished this very enjoyable book - I couldn't wait to turn the page to find out what Nan would be expected to do next for the X Family. Entertaining lots of children in a dark restaurant parking lot must have been one of her lowest moments!
I really can't believe that there are parents out there like Mrs X but I am sure there are!!
I enjoyed her romance with HH from the upstairs apartment as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nanny Diaries : A Novel
The Nanny Diaries : A Novel by Emma McLaughlin (Paperback - 7 Mar 2002)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews